x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

LG Cookie Fresh GS290 Review

Posted: , by PhoneArena Team

Tags:

Go to page
LG Cookie Fresh GS290 Review
This is a global GSM phone. It can be used with AT&T and T-Mobile USA.
LG Cookie Fresh GS290 Release Date - Q1 2010

Introduction:


It seems LG is firmly intent to offer the wide audience a cram full box of cookies in an attempt to come up with a handset to repeat the smashing success of the LG Cookie KP500. Two new members of the famous family have been introduced by the time of the current review, the LG Cookie Plus GS500 and LG Cookie Fresh GS290 and we are waiting for the official announcement of another device, the Cookie Gig KM570. What they all have in common is they are affordable feature phones equipped with touch sensitive screens.

Today we are going to take a closer look at the LG Cookie Fresh GS290 that, at the time being, is the poorest family member in terms of hardware specifications. It seems what it stakes on to win over customers is audio playback functionality – the handset features 3.5mm headphone jack and allows its owners to listen to radio stations without necessarily having to plug in a headphone set. Similarly to most other handsets in the affordable segment of the market today, the Cookie Fresh lacks 3G and comes with mediocre, 2-megapixel camera.


Design:

For good or bad, the LG Cookie Fresh GS290 is the typical affordable touchscreen phone, in terms of design. Its appearance is by no means breathtaking, but it’s not bad either. LG plans to offer it in a plethora of color variations, trying to suit as many consumer tastes as possible.. The plastic, from which it is manufactured, feels fairly cheap, although not unpleasant to touch. It has smooth curves, which make the LG Cookie Fresh GS290 feel natural in the hand. We are somewhat annoyed at the battery cover that can be removed way too easily and it’s not unlikely that it falls off while you carry about the cell phone in your pocket.

The smooth curves make the LG Cookie Fresh GS290 feel natural in the hand - LG Cookie Fresh GS290 Review
The smooth curves make the LG Cookie Fresh GS290 feel natural in the hand - LG Cookie Fresh GS290 Review
The smooth curves make the LG Cookie Fresh GS290 feel natural in the hand - LG Cookie Fresh GS290 Review

The smooth curves make the LG Cookie Fresh GS290 feel natural in the hand


LG Cookie Fresh GS290 Review

You can compare the LG Cookie Fresh GS290 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The screen measures 3 inches and has a resolution of 240x400 pixels – standard for a budget touch phone. It guarantees a lot of pixelization, so that’s not the best-looking display ever. Still, looking through the preloaded pictures, we found it to be a worthy competitor to every other phone in the same class. As it is resistive, using it will be flawless for female users with longer nails, while the rest will have to put up with the inconveniences this technology provides. The screen utilizes resistive technology, meaning you will either have to press it with your fingernails and put up with the inadequate response or exert extra force to get things done.

All the keys on our prototype felt nice and we are happy to see the microSD slot is on the left side and allows for memory card hotswapping. The device is charged via its microUSB port that you also use to connect it to a desktop computer.


The 3-inch display - LG Cookie Fresh GS290 Review
LG Cookie Fresh GS290 Review

The 3-inch display

 
Cookie Fresh has a microUSB port - LG Cookie Fresh GS290 Review
3.5mm jack - LG Cookie Fresh GS290 Review

Cookie Fresh has a microUSB port

3.5mm jack


All in all, the LG Cookie Fresh GS290 is what you’d expect it to be – a bit cheap, not very attractive, but still pleasant enough to look at. The version in silver looks rather boring really, but other colors may provide a breath of fresh air to the handset design and make the device an appealing option, especially to kids and children, not to mention these groups are part of the target audience.



LG Cookie Fresh GS290 360 Degrees View:


19 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. Gilli (unregistered)


The worst mobile, I bought this before 1 month . Now it is not working properly, Touch is not working, Very slow, Alarm is not wprking, Inbetween call is disconnecting, Auto lock is not working. I dont recomment anyone to buy this mobile.....

posted on 11 Oct 2010, 08:39

2. ubaid (unregistered)


Awsome cell phone just bought it yesterday day and its working smoothly

posted on 22 Oct 2010, 01:41

3. anna (unregistered)


I've had this phone for a week and it works very good. I love the cartoonish design.. and for what i use it, it's great!

posted on 03 Nov 2010, 23:24

4. su(king) (unregistered)


i bought this phone 6 months ago and i like it better every day!!!!!!!!
but i wish i could upgrade the os and make it better.!!!!!!!!!!!

posted on 26 Nov 2010, 04:37

5. krish123 (unregistered)


Nice Mobile... Feels good in the hand... Though touch is resistive, it feels good once we get used to it... The Perfect mix of all multimedia features... i was amazed by this phone's capability actually... only draw back is that the camera is worst...

posted on 13 Dec 2010, 23:13

6. Sainath Avaduta (unregistered)


I had purchased LG Cookie fresh on 18th July 2010 from Biz Bazar at Lower Parel. Initial period there were no problem with Mobile but from last two weeks, touch screen of mobile is not working. I believe there is only one LG Service center in Mumbai which is at Goregaon. From last two weeks i am in constant touch with LG Service center but they are stating that stock has not come, pl come after few days.
Is LG Service center is listingggggg ? Pl resolve my issue immediately so that i can post good comments for LG. Thanks

posted on 06 Jan 2011, 01:29

7. lvs (unregistered)


Does LG GS290 have wifi?

posted on 06 Jan 2011, 11:59

8. lavinia (unregistered)


I have this phone for 4-5 mouths....and the touch screen now doesn’t work... I would not recommend this phone to anyone.is waste of money...

posted on 16 Jan 2011, 03:17

9. sakhi (unregistered)


I have a LG GS290 and the touchscreen has partly frozen. It seems to shift everything to the right, so when you touch 1 it activates 3. Really really annoying as you can't enter the SIM number or press OK on the bottom left, or access the tel book etc. Is there any way of doing a hard reset, bearing in mind I don't have half the functionality of the phone (the left half)?

posted on 15 Mar 2011, 01:50

10. welkuchi (unregistered)


i boght this phone six months ago. but sine last week the screen is not working how to i get the settings back. i cant call the only buttons that are working is the off and the answering 1 the others no. how do i get back on tract with phone. its a nice brand

posted on 21 Mar 2011, 04:58

11. Kayode (unregistered)


I have the same problem with this phone as Sakhi and welkuchi.
I started using this phone about six months ago, in fact, I am on this page to see if I could get a solution. Now I can't make calls or read mails. only the right side responds .

posted on 02 Jun 2011, 07:29

12. krupal (Posts: 1; Member since: 02 Jun 2011)


same problem as sakhi, welkuchi and kayode. have written to customer care. will post the updates.

posted on 21 Aug 2011, 19:16

13. chas (unregistered)


infuiating screen locking when call is connected and continually locks after about 10 seconds, a nightmare when having to select options.

touchscreen is a disaster frequently have to multitap.

This phone is the pits ,

posted on 29 Aug 2011, 09:10

14. shaktimaan (unregistered)


i bought the phone in september 2010.the phone is good but the only problem i am having is that its processing is a little slow compared to other phones of this range.
the features and looks of the phone are nice

posted on 02 Sep 2011, 13:29

15. Swagat (unregistered)


Hey guys i want 2 buy this phone !! plz suggest me whether it is good to buy it or not!!


Plz reply me

devil.luv37@gmail.com

posted on 10 Sep 2011, 21:07

16. person (unregistered)


No, dont buy it at first i thought it was fantastic, but soon i relised the anoyying touch screen, no WiFi connection, o.facebook doesent work, it also is time consuming to text with. This was my first phone, which i have had for 9 months now, still works but i am upgrading. If u want a touch phone for a good price this is a good idea, but remember you get what you pay for. i would recommend a htc desire.

posted on 24 Sep 2011, 08:28

17. clover (unregistered)


Had this phone for just over 2 months and now the alarm won't work. Thought it was OK for the cheap price but am starting to suspect that it's just cheap and nasty.

posted on 02 Oct 2011, 14:20

18. She Who Shall Not Be Named (unregistered)


I've had this phone for a year and a bit, worked alright before, then it started gettig really laggy and slow (music, messages, alarm, camera). I calibrated it regularly; now half of the screen doesn't work. It's not water damage or anything, it just randomly stopped working. Sometimes the whole screen doesn't work. Haven't dropped that much either. It's pretty much useless now. Wouldn't really recommend this.

posted on 23 Oct 2011, 02:58

19. UnhappywithLG (Posts: 1; Member since: 23 Oct 2011)


Worst Phone I have ever Purchased, like so many others, have had problems with the touchscreen from the beginning and now it doesn't work at all or only half the screen will react to touch.
Phone was cheap on the market and now I know why!
Highly recommend you steer away from this phone!!!
Total Waste of money!!

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display3.0 inches, 240 x 400 pixels (155 ppi) TFT
Camera2 megapixels
Size4.25 x 2.09 x 0.49 inches
(108 x 53 x 12.5 mm)
3.14 oz  (89 g)
Battery900 mAh, 5.83 hours talk time

Latest stories