x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Samsung Wave 525 Review

Samsung Wave 525 6.5

Posted: , by

Tags:

Pages
Samsung Wave 525 Review
This is a global GSM phone and it can be used with AT&T and T-Mobile USA.

Introduction:


Samsung announced the low-range phones to carry its own bada OS back in June, naming them the Samsung Wave 2 and Wave 2 Pro. Afterwards the company took care of the mid-range with the Samsung Wave 723, which we reviewed recently. The last news from the bada camp were for a true successor to the first Samsung Wave, called the Samsung Wave II.

To avoid duplicate pronunciations, the low-end members of the bada family are now ready to enter the markets, but with names consisting strictly of numbers. The Samsung Wave 2 is now the Samsung Wave 525 and the Samsung Wave 2 Pro, which simply adds a QWERTY keyboard, is Samsung Wave 533.  We have the Samsung Wave 525 of the duo announced in June, and are taking it for a spin to check how bada OS looks and behaves on a rock-bottom hardware...


Design:

The Samsung Wave 525 will not win any design awards with its plain black rectangular shape with chrome-like accents, such as a thin rim around the phone. The capacitive touchscreen screen is 3.2" with 240x400 pixels of resolution, which makes the interface and websites look scraggy, and average sunlight visibility. Underneath it is the home button, flanked by send and end keys. There is a volume rocker on the left, microUSB port and 3.5mm audio jack on top, as well as a lock/power button plus a dedicated camera key on the right. Don't ask us why bada phones have a separate shutter key, while their Android brethren by Samsung only have virtual camera buttons, as we can't answer that on behalf of the company.

The Samsung Wave 525 will lies comfortably in the hand, and is fairly thin and light - Samsung Wave 525 Review
The Samsung Wave 525 will lies comfortably in the hand, and is fairly thin and light - Samsung Wave 525 Review
The Samsung Wave 525 will lies comfortably in the hand, and is fairly thin and light - Samsung Wave 525 Review

The Samsung Wave 525 will lies comfortably in the hand, and is fairly thin and light


The capacitive touchscreen screen is 3.2
The capacitive touchscreen screen is 3.2

The capacitive touchscreen screen is 3.2" with 240x400 pixels of resolution


Samsung Wave 525 Review

You can compare the Samsung Wave 525 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.
The sides of the Samsung Wave 525 - Samsung Wave 525 Review
The sides of the Samsung Wave 525 - Samsung Wave 525 Review
The sides of the Samsung Wave 525 - Samsung Wave 525 Review
The sides of the Samsung Wave 525 - Samsung Wave 525 Review

The sides of the Samsung Wave 525



The back hosts the 3MP camera, and replaces the usual glossy black plastic Samsung is using in most of its handsets of late for a dotted pattern one, which makes the phone less slippery to handle. The phone lies comfortably in the hand, and is fairly thin and light at 4.31 x 2.17 x 0.47” (109.5 x 55 x 11.9 mm), and 3.53 oz (100 g) of weight. The back cover is pretty prone to smudges and visible marks from everyday use, despite that it is not glossy plastic, but a simple wiping takes it all away. The Samsung Wave 525 will be available in three colors - black, white and pink.

Samsung Wave 525 Review
Samsung Wave 525 Review


Samsung Wave 525 360-degree View:



90 Comments
  • Options
    Close






posted on 01 Nov 2010, 12:41

1. FrankStraube (unregistered)


This is not Wave 525, but Wave 575.
Because only Wave 575 has Wifi

posted on 01 Nov 2010, 15:16

2. calamazoo (unregistered)


actually they all have Wi-Fi, but only Wave 575 has 3G, 525 and 533 are EDGE-only, if that's what you mean...

posted on 30 Dec 2010, 15:04

11. 1989amit (unregistered)


samsung 525 has wi fi.....better go and check...

posted on 24 Aug 2011, 23:52

40. SOUMITA (unregistered)


PLEASE SAY THAT HAS WAVE S5253 WI-Fi CONNECTION??

posted on 17 Sep 2011, 01:42

59. babu (unregistered)


my samsang app is not working what to do
plz tell me

posted on 02 Nov 2010, 02:07

3. Shou Ji (unregistered)


Wave525 only $160 and Wave 533 only $190 in my country (Indonesia)

posted on 02 Nov 2010, 15:53

4. FrankStraube (unregistered)


My bad, sorry. You are right ! After double checking, 525 have also Wifi but not 3G. Meaning it is a great phone for little money.

posted on 07 Nov 2010, 02:00

5. eiohb (unregistered)


how to sign out in facebook on this mobile samsung wave 525? anybody can help me..thanks!

posted on 21 Aug 2011, 05:27

37. sindhug (unregistered)


On your main menu, look for my accounts. You should see the text social networks, and your facebook account. tap the Facebook account to open it. You should see the delete button on the lower left corner. Once deleted, your account should be logged out.
Hope this helps.

posted on 12 Sep 2011, 08:19

54. balu (unregistered)


ohh kuchu prblm hai kya off karo bus.

posted on 24 Nov 2010, 09:44

6. João Pessoa (unregistered)


Can you guys test the GPS?

posted on 11 Dec 2010, 23:42

7. loacker (unregistered)


why does my phone automatically restarts when i press edit at the menu when i want to organise the applications? can someone please tell me whats happening ):

posted on 11 Dec 2011, 21:00

81. hello2me (Posts: 3; Member since: 11 Dec 2011)


mine does that too, i wonder why ...

posted on 13 Dec 2010, 15:59

8. alecsa (unregistered)


helooo!!! samsung wave 525 can read documents such as word for example?thx

posted on 27 Dec 2010, 14:01

10. ques (unregistered)


does it have pdf file readers?

posted on 03 Jan 2011, 20:15

12. Tresna (unregistered)


This phone supports all documents format such as doc, docx, ppt, pptx, xls, xlsx, and pdf. Please check the phone manual(pdf) at samsung mobile website for sure :)

posted on 09 Jan 2011, 23:48

13. nags (unregistered)


samsung 525 support pdf files too am using it.

its good

posted on 16 Oct 2011, 05:02

77. mammamaa (unregistered)


wingscn

posted on 15 Jan 2011, 07:57

14. anakngtokwaka (unregistered)


does anyone can buy me that phone????




I'm serious and desperate

posted on 23 Jan 2011, 09:59

15. OBAID (unregistered)


does wave 525 have music recognition application?

posted on 25 Jan 2011, 06:42

16. sid4443 (unregistered)


can i use 3G service on my wave 525?

posted on 08 Feb 2011, 07:03

17. amber (unregistered)


no sid u cant use 3g service on wave 525

posted on 11 Oct 2011, 12:07

74. Ismail (unregistered)


3months old Samsung wave 525 for sale with good condition with all accessories (Bill box everything) purchased for 7300, sale for 6000. If interested call on: 7795246765 (Bangalore)

posted on 28 Feb 2011, 06:13

18. MIHIRR (Posts: 1; Member since: 28 Feb 2011)


The Wave 525, 533 and the wave 575 are quite similar phones with some differences while the 3 phones have wifi connectivity in them the wave 533 has a qwerty keypad and the wave 575 has a higher camera power and also 3G connectivity with wifi as well

posted on 24 Mar 2011, 09:00

19. mak (unregistered)


hi guys i hav been luking 4 dis phone ,,,with considering all specification sugest me should i go 4 dis and it has 3G

posted on 30 May 2011, 06:36

26. cpraveen (unregistered)


it has no 3G network...........

posted on 18 Apr 2011, 06:53

20. arvind (unregistered)


can i make video call using this mobile

posted on 25 Apr 2011, 04:14

21. g10000 (unregistered)


does 525 accept third party apps???

posted on 29 Apr 2011, 20:19

22. Renata (unregistered)


Hey,
with this phone can I acess internet without memory problems? I have been reading about Samsung Star II and it seems that it has this kind of problems...

posted on 11 May 2011, 05:12

24. avinash19kausik (unregistered)


hey frnds is that the sound clarity and quality is better then nokia 5233.
and is it easy to type text messages??

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display3.2 inches, 240 x 400 pixels (146 ppi) TFT
Camera3.2 megapixels
Size4.31 x 2.17 x 0.47 inches
(109.5 x 55 x 11.9 mm)
3.53 oz  (100 g)
Battery1200 mAh, 14.6 hours talk time

Latest stories