BBM's premium security features now free to all users
Starting today, two features on BBM that had required a paid BBM subscription, are now available to all users of the messaging app for free. The first feature, Retract, allows you to delete a message after it has already been sent to somebody. This is the feature you need to use after sending a message to the boss telling him exactly what you think of him, and then finding out that you're getting a meaningful raise. Of course, once the message you want to take back has already been read by the recipient, Retract doesn't do you any good.
The second feature is called Timer, and allows you to decide how long a message you send will remain readable. Once the clock hits zero, the message disappears from the phone belonging to the sender, and the phone belonging to the recipient of the message. Other new features now available for iOS, Android and BlackBerry users include Private Chat and Edit. With Private Chat, you can have names and avatars removed from the chat window. With Edit, you can edit a message after it has already been sent.
In addition, other features have been added to the Android, iOS and BlackBerry 10 versions of BBM. You can click on the slideshow to see all of these additions.
To cancel your BBM subscription, on iOS you simply do not renew when your subscription is up. Android users should go to the Google Play Store, click the menu in the top left, go to My Accounts, then Subscriptions, and cancel. BlackBerry 10 users can go to BlackBerry World, go to Subscriptions and hit cancel.
source: BlackBerry via MobileSyrup