WhatsApp extends 'Delete for all' time for messages you sent less than sober

WhatsApp extends 'Delete for all' time for messages you sent less than sober
The latest WhatsApp app version update adds a much needed prolonged timeframe to delete messages for all involved. The "Delete for everyone" option will now stay for 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds, instead of the seven minutes you had before. Very specific, we know, it's 4096 seconds, or 2^12, but go figure why the WhatsApp algorithms got so peculiar, maybe because it's very easy to crunch in processor-speak.

In any case, with its retail app edition, WhatsApp may be getting closer to the disappearing messages on many rival chat platforms, yet very conservatively, by merely extending the time you need to sober up rethink what you sent out, and delete it for everyone. 

Now, WhatsApp will still show the bubble that the messages have been erased, but that just adds to the mystery about what's the thing you might've taken out of the global sights, in the hope nobody saw what you wrote while they were sleeping.

 
 via TheVerge

FEATURED VIDEO

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless