Students in Texas required to pay $15 to get back cell phones
posted by John V. / Jul 17, 2009, 7:06 PM
source: ABC news via Phonedog
Posts: 742; Member since: Dec 11, 2008
wow... i agree that 15.00 is a bit excessive... but seriously... just don't use your phone in class... dumb kids... I had a professor of geology who said in his syllabus that if your phone went off in class he would smash it with a rock... First day of lecture a phones rang, he asked for a volunteer to get the phone from the student, then paid $10.00 to the volunteer to smash the phone with the rock at his desk... The phone's owner freaked out of course... but everyone laughed. He told the owner to go to the department office for a reimbursement to buy a new one... but no phones ever rang in that class again.
posted on Oct 20, 2010, 1:43 AM 0
Posts: 1; Member since: Jul 17, 2009
Man that is nothing compared to the fine at my high school it is 25 dollars for first time caught and detention and everytime from their it is double....some kid had to pay 100 dollars to get his phone back
posted on Jul 17, 2009, 8:38 PM 0
Posts: 1; Member since: Jul 17, 2009
@ dcfalcon - thats fuckin ridiculous i live in Texas and at my old high school we had the $15 cell phone rule and i am completely against it and so was %90 of the rest of the student body. my first year (first week) in high school i used my phone at lunch cuz i thought i could and sure enough the vice pricapal took it from me and my mom had to pay the $15...she couldnt believe it at first. i understand phones being a distraction in class and all that, but im in collage now and its much better. If you text in class no one cares cuz thats just you missing out on your own education. then if you phone goes off 2 or so times they make you leave class for the day. a much better system, i hated my high school btw :]
posted on Jul 17, 2009, 9:19 PM 0
Posts: 60; Member since: Oct 26, 2008
my highschool just started doing this last year 15 $ a pop.... our school made over 20 thousand dollars which they are putting into books for us for next school year.... i am against it, but i have never been caught... for 2 years never been caught, im a beast lol
posted on Jul 18, 2009, 1:40 AM 0
Posts: 260; Member since: Jan 27, 2009
What's up with Texas lmao
posted on Jul 18, 2009, 8:11 AM 0
Posts: 23; Member since: Dec 11, 2008
whats up with texas is correct, the high school i went to went crazy with that policy too. you werent allowed to use the phone during school hours, so from 8:30am-3:30pm if any staff saw a phone they would confiscated (even if you werent using it). First and second offence was the $10 fine, the third was the fine plus in school suspension, and lastly would be confiscated phone and one day of suspension from school. That really sucked when it happened to me, my parents were pissed off.
posted on Jul 18, 2009, 10:24 AM 0
Posts: 2; Member since: Jul 18, 2009
I live in Louisiana, and at my high school our phones will be taken away for a week the first time we are caught. Our parents are the only ones after that week who can get the phone back after that week. And if you dont want to give up your phone, the schools police officer will step in. You will also get written up for it. thats about it i think. thank god we dont have to pay money to get our phones back, we already shell out five dollars if we get a dress code, or dont have our ID.
posted on Jul 18, 2009, 2:12 PM 0
Posts: 867; Member since: Dec 12, 2008
It's similar here in NC at my high school. If a teacher asks for your phone, they take it to the office and the school keeps it there for 7 days. After those 7 days, a parent or guardian must retrieve your phone. If you refuse to give up your phone, it's an automatic 3 day suspension. This happened to me one. But, since I have AT&T, I take out my SIM card and just insert it into one of my replacement phones. So really...heh, I'm not affected TOO much.
posted on Jul 18, 2009, 5:39 PM 0
Posts: 679; Member since: Jun 22, 2009
oh whatever. 15 bucks isnt that much. at my h.s. its a warning the 1st time, then 10 the 2nd time, then 20 the third. well u better not get to 4. oh ya. and each time a parent has to come and get ur phone back for u. and u get this really long n stupid lecture.
posted on Jul 20, 2009, 1:03 PM 0
Send a warning to post author
Send a warning to Selected user.
The user has 0 warnings currently.
Next warning will result in ban!
Ban user and delete all posts
Message to PhoneArena moderator (optional):