x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Apple iPad 3 User Reviews

8 Based on 7 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Internet9/10
Call quality6.6/10
Battery6.3/10
Reception8.6/10
Display9.6/10
Build quality8.9/10
Text input7.6/10
Everyday usage8/10
UI speed8.6/10
Camera7/10
Multimedia8.7/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

me0613
posted on 04 Apr 2013, 03:45 (Posts: 10; Member since: 04 Apr 2013)

9

Great Tablet!

me0613 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The screen is bright and displays crisp details. The battery is average and can last for about 5 days of normal usage. The loudspeaker and the microphone is good. The aluminium back and glass panel on the front give it a good build quality and hefty feel.

Build quality 9/10 Aluminium back and glass panel on the front give it a quality feel.
Reception 8/10 Good.
Call quality 8/10 I don't make calls too often, but FaceTime works very good even when the other end is overseas.
Internet 10/10 I really enjoy surfing the web with this tablet. Text is readable without zooming in and fast scrolling is smooth. It renders pages really quickly too.
Multimedia 9/10 Watching videos and viewing photos on this tablet is great.
Camera 8/10 Captures small details and pictures have natural colors.
UI speed 10/10 Rarely will there be any sort of lag.
Everyday usage 9/10 I will bring it with me everywhere. The screen is good and has nice color output. Everything makes everyday usage very good.
Text input 9/10 Thumb typing is difficult but it's even possible to type with all fingers when in landscape orientation. The screen is responsive, making typing fairly easy.
Display 9/10 Big screen size with a high resolution. Color output is great too.
Battery 8/10 Average battery life. You can get a week of light usage out of one charge though.

Pros

  • Screen.
  • Text input.
  • Browsing the Internet.
  • Camera is great.
  • Smooth performance, no lag at all.

Cons

  • Average battery life.

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

NokiaFTW
posted on 18 Mar 2013, 16:09 (Posts: 2058; Member since: 24 Oct 2012)

7

Not the best tablet money can buy !

NokiaFTW has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I used to own the iPad 3 but I found the UI very limiting so sold it and bought a Nexus 7
I must say , the Nexus 7 the best tablet i have owned to date and it is much better than the new iPad. The iPad is a good tablet , but its not the best tablet . Its quite a massive tablet and pretty heavy.Sure the display is great and there is a healthy ecosystem of optimized apps but other than those 2 reason , I cant really find a compelling reason to buy the iPad and honestly , your better off with an Android tablet.

Build quality 9/10 Love 'em or hate them, you can't deny that the iPad has a great build quality and it might be a little bit heavy but its very thin and feels great in the hand. Well done Apple !
Reception 9/10 WiFi connectivity was good and I didn't have any issues.
Call quality 1/10 I bought a WiFi only version.
Internet 8/10 Safari is great but it doesn't have quick sharing functionalities and I prefer Chrome.
Multimedia 9/10 The speaker is not the best I have heard but movies look great on that display and so do games.
Camera 8/10 The rear camera is OK. I didn't use it much but when I did it produced decent pics. The front camera however is lackluster.
UI speed 7/10 My friend owns an iPad 2. In my experience the iPad 2 felt a little bit smoother and snapier. Not so that the iPad 3 is slow or something , its pretty quick , quicker than some Android tablets but for an iOS device , it wasn't the fastest and I experience frame drops while playing games like NFS: Hot pursuit and FIFA 12.
Everyday usage 7/10 The iPad fared well in everyday usage but again felt a little bit under powered. iOS is very limiting , and aside from the ton of third-party iPad optimized apps , I cant see its superiority over Android or Windows tablets.
Text input 8/10 The iOS keyboard is great and very quick. The only think I wished is that I could download a third part keyboard from somewhere.
Display 10/10 The display is probably the best tablet display out there. Its very very sharp and colors look crisp and nice.
Battery 7/10 Battery life is OK. Apple says that the iPad 3 gives 10 hours of usage but in my experience i got about 8 hours of usage.

Pros

  • Great build quality and premium choice of materials.
  • Best tablet display currently available
  • Healthy ecosystem of third party iPad optimized apps
  • Decent rear camera

Cons

  • Very limiting and outdated looking OS.
  • Average battery life
  • Quite an expensive tablet

NokiaFTW alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

samsungapple
posted on 30 Sep 2012, 21:30 (Posts: 10; Member since: 30 Sep 2012)

7

Nice tablet but still needs some work to do.

samsungapple has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Apples first ipad was a big hit. so as the second one and they got up to the "The New Ipad." I personally think that that was too much. Apple did awesome job until the 2nd Ipad but not after that. Nothing have really changed except the display and the faster processor. It still is a great tablet but apple should work more and then they should release the revolutionary tablet.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 3/10
Display 10/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

  • beautiful, wonderful, and awesome display

Cons

  • bulky
  • battery
  • camera

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

hnlperbt
posted on 17 Aug 2012, 19:47 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Aug 2012)

5

Good tablet, a little overhyped

hnlperbt has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Overall it's a great tablet. There are a bunch of little things that bother me, but the apps are useful on a great display. For my next tablet, I would probably go with a smaller one, something like the Blackberry Playbook or the Google Nexus 7. For now, this is an excellent entertainment device.

Build quality 8/10 Overall very good. A couple pixels dead, nothing big. Also quite heavy and bulky.
Reception 6/10 It doesn't connect to Wi-fi very well compared to my laptop.
Call quality 4/10 Facetime calls keep bugging out. Might be the network, might just be that the ipad isn't meant for calling haha.
Internet 8/10 Surfs the internet beautifully.
Multimedia 7/10 Good for watching videos and listening to music. Not the best sound quality, but that's about it.
Camera 3/10 The cameras are actually pretty poor for such a large and expensive device.
UI speed 7/10 Usually quite good, but when it heats up, it slows down.
Everyday usage 5/10 It's a bit too big and bulky to take everywhere.
Text input 5/10 Better than the iphone simply due to the size, but not very good. My friend has an HTC phone that has excellent tactile feedback that I think is really helpful.
Display 8/10 A bit hard to see in the sun, but that's to be expected
Battery 4/10 Okay this has got to be just me, because my friends have no problems with the battery. Somehow my battery drains really quickly (5 hours on a good day).

Pros

  • Beautiful display
  • Good quality
  • UI is pretty smooth
  • Lots of useful apps

Cons

  • Battery life bad
  • Bulky
  • Camera is weak
  • No flash
  • No memory expansion
  • iTunes is terrible to work with

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

TheLibertine
posted on 12 Aug 2012, 15:22 (Posts: 484; Member since: 15 Jan 2012)

9

No surprises here

TheLibertine has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Best tablet out there and one of the best consumer products overall. Say what you want about Apple, this is a fantastic piece of Technology. The limitations of iOS is the only drawback, but also it's strength. The App Store and Apple user expierence on tablets still blow away Android. There really is a reason why this thing is so crazy popular.

Build quality 10/10 Build quality is overall flawless and fantastic, hands down. It feels like lasting a decade.
Reception 10/10 The WLAN reception is definitely better than on my Galaxy Note. Nothing fantastic, but there is point giving less than ten.
Call quality 10/10 ...?
Internet 9/10 Perfect except for the lack of Flash, but I don't miss it much. Safari is a good browser.
Multimedia 10/10 Now my favorite device for music and movies.
Camera 7/10 Without adding arguments for why and why not I do not need a camera on a tablet, this does the job done good.
UI speed 10/10 No comments needed here. Compared with Android... Fantastic.
Everyday usage 10/10 That's what iOS stands for. Pick it up and do whatever you want, don't care about everything else you would care about on a desktop or Android.
Text input 8/10 Apples on-screen keyboard and the dictation function both get the job done very, very good... For a tablet, that is...
Display 10/10 No comment.
Battery 10/10 It depends heavily on the screen brightness, but I can easily get ten hours out of it while browsing with auto-brightness at half, more than twelve hours when on low brightness and, even more impressive, nearly eight hours of very heavy gaming. That's more than enough. I actually never managed to kill this beast in one day. I probably could at higher brightness, but I don't need it.

Pros

  • Display: color saturation, pixel density, resolution, contrast, brightness
  • Eight to twelve hour battery life
  • Size and form factor, still thin at 9mm and not to heavy
  • The quality of the software in the App Store
  • Design and build quality
  • Overall usability and user experience
  • Fast, responsive, never once lagged
  • Ultimate portable gaming device
  • Incredible attention to detail in the intuitive user interface
  • Incredible LTE speeds

Cons

  • Some limitations in the OS
  • The models with LTE and more storage are expensive
  • Could be a bit lighter, but is by no means heavy

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nwright94
posted on 10 Aug 2012, 14:54

9

Awesome device

nwright94 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Just came from an android tablet which had its merits but I couldn't get pass the horrendous tablet optimized app selection. This device has its flaws, but it is a better experience than what I had on android.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Amazing display
  • Fast and responsive
  • Great app selection
  • Itunes makes it easy to aggregate media
  • Rear camera takes nice pictures
  • Loud, clear speaker
  • Great software keyboard

Cons

  • Battery dies pretty fast
  • A Little heavier than past iPad
  • Cameras usefulness is questionable

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tggoulart
posted on 04 Aug 2012, 06:57 (Posts: 24; Member since: 22 Jun 2012)

10

Great tablet!

tggoulart has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The interface is just AWESOME! The iOS 5 is just incredible with iMessage and notification center. In fall the iPad 3 will have Siri which is awesome! The camera is very good like the video quality. The retina display is amazing and it's the major feature on this iPad. The processor is very fast and make the experience of browsing the web and playing games even more fun. Unfortenely, the battery is not quite good, does not support flash and it has no memory expansion.... However the build quality is good, not amazing, it could be slimmer and lighter. Overall, this is a great tablet and I recommend to all of you buying this amazing tablet.

Build quality 7/10 Good but could be slimmer and lighter
Reception 10/10 Very receptivr
Call quality 8/10 FaceTime is just great
Internet 10/10 Very fun browsing on the web, just spectacular!
Multimedia 7/10 The layout could be better but it's still fun
Camera 10/10 Great camera for a tablet
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 Just like typing on a PC keyboard
Display 10/10 Retina display kills it!
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • Dual core processor and quad core gpu
  • Retina display
  • Awesome os
  • Fluid graphics
  • Siri dictation
  • Giant app store!
  • Great camera
  • Internet browsing super fun

Cons

  • No memory expansion
  • Battery
  • No flash support

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy Accessories

Latest stories