x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC Titan Review

Posted: , by John V.

Tags:

Go to page
HTC Titan Review
Introduction:

Last year when Microsoft’s Windows Phone platform rose out of the ashes, veteran smartphone maker HTC came to the plate bringing along devices fitting for the launch party – such as the HTC Trophy, Surround, and HD7. Obviously, the biggest one of the bunch, the HD7, didn’t quite pack the same punch as previous ‘HD’ devices from HTC, but fortunately enough, the Taiwanese company is making sure to turn things around with its latest Windows Phone device. Truly having a gargantuan presence behind it, thanks to its insanely large 4.7” display, the HTC Titan as its name implies intends on being a prominent figure amongst the recent crop of Windows Phone Mango smartphones.

HTC Titan Review
The package contains:


  • microUSB cable
  • Wall Charger
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Safety and Regulatory Guide

Design:

At first glance, the Titan might seem to be too much phone for any normal human being, especially with its wide figure, but after holding it in our hands, it reconfirms our assertions of being yet another quality device. Donning yet another indelible industrial design that shines in all corners, there’s plenty to like about this beauty – like its sturdy metallic casing, relatively slim figure (0.39” thick), and clean appearance. Yes, its metallic shell adds some weight to the handset, but it’s warranted in keeping it rock solid.

The HTC Titan has a sturdy metallic casing, relatively slim figure, and clean appearance - HTC Titan Review
The HTC Titan has a sturdy metallic casing, relatively slim figure, and clean appearance - HTC Titan Review
The HTC Titan has a sturdy metallic casing, relatively slim figure, and clean appearance - HTC Titan Review

The HTC Titan has a sturdy metallic casing, relatively slim figure, and clean appearance


HTC Titan Review

You can compare the HTC Titan with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

It was only yesterday when the HTC HD2 enthralled us with its 4.3” display, and as fate would have it, we’re reliving the same thing now that there’s a 4.7” WVGA (480 x 800) S-LCD display taking up space on the HTC Titan. In a smartphone world filled with 720p displays, its WVGA resolution (200 ppi) is undoubtedly behind the times – and it’s blatantly exposed when viewing fine text in a zoomed out view within the web browser. Nevertheless, its Super LCD panel produces enough vivid and high-contrast color tones to reel in our eyes. Add in to that its wide viewing angles and strong brightness output, it’s able to maintain its visibility when using it outdoors.

The HTC Titan comes with a 4.7” WVGA (480 x 800) S-LCD display - HTC Titan Review
The HTC Titan comes with a 4.7” WVGA (480 x 800) S-LCD display - HTC Titan Review

The HTC Titan comes with a 4.7” WVGA (480 x 800) S-LCD display


Since there is plenty of spacing separating its capacitive buttons, accidental presses are actually very rare. Above its display, it features that distinctive narrow looking earpiece common amongst HTC smartphones, and a front-facing 1.3-megapixel camera, which combines with the Tango app to offer video chat via Wi-Fi or cellular connectivity.

Front-facing 1.3-megapixel camera - HTC Titan Review
Android buttons - HTC Titan Review

Front-facing 1.3-megapixel camera

Android buttons


Around its sides, we find its microphone, microUSB port, two-level shutter key, volume control button, 3.5mm headset jack, noise cancellation microphone, and dedicated power button.

Bottom edge - HTC Titan Review
Camera and volume keys (right) - HTC Titan Review
Power key and 3.5mm jack (top) - HTC Titan Review
microUSB port (left) - HTC Titan Review

Bottom edge

Camera and volume keys (right)

Power key and 3.5mm jack (top)

microUSB port (left)


Back - HTC Titan Review
Rear camera - HTC Titan Review
Battery compartment - HTC Titan Review

Back

Rear camera

Battery compartment



HTC Titan 360-degrees View:



28 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 29 Nov 2011, 08:11 6

1. SpanishDeveloper (Posts: 43; Member since: 25 Aug 2011)


HTC, make us a favor and create a 4-inch/4.3-inch Windows Phone with a great display and a good camera. This thing is too big for my pocket.

posted on 29 Nov 2011, 11:12 5

9. McLTE (Posts: 711; Member since: 18 Oct 2011)


I saw 4.7" display and was like.. YAY!!!!

Then.. 800x480 and I threw up in my mouth a little.. no thanks!

posted on 29 Nov 2011, 14:53 1

15. Dr.Phil (Posts: 916; Member since: 14 Feb 2011)


Just wait til next year when they have the update that will allow higher resolution displays. I am sure there will be a "Titan 2" in the works.

posted on 29 Nov 2011, 18:35 2

19. apocalypsebc (Posts: 148; Member since: 07 Dec 2010)


I hope so, but Nokia or Samsung might beat them to the punch. They both use amoled displays and phone/tablet are the next thing. Kind of like having the best of both worlds. Look up the Samsung Galaxy Note! I want one of those with Windows Phone 8 ;-)

posted on 29 Nov 2011, 20:39

22. rayjones09 (Posts: 149; Member since: 16 Dec 2010)


Well if you haven't used it, it sounds bad. But, go ahead and try it out. Its noticeable but in all truth its not that bad at all. Its no HD display but its still great. It shouldn't impede on regular functions.

posted on 29 Nov 2011, 14:26 1

14. TechiOz (Posts: 1; Member since: 29 Nov 2011)


Hmmm, pocket size is relative to the man. Big guys have bigger pockets and bigger hands. Some need a bigger screen for bigger finger etc. Think outside your box mate.

posted on 29 Nov 2011, 18:39 1

20. apocalypsebc (Posts: 148; Member since: 07 Dec 2010)


You might cry if you saw the Samsung Galaxy Note. Phone/tablet is the next best thing. The best of both worlds.

posted on 29 Nov 2011, 08:39 1

2. ghost__uwi (Posts: 175; Member since: 28 Nov 2011)


Yuh know maybe they take the phone is like a brick thing to seriously.

posted on 29 Nov 2011, 09:07 5

3. MickDM (Posts: 63; Member since: 29 Nov 2011)


the last paragraph sounds more like an ad for android phones than a review of this phone...ijs

posted on 29 Nov 2011, 12:44 1

11. lubba (Posts: 1310; Member since: 17 Jan 2011)


I thought you were kidding regarding the last paragraph. Looks like I'll have to agree with you. And can you believe it, the author even says "awesome ice-cream sandwich." Who can you trust nowadays?

posted on 23 Jan 2012, 14:33

29. yodanim (Posts: 7; Member since: 16 Sep 2011)


if you look at the picture next to the front facing camera picture, it lists the three capacitive soft buttons s ANDROID BUTTONS!! biased much, we see what he'd rather review. 7.5 is a terrible score. user reviews are more like it.

posted on 29 Nov 2011, 09:59 1

4. ReturningToNokia (Posts: 130; Member since: 09 Jul 2011)


Succinct review! I love WP, but I am not impressed with this 'flagship' WP device; nor am I impressed with the Focus S (and I'd wager that many tech sites aren't impressed with the Focus S given that only a handful of the more popular tech sites even bothered to review it).

Get here, Nokia!

posted on 29 Nov 2011, 10:08

5. senbobaggins (Posts: 6; Member since: 22 May 2011)


Typical phonearena, turning a windows phone review into a plug for android phones. Seriously, look at all the reviews for second generation windows phones....all 7.5. I was a huge phonearena fan but im sick of hearing about Android.

posted on 29 Nov 2011, 10:16 1

6. ngo2dd (Posts: 787; Member since: 08 Jul 2011)


Typical fanboy. The Fandroid bitch about PA being the iphone arena. The iphone fanboy bitch about PA being too much for android now it is the window people.

posted on 30 Nov 2011, 18:54

24. JesterB (Posts: 17; Member since: 17 Nov 2011)


It IS odd that PA gave this a 7.5 when they have the Atrix 2 a 9.....

posted on 29 Nov 2011, 11:08 2

7. Muhannad (Posts: 455; Member since: 20 Sep 2011)


8/10 is a fair score for a smartphone in this category.

posted on 29 Nov 2011, 11:10 2

8. snowgator (Posts: 3237; Member since: 19 Jan 2011)


Okay, I am huge fan of Phone Arena and it's staff. I think they have mostly been fair and informative on reporting news. But truth is truth: John V. Is NOT a fan of Microsoft. As such, I am not surprised with this review.

Windows Phones are NOT Android or iOS. It is not as mature of a platform. I do not expect reviews at this stage on a level of high end Androids or the 4S. But what you will get is a well supported, updated, secure and bug free platform. Not only will the Titan a fantastic experience for the user, but if you look at the You Tube repeats of Microsofts WP8 plans, you know the advances coming. And if you look at the Nodo and Mango updates, you know EVERYONE will get it.
I own the Titan and the Focus S. The Titan's camera is near elite in it's performance, it loads everything you want with no hesitation, connects with every social network you have head of and most you haven't, is a joy to use

posted on 29 Nov 2011, 11:22

10. snowgator (Posts: 3237; Member since: 19 Jan 2011)


"heard of". Here I am defending my phones, and I cannot even spell right. Stoopid me.

posted on 29 Nov 2011, 12:50 2

12. lubba (Posts: 1310; Member since: 17 Jan 2011)


I researched many reviews regarding the titan, from technos to user reviews and many love this phone. So i wouldn\'t be hurt to much by this author.

posted on 29 Nov 2011, 15:37

16. Dragonshadowstorm (Posts: 8; Member since: 29 Nov 2011)


Android buttons???

posted on 29 Nov 2011, 17:28 1

17. rsiders (Posts: 277; Member since: 17 Nov 2011)


Well maybe I'm jumping the gun here but I love this phone! I went into the AT&T store to give it a test drive and it more than exceeded my expectations. The screen resolution is going to pale in comparison to other phones in ppi but when you stop focusing on "the numbers" or "high-end" specs and focus on the experience who cares about the ppi or dual core processors? The phone is a joy to behold! Now the call quality and camera review may be the most useful of these type of reviews because you can't really measure those aspects with a test run at the retail store. But, the experience is magical. I would rate at least 8.5 but like i said I can't speak on call quality. Just hope T-Mobile gets one. I don't see why not either. T-Mobile customers would win. HTC would win. Windows Phone would win. Excuse my venting.lol

posted on 29 Nov 2011, 17:29

18. rsiders (Posts: 277; Member since: 17 Nov 2011)


And by the way, still a decent review.

posted on 29 Nov 2011, 18:40 1

21. Phaze0085 (Posts: 101; Member since: 22 Sep 2011)


Great good job HTC. I love my new phone. Yea, id like an expandable card slot, but i really dont use my phone for music anyway. I would love to have a better screen, I mean come on, who wouldnt? But to be honest the screen on it is great as is, so I cant complain. Hey, if you guys choose to make an HTC Titan 2 with a 5" screen, count me in. 2 thumbs up and 4 out of 5 stars. Good jobs guys and gals.

posted on 29 Nov 2011, 21:36 2

23. apocalypsebc (Posts: 148; Member since: 07 Dec 2010)


It should have at least been rated an 8. 7.5? people might think you are talking about mango lol. As far as big screen phone that isn't here in the U.S., You forgot to mention the Samsung Galaxy Note which is a 5.4 inch amoled phone/tablet. The next best thing with the best of both worlds. I just cant wait to see one made by Nokia or Samsung running Windows Phone 8 OS.

posted on 20 Dec 2011, 16:23

27. gragonHDfones (unregistered)


the thing is they should put it under a carrier, because i wouldnt wanna get it for $700.

posted on 04 Dec 2011, 14:00

25. Phrozt (Posts: 9; Member since: 11 May 2011)


Gotta love the author's conclusion, "well, the titan is good and wp7 is good, but I still want you to buy Android, so here are some good models to buy."

posted on 12 Dec 2011, 18:31

26. rabit1 (Posts: 1; Member since: 12 Dec 2011)


Problem with reviewers is just that without having to use it extensively, working out all the tricks and intricacies of a product there's no way they'll know and appreciate a good thing.
They basically only look at skin deep.

Same thing with people who looks at the number and says "only single core?", "only 800x480?", etc..

Granted there is no perfect product. But Titan is very very good. Great screen, no problem whatsoever with screen resolution. In fact its large screen is a joy to use.

There is no going back to anything less than 4" screen after Titan. Now awaiting Titan 2.

posted on 26 Dec 2011, 04:46

28. bobfreking55 (Posts: 866; Member since: 15 Jul 2011)


It says android buttons phone arena, btw

Want to comment? Please login or register.

HTC Titan

HTC Titan

OS: Windows Phone 7.5 Mango
view full specs
Display4.7 inches, 480 x 800 pixels (199 ppi) S-LCD
Camera8 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S2 MSM8255, Single core, 1500 MHz
512 MB RAM
Size5.18 x 2.78 x 0.39 inches
(131.5 x 70.7 x 9.9 mm)
5.64 oz  (160 g)
Battery1600 mAh, 11.83 hours talk time

Latest stories