Nokia X6 Review

Nokia X6 Review
This is a global GSM phone, it can be used with AT&T's 1900MHz 3G band, and with T-Mobile without 3G.

Introduction and Design:


Today we are going to introduce the most technologically advanced member of Nokia´s Xseries, the X6. It comes with the impressive 32Gb built-in memory, 3.2-inch capacitive display, 5-megapixel camera with Carl Zeiss Tessar optics and one-year subscription for “Comes with Music”. The latter service allows for download of music completely free of charge from an online server that features rich audio libraryand you can do it without violating anyone´s copyright, plus you are permitted to keep all the tracks you downloaded onto your phone or computer when the subscription expires. Unofficial information has it that a version of the X6 equipped with 16Gb built-in memory and without “Comes with Music” is coming February 2010.

You will not find anything coming out of left field in the box – the handset comes boxed with a pair of headphones, USB cable, software CD, user guide and a booklet that contains your own “Comes with Music” registration code. It would have been great if the manufacturer had thrown a phone cover designed to protect the device against scratches into the deal, but apparently Nokia has opted toremain true to its newly established corporate policy of cutting corners. You just won´t fail to notice that last year´s top music-oriented handset of the manufacturer, the Nokia 5800 XpressMusic came with quite richer accessory pack that included things like, say, TV cable… Well, the financial meltdown seems to have made everyone stingier, tighten their belt and batten down the hatches.

Every bird likes its own nest really, but the manufacturer simply cannot afford to blow its own trumpet on a product portfolio that includes too many handsets with touch-sensitive screens not to mention that, at least until now, they were all equipped with displays utilizing resistive technology. The 3.2-inch screen of the Nokia X6 is the first to integrate capacitive one and we have to say its overall sensitivity is substantially better than its resistive counterparts. It comes with native resolution of 360x640 pixels, supports 16mln colors and as a whole, the image quality is pretty good, plus the screen remains usable even in direct sunlight.

The front side of the Nokia X6 hosts video call camera, touch-sensitive button than calls up a dedicated shortcut menu, send and end keys as well as a button to open the main menu. All told, they all feel handy to use.



The SIM card slot is located on the left hand side, but since it lacks spring eject mechanism, you would have to remove the back panel and battery to take the card out. What you have on the opposite side is camera shutter, screen lock switch and volume rocker. We didn’t encounter any issues with any of them, since they all feature proper travel.

The 3.5mm jack is on the top, along with the charger and microUSB ports and power on button.



We just cannot say we are greatly pleased with the overall build quality really, because the Nokia X6 just doesn’t feel as good in your hand as such a high-end device should, not to mention the back panel appears… downright cheap. Still, keep in mind the phone is quite tall and you will definitely feel it clearly in your pocket, not last due to its relatively bulky weight of 4.3 oz.



You can compare the Nokia X6 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

In step with the overall styling of all other Nokia handsets with touch-sensitive screens, the X6 features symmetrical design and the space above and below the display and to the edges is equal. In our opinion, the phone looks slightly boring, or to put it in other words, it failed to capture our imagination. We do prefer the shapes of the Samsung BEAT DJ М7600 and Nokia 5530 XpressMusic.


Nokia X6 360 Degrees View:


FEATURED VIDEO

21 Comments

1. Vix

Posts: 3; Member since: Nov 21, 2009

How did they get 7.5? I've got 8.5 (8.44)

2. madurabrain

Posts: 2; Member since: Oct 27, 2009

ya 7.5 is wrong...pls change it to 8.4

3. KaisenSengen

Posts: 10; Member since: Apr 09, 2008

why? u will cry if they don't fix the rating?

4. Doakie

Posts: 2478; Member since: May 06, 2009

Eh, common, grow up. There is nothing wrong with expecting a professional phone review website to spell check and fix typos. I ran across at least 4 typos in this review. Which is totally unacceptable. I value Phone Arena and their reviews, they are often one of the only sites that review phones that I'm interested in. But they have a horrible tendency of not catching typos, which is stupid in this day and age where spell checkers have existed since I can remember switching from DOS to Windows 3.1. Either way, fix your typos, run a spell checker, re-do the math on the score. Otherwise your respectability as a true journalism site is in jeopardy. I love you Phone Arena, but someone has got to tell you the truth. Tough love.

5. panacea224

Posts: 19; Member since: Dec 20, 2008

I agree about the typos. However, its been pointed out many times in previous reviews that the scores are weighted differently, it's not a straight average. If you click on the link below the score that says "how do we rate?" it will explain the scale.

12. Bulakbuk unregistered

Tuluk!!!

6. DirgeInferno

Posts: 5; Member since: Mar 25, 2010

boring design?.... why did they give it an 8 then...

7. Choees

Posts: 1; Member since: Jun 22, 2010

Bad Phone Poor SERVICE... I bought this phone(8 GB) for my wife 2 weeks back, After going home I discovered that the phone speakers have issues and the speaker makes noise at the top 3 volume level. I submitted the phone back to the dealer the next day, But I haven't received it back till date, I have to buy another phone for her as earlier phone had stopped working. They are not ready to exchange/money back as they are saying the model have some issue. If they accept the model have the issue why are they still selling it in the market, this is pathetic service experience from Nokia. I would suggest not to buy this phone.

8. x6 lover unregistered

I think its a great phone and its features definitely suits me. I am hoping to get one soon and is pretty sure it would not let me down,I had gone to Nokia's official website and put the features that suit me and this was my result.Nokia x6 32 gb.I believe the design is pretty stylish and however also think the price tag is a bit high.I am still willing to spend the money as I trust Nokia very much. It has given me the service that I need and would hopefully continue to do so.I would suggest to use your opinion and decide if you like this phone or not. I would say that I would truly like it.

9. donna unregistered

blasted phone`s been nothing but trouble, starts deleting text messages in the middle of writing them and freezes all the time, the only way to get it going again is by taking the battery out, dreadful phone,i thought it was just mine and it was faulty, but after reading a lot of reviews, mine appear to be common problems i`d NEVER have another nokia.

10. Ranguleo unregistered

In All X6 phone versions there is now search option for Album, Artists,Tracks in the Nokia music player. .. :( Time consuming if your music lovers..... This is not much far from cons. Ranguleo.

11. ranguleo unregistered

In All X6 phone versions there is NO search option for Album, Artists,Tracks in preloaded music player. .. :( Time consuming if you are music lovers..... This is not much far from cons. Ranguleo.

13. x6 lover unregistered

I changed my mind.The n97 is 5000000000% better after my experiences!!

14. AIYAPPA unregistered

one of the best for music lovers... but the worse whn it comes to OS,.... it frequently gets restarted and hangs on a plenty of occasions. doesnt allow many applications to work smooth.... heck of a pain in ma assssss when it gets stuck while downloading and speakers are not so good... oly the head phones are ... I would not suggest any one to spend so much on such a phone that givs u pain in ur asss all the time u try to do some......

15. Fortunata unregistered

I wanna try this one. I'll get back soon.

16. cdpg888 unregistered

NOKIA X6 WARNING!!!!!!!!!!! I have had (3) Nokia X6 since 31st December 2010. The first 2 were sent back because they had almost NO Service coverage (Emergency Call Only) kept popping up on the screen when you “tried” to make a call. The only way this could be overwritten was to request the Nokia OVI Server to connect then you would get your coverage back. Its like the guts of the phone goes into sleep mode and won’t ring out OR accept any incoming calls. Problem stayed the same after a 153Mb S/W upgrade. Now the third phone has got coverage BUT keeps going into landscape mode and won’t return, the screen goes OUT but the Red, Green and White hard buttons stay illuminated,the touch screen doesn’t work, power down is the only remedy, also keeps going into Edit Contacts mode, and this is with the latest Software installed. ABSOLUTE JUNK Shame on you Nokia

18. roydeathrox unregistered

i've had the phone since17 dec 2010. And yes the os is a piece of shit, but I never got any type of madness from the phone. only wish that nokia bring ANDROID support to this phone with a better processor and a gpu also.

21. Robiul unregistered

How Open X6 Mobile...Bec My Mobile Phone Hear Speaker Problem...Pls Tell Me This Mobile How Open,,,,Robiul

22. mdtaj_ind

Posts: 1; Member since: Dec 03, 2011

i have x6 iam very rare used from last 1 year but know i getting problem from side lock and panels ,phone lock was broken can u suggest wear i can repair properly

* Some comments have been hidden, because they don't meet the discussions rules.

X6
  • Display 3.2" 360 x 640 pixels
  • Camera 5 MP / Other front
  • Storage 32 GB
  • Battery 1320 mAh(6.00h 3G talk time)

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.