Volkswagen uses print ad to promote its campaign against texting and driving
Texting while driving remains a huge problem. On July 1st, Florida started enforcing a law that prevents truckers from driving and texting while a law against non-commercial drivers will take effect on October 1st. The truckers will face a $500 penalty for the first infraction and their company will be hit with a $2750 fine. By the third violation, the driver's fine would be up to $2750 with a 120 day license suspension. The trucking company could be hit with $11,000 in fines. Hitting drivers where it hits them the hardest, in the wallet or pocketbook, might be the only way to get them to stop texting and driving. Including Florida, 39 states and D.C. have enacted laws against texting and driving. 3 other states do not allow you to text and drive if you are under 21 or are using a learner's permit.
Studies show that those who are reading or sending a text or email message are 23 more times likely to be involved in a crash than those who wait to reach their destination to send a message. Back in May, we told you that the nation's top four carriers were aligning themselves behind AT&T's "It can wait" slogan.
source: PSFK via IntoMobile