Samsung Focus S Review
Introduction:

Showing their full support for Microsoft’s mobile platform, AT&T has been the most vigilant carrier domestically to take hold of Windows Phone so openly. Following through in a similar manner to what we saw last year when the platform exploded onto the scene, there has been nothing short of top-notch Mango filled devices of late for AT&T. Already, we’ve been tantalized by the compact Samsung Focus Flash and impressed with the mighty HTC Titan, but the Samsung Focus S seemingly fits the bill as being a premier offering that’s sure to melt the hearts of many with its Super AMOLED Plus display, slim figure, and HSPA+ connectivity. Can this possibly make the A grade and become the Windows Phone to own right now?

The package contains:

  • microUSB cable
  • Wall Charger
  • Stereo Headset
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Health & Safety and Warranty Guide

Design:

Unequivocally, the handset is literally the Windows Phone version of the Samsung Galaxy S II – it bears many of the design characteristics that are prevalent with the beloved smartphone. Granted that it’s not necessarily a fresh look, we’re humble to the fact that it works out very well for the Focus S, as it clearly maintains a light figure (3.9 oz) and streamlined body (0.33” thick). However, seeing that it’s nothing more than the typical plastic construction we tend to see from Samsung, it doesn’t entirely come off as sturdy feeling compared to the metallic casing of the HTC Titan.



You can compare the Samsung Focus S with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

On one hand, the HTC Titan presented our eyes with a ginormous display, but despite its smaller size, the 4.3” WVGA (480 x 800) Super AMOLED Plus display of the Samsung Focus S stands equally on the same pedestal. Well, that’s partly due to  the saturated color tones and wide viewing angles we’re presented with, which of course, combine together to enthrall anyone to its glistening glow. Moreover, its resolution is hardly flattering in this day and age, but it’s undoubtedly sufficient enough to keep our eyes content.


Unlike most of the Android phones out there, we’re hardly ever finding ourselves accidentally pressing any of the three capacitive buttons on the Focus S. Meanwhile, there’s a 1.3-megapixel front-facing camera above the display to provide video chat functionality with the Tango app.


Looking around the body of the handset, it employs all the usuals we tend to see with Windows Phones – like a volume rocker, power button, two-level shutter key, 3.5mm headset jack, noise-cancellation microphone, standard microphone, and a microUSB port for charging/data connectivity.


In the rear, it’s sporting an 8-megapixel auto-focus camera with LED flash towards the top middle, while a couple of notches near the bottom right are used for its speakerphone. Pulling off the plastic rear cover, we’re instantly given access to the smartphone’s 1,650 mAh battery and SIM card slot.



Samsung Focus S 360-degrees View:



FEATURED VIDEO

22 Comments

1. HTCiscool

Posts: 449; Member since: Jul 16, 2011

Fair score, I would say I prefer the design of the Lumia, battery life isn't exactly bullet proof, good WP7 phone though, of that's what your looking for.

2. Birds

Posts: 1172; Member since: Nov 21, 2011

WVGA resolution is not a bad thing. So what if it has a 217 ppi. Its not like a dnm laptop which has like 75. So its better than nothing.

3. kshell1

Posts: 1143; Member since: Oct 05, 2011

yet again you take away points for screen res but its super amoled? i mean also you take away points for plastic construction, they had to balance the price between construction and the super amoled plus screen didnt they?

4. taz89

Posts: 2014; Member since: May 03, 2011

lol you actually put plastic as a con..plastic is the most durable material for a mobile device also if its a con here then why isnt it a con on every other plastic smartphones...talk about inconsistency's

17. Lucas777

Posts: 2137; Member since: Jan 06, 2011

i agree.. i think 8 is a little harsh when all they did was say good things and then two cons.. at least an 8.5

5. jackhammeR

Posts: 1548; Member since: Oct 17, 2011

WOW. Plastic construction? S II is entirely made of plastic and I didn't see this con.

6. taz89

Posts: 2014; Member since: May 03, 2011

kind of shows how good the focus s is if they are putting ridiculous cons down

7. snowgator

Posts: 3621; Member since: Jan 19, 2011

I love the Focus S. And at least they took the time to review it. But my whole problem with the reviews of the second generation of WP compared to the first still holds: Better camera, better screen, more functions, great experience, and yet the original Focus, also believed to be the benchmark for WP in it's day, got an 8.5. I believe that Phone Arena compares the devices to other available at the time, so the original Focus got that score compared to the Android or iPhone offerings of 2010/2011. If you believe that this Gen of WP's are inferior when compared to other smartphones on the market, than the glowing write-ups just don't support that. I gave the Focus S a 10 overall (pure biased review, of course!!) and I gave more cons than they did. But an 8 is not a bad rating. Just seems as though if you have no real cons, an 8.5 like in the first Gen ratings would be fair for the Focus S, Radar, and Titan. The top end Androids and iPhone 4S would still be rated higher, so who gets hurt???

8. rayjones09

Posts: 149; Member since: Dec 16, 2010

Hope you all do a Focus S vs Galaxy S II review.

9. kshell1

Posts: 1143; Member since: Oct 05, 2011

what would be the point. the focus S is the galaxy s2 with slightly different specs and os. they are both the flagships of their os and by same manufactuerer

12. rayjones09

Posts: 149; Member since: Dec 16, 2010

Which would be why a comparison could prove advantageous. To compare two similar devices with very different operating systems highlighting the strengths and weaknesses of each. Like any other comparison.

10. Glim12808

Posts: 394; Member since: Oct 26, 2011

Yes, I'm curious how close or far behind can the Focus S (with its single-core processor) hung behind the SG2 (with its dual-core processor). Of course, SG2 will win the shoot-out but still, I'm curious how the two, with their different OS platforms perform against each other. But I doubt PA will waste their time on this.

13. rayjones09

Posts: 149; Member since: Dec 16, 2010

Well, last year or earlier this year they compared the Samsung Focus and the Nexus S and Captivate. So there's a chance; this could be the sequel.

16. Lucas777

Posts: 2137; Member since: Jan 06, 2011

i wudnt say the dual core will outpace the single core... maybe in benchmark tests but in a real world experience wp7 is lag free and android.. well.. isnt

18. taz89

Posts: 2014; Member since: May 03, 2011

android generally isnt lag free but the gs2 is lag free and it has never lagged since i had it in may which is saying something because generally with android once you start putting lots of apps and widgets it starts to lag but not the exynos s2

20. clevername

Posts: 1436; Member since: Jul 11, 2008

It lags for me. Very minimal but noticeable. And I just got it.

11. mikeystar

Posts: 17; Member since: Nov 17, 2011

Im an android guy, But it seemed to me like you guys could have given this the same score as the s2. The only major difference being the processor. But Windows phones really do not seem to need dual core processors to run even smoother than android. So with that i would think PA would have given this an 8.5 or even a 9 like the s2. but either way the video review seemed really fair. If windows phones continue to develop and become as customizable as android I may consider getting one in 2 years. I would however only jump ship if Microsoft works at providing a great gaming experience like it does with the xbox.

19. Phrozt

Posts: 9; Member since: May 11, 2011

Yeah.. I think this author has a very clear bias of two subjects: Samsung and Android. You are spot on with your comparisons of the S2/Focus S hardware, w/the clear conclusion of "well.. shouldn't the have the same score/pros/cons?" yet the author clearly shows his bias here. On the other bias, you see his review of the titan:http://www.phonearena.com/reviews/HTC-Titan-Review_id2917 More hardware than the S, sturdier build, more perks in the OS....... Lower score??? And on top of that he openly advertises for Android in the Titan's conclusion!!! "However, if you haven't decided on the OS yet, there are lots of competitive Android phones. For example, AT&T offers the 4.5” HTC Vivid and Samsung Galaxy S II Skyrocket, plus there is a bunch of 4.3” phones. And, if you are looking for a really big screen, the Galaxy Nexus has a 4.65” one with 720p resolution, and comes with the awesome Ice Cream Sandwich OS, but you'll have to wait a bit, because it's still not offered by U.S. carriers Stateside." John V., your fanboy is showing. Even your fellow fanboys (above) can blatantly see this.

14. ReturningToNokia

Posts: 130; Member since: Jul 09, 2011

The rating given for this device is VERY generous. VERY. What is interesting is is that this device has been on the shelves for nearly one full month, and NOW the review? I'm kind of thinking 'why bother' at this point. But, given that this device was not reviewed by all of the major tech blogs(and the ones that did review it, reviewed it weeks after it was in stores), I guess PA is no different with regards to the Focus S. Usually, devices are given to tech sites, by the oem, BEFORE the device hits the shelves - you know, to increase awareness and sales - but not Samsung, at least not with the Focus S. Seems Samsung had more confidence in the Focus Flash than they did the Focus S.

15. mikeystar

Posts: 17; Member since: Nov 17, 2011

I like how you say this bold statement with absolutely no reasoning to back it up

21. henrickrw

Posts: 408; Member since: Sep 16, 2011

Applausse.... Nice Review.. This phone is sweet enough to have it for daily use. Not as good as my GS2, but I will consider adding it to my Hall of Fame in conjunction with the Nokia N9. Nice Review...!!!!!

23. TheJudge

Posts: 1; Member since: Jan 20, 2012

This phone deserves a higher rating. The review shows that. The numbers were lowered to reflect bias of the reviewer. Just look at the user reviews.
Focus S
  • Display 4.3" 480 x 800 pixels
  • Camera 8 MP / 1.3 MP front
  • Storage 16 GB
  • Battery 1650 mAh(6.50h talk time)

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.