x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Samsung Monte S5620 Preview

Samsung Monte S5620

Posted: , by PhoneArena Team

Tags:

Pages

This is our preview based on a preproduction unit, expect the review soon.

Samsung Monte S5620 Preview
This is a global GSM phone, it can be used with AT&T and T-Mobile, but without 3G.

Introduction and Design:


Observing the evolution of the so-called mainstream class of devices is quite an interesting thing to do. About a year ago, just a few of them offered 3G or decent camera, let alone Wi-Fi - features that are currently considered pretty typical. You can find virtual gemstones in today´s golden medium class of cell phones, coming with a great number of features at affordable prices and the Samsung Monte S5620 looks like one of them, because it delivers quite a few connectivity options, 3-inch capacitive screen with WQVGA resolution, 3.2-megapixel camera, GPS and the latest version of the TouchWiz interface for feature phones.

The Samsung Monte S5620 grips your attention with its interesting color solution and catchy appearance - Samsung Monte S5620 Preview
The Samsung Monte S5620 grips your attention with its interesting color solution and catchy appearance - Samsung Monte S5620 Preview
The Samsung Monte S5620 grips your attention with its interesting color solution and catchy appearance - Samsung Monte S5620 Preview

The Samsung Monte S5620 grips your attention with its interesting color solution and
catchy appearance



We have to admit that the guys over at Samsung are grandmasters of the eye-reverting design - even a pretty ordinary, plastic model like the Monte grips your attention with its interesting color solution and catchy appearance. For some unfathomable reason, it does remind us of Bumblebee, the auto-bot from Transformers.

Samsung Monte S5620 Preview

You can compare the Samsung Monte S5620 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

We do like the high display sensitivity – the phone registers even the slightest touch and the screen keyboard feels really comfortable to use. The Samsung Monte S5620 is equipped with 3.5mm headphone jack and microUSB port, both located on the top side. The back features a pleasing rugged pattern that prevents the device from accidentally slipping out of your hand.

The display registerseven the slightest touch - Samsung Monte S5620 Preview
The Samsung Monte S5620 hasa 3.5mm jack and a microUSB port - Samsung Monte S5620 Preview

The display registers
even the slightest touch

The Samsung Monte S5620 has
a 3.5mm jack and a microUSB port

Samsung Monte S5620 Preview
Samsung Monte S5620 Preview



As a whole, we do like the Samsung Monte S5620. It comes with an overall design that inherited elements typical of the Shark series and all told, we believe the device will appeal to a wide audience. 

Samsung Monte S5620 Preview
Samsung Monte S5620 Preview
Samsung Monte S5620 Preview


Samsung Monte S5620 360 Degrees View:

73 Comments
  • Options
    Close






posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. D4stan (Posts: 2; Member since: 09 Feb 2010)


pls, don't you know, if the camera of Samsung Monte has AUTOFOCUS??? This phone looks really good, but I need to know, if I can take a photo of text and if it will be readable.

posted on 10 Feb 2010, 01:57

2. PhoneArena Team (Posts: 258; Member since: 27 Jun 2006)


Hello D4stan, We are sorry, but the camera of the Samsung Monte does not have autofocus, it is fixed; so you might be better off looking for another phone.

posted on 10 Feb 2010, 05:09

3. D4stan (Posts: 2; Member since: 09 Feb 2010)


Thank you very much for your response. This information was important for me ;)

posted on 15 Feb 2010, 05:24

4. raffaytarar (Posts: 1; Member since: 15 Feb 2010)


Hi, i want to know that does the Samsung Monte runs on the new Bada OS??

posted on 04 May 2010, 12:01

5. syoody (Posts: 5; Member since: 04 May 2010)


No, it doesn't. S8500 is the first phone (I think I'm not wrong) which runs Bada OS. I9000 is the next one

posted on 29 Aug 2010, 05:04

27. Hakamy (unregistered)


I9000 Galaxy S runs android btw, not Bada OS

posted on 05 May 2010, 07:41

6. gaurav_n_gandhi (Posts: 2; Member since: 05 May 2010)


hey can anyone tell me how to change the Font size of text msgs in this cell phone?....plz

posted on 15 Aug 2010, 01:26

19. Tans (unregistered)


Use the volume keys...

posted on 25 Aug 2010, 16:13

26. HADDERS (unregistered)


Thanks, makes it more easier on the eye............simples !

posted on 08 Sep 2010, 07:50

32. Leigh-Ann Donoghue (unregistered)


OMG Thank you!! Cant believe it was soo simple ive been looking for this answer ALL over!! :) Thanks Thanks Thanks xx

posted on 10 Sep 2010, 08:41

33. sarahse1 (unregistered)


thank you so much - it was driving me crazy !

posted on 06 May 2010, 05:11

7. arun_annauniv (Posts: 1; Member since: 06 May 2010)


I cannot see the back button in touch UI. I am using the middle key to go back. Can you tell me how to bring it back

posted on 23 Jun 2010, 04:21

9. prak86 (Posts: 2; Member since: 23 Jun 2010)


In monte middle button is meant to use if for navigating back. There is no back option in UI.

posted on 10 May 2010, 12:21

8. hrtbeat (Posts: 2; Member since: 10 May 2010)


Dear PhoneArena Team, I am eagerly waiting for your full review of Monte for a very long time....request you to get this mobile reviewed at the earliest so that it could help many buyers to decide upon........ Hope you review this week............ Adv. thnx for your team.......

posted on 25 Jun 2010, 08:29

10. islam (Posts: 2; Member since: 25 Jun 2010)


please i want to know the difference between Samsung M5650 Lindy and this phone because they are about same price and i cant choose between them and thanks

posted on 02 Jul 2010, 07:50

11. prak86 (Posts: 2; Member since: 23 Jun 2010)


Samsung Lindy and Monte has only slight difference . The data speed via 3G is higher in lindy than monte. Lindy has dedicated keys for music, but i heard that keys are working only if you r in main screen(not sure about this). Touch in monte will be very good when compared to lindy and monte is less weight than lindy with wide screen. Monte has more widgets for applications(i guess).

posted on 04 Jul 2010, 12:18

12. radhaabs (Posts: 1; Member since: 04 Jul 2010)


May I please know whether Samsung Monte supports the TV viewing option like some other phones have?

posted on 06 Jul 2010, 13:01

13. junaidac (Posts: 2; Member since: 06 Jul 2010)


it says if we press and hold the middle harware button, the task manager opens up thats not true for my Monte. What can be the problem? the firmware is up-to-date as told my Samsung Kies

posted on 06 Jul 2010, 18:10

14. islam (Posts: 2; Member since: 25 Jun 2010)


should i buy this phone or nokia 5800 any recommendations plz

posted on 28 Jul 2010, 22:52

15. Bijunair (Posts: 1; Member since: 28 Jul 2010)


Good phone , but complictaed software , printing quality of photo law

posted on 30 Jul 2010, 13:31

16. bibhubrata (Posts: 1; Member since: 30 Jul 2010)


Hi, Please let me know the video play back quality of this phone. How is it compared to nokia 5530 xpress music's video quality.

posted on 04 Aug 2010, 10:43

17. waqas (unregistered)


samsung monte is very beautiful phone of samsung i apreshade of samsung but samsung monte colour is 265k this mobile phone colour is 16m is perfect but disadvantage is 265k colour.

posted on 07 Aug 2010, 12:40

18. new Monte user (unregistered)


Can anyone tell me how to add a new application (shortcut) in the main menu page(after pressing the edit menu at the top left corner), it would be helpful much if anyone could answer this.. Thanks in advance

posted on 15 Aug 2010, 06:07

20. ash (unregistered)


Can Monte be used for e-book reading. if yes, how it can be done?. thanx

posted on 15 Aug 2010, 13:38

21. oOoOoOoOo (unregistered)


he-he... silly question, but my monte doesn't have the return key in menu ( like the arrow in low right corner on screens )... and i can't find the option that activates it... any suggestions?

posted on 16 Aug 2010, 13:39

22. obreyko (unregistered)


Can anyone tell me how to turn on the key's(under display) light

posted on 17 Aug 2010, 02:53

23. vaibhav dalvi (unregistered)


i am having samsung corby plus, i have bought it 3 months before should i go for samsung monte

posted on 20 Aug 2010, 04:52

24. Kaell (unregistered)


Does anyone know if there is a fix for the QWERTY-keyboard yet? Grtz. Kaell

posted on 24 Aug 2010, 05:19

25. srijan (unregistered)


pafcjsdnvjnv

posted on 31 Aug 2010, 02:55

28. holliejw16 (Posts: 1; Member since: 31 Aug 2010)


Does this phone have the silent option without vibrate? And also on the IM app, Is it windows live? Thanks:)

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display3.0 inches, 240 x 400 pixels (155 ppi) TFT
Camera3.2 megapixels
Size4.28 x 2.11 x 0.49 inches
(108.8 x 53.7 x 12.4 mm)
3.25 oz  (92 g)
Battery1000 mAh, 9.7 hours talk time

Latest stories