Google buys photo platform Odysee, will be incorporated into the Google+ team

Google buys photo platform Odysee, will be incorporated into the Google+ team
Google continues on its selective shopping spree, having acquired Odysee, a photo and video back-up platform whose apps used to be available for iOS and Android.

Odysee was more than a simple back-up though, it would upload pictures and video files off your mobile device and feed them to your home computer. There were a number of private sharing features as well as an open API for developers to integrate their apps with the service.

Terms of the buy-out have not been announced. The most detail comes from Odysee’s main site saying that the team will be joining Google+. What does that mean to how Google seamlessly backs up, and applies “auto-awesome” to our pictures? We do not know exactly, but it gives Google new tools to further enhance how photo and video media are not only managed on Google+, but to make “Photos” a more distinct service on its own.

Odysee as a service is no longer accepting new users, and the apps have been removed from their respective stores. Current users can continue to use the service until February 23rd, then the lights go out. However, current users will be able to access their content as downloadable archives after that date.


source: ZDNet

FEATURED VIDEO

4 Comments

1. androiphone20

Posts: 1654; Member since: Jul 10, 2013

I don't know much about Odysee but I do known that Google really does a great job handling photographs with the Photos app, if only it was NOT a part of Google+ If it turns out Photos becomes a standalone app then it would be a whole lot better than it ever was before. It would truly be a default Android Gallery app. Looking forward to Google I/O, if not sooner

2. rihel_95

Posts: 305; Member since: Mar 21, 2012

Google+ Photo apps really sucks in the simplest feature a photo app should have. Thats deleting any pics or videos. I feels like eternity!

3. jove39

Posts: 2148; Member since: Oct 18, 2011

That's because it try to delete file in cloud as well!

4. GeekMovement unregistered

Is it something like Picasa? I hated that because I wanted the pictures taken on my phone to stay only on my phone, but somehow I found them online on the picasa website later on. Perhaps I was just a novice and accidentally clicked on "back up" or maybe it was already turned on my phone by default..

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.