Liveblog: Sony's press conference at CES 2016

Liveblog: Sony's press conference at CES 2016
The first full day of CES 2016 is jam-packed with events from the big names in technology. Capping off the first day of the convention is Sony, who always manages to wow us with announcements about what is ahead.

Sony uses its venue at far end of the Central Hall of the Las Vegas Convention Center to showcase the breadth of its impressive technology 
portfolio. Sometimes this includes announcements of new smartphones, sometimes not.

DON'T MISS: You can watch the Sony CES 2016 livestream here!

Last we heard a couple weeks ago, the rumor mill is undecided about what to expect, if anything, from Sony on the smartphone front at CES this year. One side of the mill suggested a possible whole new host of Xperia Z6 gear, another side indicates that Sony will pare down the smartphone offering a little bit, with a couple of flagships packing the latest from Qualcomm and its forthcoming Snapdragon 820 CPU.

Of course, that is not the end-all-be-all for mobile, we may see some new wearables, and Sony is certainly looking at ways to connect the home and other “Internet of Things” technology that can all be harnessed by mobile.

We will share the news with you as it happens, keep your browser open as we liveblog the festivities.

Sony's CES media event is scheduled to begin at 5:00pm PT | 7:00pm CT | 8:00pm ET | 1:00am GMT!

FEATURED VIDEO

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless