Google I/O 2014: watch the livestream here


Update: And that's a wrap! Google unveiled Android L, learn all about it here.

Google I/O 2014 is kicking off today, on June 25th at the Moscone Center in San Francisco, and it will bring us a preview of a brand new version of Android, the so called ‘L’ release that will introduce a brand new ‘Quantum Paper’ design language.

Android and Chrome head Sundar Pichai will go on stage in front of 6000 developers to lift the cover off the secretive plans of Google. And while Pichai himself has confirmed that Google is this time unveiling the newest Android ahead of its usual fall schedule (to give phone makers more time to embed this newest software in their Holiday season devices), we do not know all that much about what other surprises Google holds up its sleeve.

At Google I/O, expectations are also high for new devices with Android Wear, and Sundar Pichai dropped a heavy hint in that direction saying that it’s absurd that people only have their heart rate and blood pressure readings once a year. We would not be surprised to see how Android Wear integrates with a new Google Fit platform as well.

In addition, Android TV is also said to be in the works, and we’re even hearing fantastical nano bot technology that Google might surprise us with. An appearance by one of Google star CEOs - Larry Page or Sergey Brin - would also spice things up, so we definitely recommend you to check back in here when Google I/O starts.

Google I/O 2014 kicks off at 
9:00 am PT | 12:00 pm ET | 4 pm GMT

FEATURED VIDEO

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless