Liveblog: T-Mobile unveils #UncarrierNEXT at CES


It was just four short years ago that T-Mobile set up shop at CES 2013, and unveiled an all-encompassing strategy that would end up changing the wireless industry in the United States forever.

That is not an understatement. In 2013, T-Mobile was a distant fourth place carrier behind Sprint, AT&T, and Verizon. The company was losing customers, its network disposition was in a precarious state with no LTE in sight, customer service was “meh,” and T-Mobile was the only major carrier not selling the iPhone at the time.

Then, something happened, T-Mobile introduced “Uncarrier.” Uncarrier would become a mantra, with swift, effective changes to how T-Mobile would offer services to its customers and attract new customers from its competition at a ridiculous rate. Free international roaming, no more contracts, HD voice, and an aggressive LTE network rollout would be just the beginning of what became a national phenomenon. For good measure, T-Mobile would also be announced as the official carrier of Major League Baseball.

Since “Uncarrier v1.0,” we have witnessed no fewer than 10 additional iterations of T-Mobile bringing forth significant features or benefits to being a T-Mobile customer. From offering T-Mobile USA company shares to customers, to unlimited no-cost data for video streaming with BingeOn, all while surpassing Sprint to become the nation’s third largest carrier, T-Mobile has signaled its intent to take Uncarrier to the next level.

T-Mobile has returned to CES in Las Vegas to introduce UncarrierNEXT, where the company’s CEO, John Legere, will no doubt share in his flamboyant fashion what Team Magenta has up its sleeve. Four years ago, no one saw Uncarrier coming, and the fact T-Mobile is kicking the new year off with UncarrierNEXT at ground-zero is not insignificant. We do not have any inside information about what may be unveiled, but Mr. Legere has not made it a secret he wanted to zero-in on AT&T, so we will have to see if that is baked into the new doctrine of UncarrierNEXT.

All will be revealed as we will be on-site with T-Mobile for the announcement and we will be liveblogging it here. Keep a browser window open just for us! T-Mobile’s UncarrierNEXT is scheduled to begin at 11:00AM PT | 1:00PM CT | 2:00PM ET | 7:00PM GMT!

FEATURED VIDEO

1 Comment

1. DGxumbreo7

Posts: 63; Member since: Nov 27, 2016

you should show an actual comparison of the new plans also of coverage as i was hearing last year it was kind of spotty.

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.