IFA 2015 schedule: Here's what's happening when


This actual image of the Messe Berlin Sud entrance is kind of funny, for what it depicts is a ghost town. The thing is, in just a few days time, this is precisely where the 2015 edition of IFA (Internationale Funkausstellung Berlin a.k.a Berlin Radio Show) will take place, and hundreds of thousands of visitors will go through the vast halls of Messe Berlin.

As always, we're a little early in order to attend a number of pre-briefings that phone manufacturers organize, and though we can't talk about them just yet, we can share with you the many press conferences that are scheduled to take place within the next few days. Here's what's coming:

September 2, Wednesday


Acer Press Conference

Event begins at 05:00 am ET | 04:00 am CT | 03:00 am MT | 02:00 am PT | 11:00 am CET

Acer has an event set for early on September 2, and is expected to present and demo a number of new laptops, tablets, and most importantly — a range of new smartphones, including a mysterious teaser device(s). Yep, we're curious, too. Time will tell, but expect to know sooner rather than later, as this is one of the first events we'll be attending.

Asus Press Conference

Event begins at 06:30 am ET | 05:30 am CT | 04:30 am MT | 03:30 am PT | 12:30 pm CET

Acer isn't the only Taiwanese multinational scheduled to hold an event on Wednesday (September 2nd), with cross-town rival Asus also prepping a press conference. While the company will dedicate a lot of its stage time to its gaming ROG series of computers and laptops, we're told to expect products that will be interest to our audience, vague as that may sound.

Huawei Press Conference

Event begins at 08:30 am ET | 07:30 am CT | 06:30 MT | 05:30 PT | 14:30 pm CET

At this point in time, it's still uncertain exactly what Huawei has in store for its press conference scheduled for mid-day on September 2nd (local time), though we expect to see at least two devices, possibly including models from its online-only Honor series. We will have to wait and see!



Sony Press Conference

Event begins at 10:15 am ET | 09:15 am CT | 08:15 am MT | 07:15 am PT | 16:15 pm CET

As those of you who have been keep an eye on PhoneArena will know, Sony is now seriously rumored to be prepping a trio of high-end devices, including a Sony Xperia Z5, a Z5 Compact, and even a Z5 Premium, which is tipped as being the first smartphone to come packing a ridiculously high, 4K (2160p) pixel resolution. Obviously, that's a pretty bold claim, so we're holding our breath for now.

Lenovo Press Conference

Event begins at 13:30 pm ET | 12:30 pm CT | 11:30 am MT | 10:30 am PT | 19:30 pm CET

Lenovo was pretty careful not to spill anything specific, but we do know that the company will supposedly hold its biggest launch event of the year on September 2nd. The range of products expected to be shown on stage number 10, among which new PCs, tablets, smartphones, and "more".

September 3, Thursday


Samsung Press Conference

Event begins at 13:00pm ET | 12:00 am CT | 11:00 am MT | 10:00 PT | 19:00 pm CET

The only press conference of note on September 3rd is Samsung's, and we know exactly what the company has in mind: its new Gear S2 smartwatch. Whether the new wearable will be joined with other all-new products remains to be seen, though the South Korean behemoth will certainly have its new duo of superphablets available to play around with: the Note5 and S6 edge+.

FEATURED VIDEO

16 Comments

1. arch_angel

Posts: 1651; Member since: Feb 20, 2015

I Really Want A 1080p Galaxy Alpha2 Powered By The Exynos 5433.

6. Coconut00

Posts: 485; Member since: Jan 13, 2015

Add the camera of the Note 5 + 3 GB of RAM and it would be the best compact phone.

8. arch_angel

Posts: 1651; Member since: Feb 20, 2015

Note 4 Specs With A 1080p Screen Is What I Was Thinking.

10. Ordinary

Posts: 2454; Member since: Apr 23, 2015

There is actually S5 with 1080p and 805 SD, its called S5 Plus.

11. arch_angel

Posts: 1651; Member since: Feb 20, 2015

But I Want That Alpha Design Tho. And The Exynos 5433 Is Better Than The Sd805 IMO. I Know The Adreno 420 Is A Beast But Whatever.

15. Coconut00

Posts: 485; Member since: Jan 13, 2015

It is really hard to get one, though.

9. Wiencon

Posts: 2278; Member since: Aug 06, 2014

Me too, GA was better than Z3C in few categories but with only 32 gigs, small battery and without waterproofing it lost in the comparision. Looking at current Sammy line up GA2 wouldn't fix those cons, shame because GA is IMO best Sammys device ever

2. carlemillward unregistered

HTC and LG not attending?

3. carlemillward unregistered

Never mind, they are but are probably going to announce their new devices at a separate event.

14. LGisgood

Posts: 833; Member since: Jun 23, 2012

LG will having its own big event for the announcement of the PREMIUM LG G4 Pro. and other midranger phones. after the IFA event

4. bubbadoes

Posts: 1225; Member since: May 03, 2012

yawn.

5. mawhob2222

Posts: 219; Member since: Mar 22, 2014

No liveblog for sony Samsungarena?!?

7. carlemillward unregistered

There should be, Ray S. normally does it.

12. rsiders

Posts: 1935; Member since: Nov 17, 2011

IIIIFFFFFF, yeah that's a huge if, Sony got the camera software right and included new technology like OIS I would give them a second chance actually. But that is the only way I would ever buy from them again and the camera software would have to be manual controls ready.

13. Plutonium239

Posts: 1200; Member since: Mar 17, 2015

I'm hoping Microsoft unveils their flagship at ifa as well.

16. surethom

Posts: 1667; Member since: Mar 04, 2009

Why no universal gmt time?.

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.