Update to Google Nexus 7 (2013) keeps your sister away from your games

Update to Google Nexus 7 (2013) keeps your sister away from your games
Surely you've heard the question about whether or not a tree falling in the woods makes a sound if no one is there to hear it. What we would like to know is whether a software update without a changelist is still a software update. What brings this up is the Asus built Google Nexus 7 (2013) which received an update to build number JSS15R just a couple of weeks after being updated to JSS15Q. At 8MB, this is a lightweight

So far, those precious few who have received the update aren't reporting any changes. The newer build of Android 4.3 probably includes the usual bug fixes and stability enhancements. Yeah, okay, we snuck a peak at the image below. But because we did,we know that the update lets you create restrictive profiles so that your younger sister doesn't mess up your game of Candy Crush Saga. And the update also secures the tablet in a kiosk setting.

If your Nexus 7 (2013) received the update, let us know what changes you've spotted by dropping us a message in the box below.

Screenshots from the Nexus 7 (2013) update

Screenshots from the Nexus 7 (2013) update


source: AndroidCentral

Related phones

Nexus 7 (2013)
  • Display 7.0" 1920 x 1200 pixels
  • Camera 5 MP / 1.2 MP front
  • Processor Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 Pro, Quad-core, 1500 MHz
  • Storage 32 GB
  • Battery 3950 mAh

FEATURED VIDEO

5 Comments

1. woodshop20

Posts: 459; Member since: Sep 14, 2013

No update to keep brothers out too? Useless. Uninstalling immediately.

2. Berzerk000

Posts: 4275; Member since: Jun 26, 2011

I don't even have a sister! Useless.

3. madmikepr

Posts: 138; Member since: Aug 09, 2011

this should be in every tablet :) +1

4. iliketech

Posts: 78; Member since: Aug 17, 2011

yes this is a Great feature and I would buy this tablet listing this as a major reason to do so versus the competition that does not have this feature... I leave my tablet out where others that live in my house can use it, but have deleted all my personal account syncing because others can cruse all my contacts, calendar, etc.. I'm thinking with this feature it would be like my windows PC in that when I log out of my user id and someone else comes along to use the pc then they would log in using their userid, and thus not be able to view/modify my data and programs. I think this is a Great Feature and long overdue. Thanks Google!

5. V3TTOO

Posts: 27; Member since: Nov 29, 2012

The restricted profiles were already possible before the update. I was able to make one for my friends that want to use my tablet.

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.