x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson Xperia arc Review

Posted: , by Basil K.

Tags:

Go to page
Sony Ericsson Xperia arc Review
This is a global GSM phone. It can be used with T-Mobile USA and AT&T, but without 3G.

Introduction:


Sony Ericsson Xperia arc Review
It's no secret that the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 was somewhat of a letdown considering it was pegged as the mobile giant's multimedia powerhouse. On paper, it looked great, but the reality was the likes of HTC's Sense UI made Sony Ericsson's Android skin feel more like a beta than a final release. The Sony Ericsson Xperia arc therefore represents a reboot - curvaceously sexy, endowed with a new screen technology and a revised UI, Sony Ericsson hopes it can mend some perceptions the X10 created- and from the offset, the odds are already looking more favourable for Sony Ericsson's new flagship.


Design:

We said it in our introduction - this is a sexy phone. At just 8.7mm in the middle, which gradually becomes 10mm at both ends, it feels waif-like in the hand in the best way possible. Without fail, everybody who held this phone commented on the slickness of design. The arched profile makes it more comfortable to hold and handle and lends to offset the bulk the 4.2” display could potentially lumber the handset with.

The Sony Ericsson Xperia arc has an arched profile that makes it more comfortable to hold - Sony Ericsson Xperia arc Review
The Sony Ericsson Xperia arc has an arched profile that makes it more comfortable to hold - Sony Ericsson Xperia arc Review
The Sony Ericsson Xperia arc has an arched profile that makes it more comfortable to hold - Sony Ericsson Xperia arc Review

The Sony Ericsson Xperia arc has an arched profile that makes it more comfortable to hold


Sony Ericsson Xperia arc Review

You can compare the Sony Ericsson Xperia arc with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The screen is a Super LCD, with 480x854 pixels measuring in at 4.2". In turn, while the resolution isn't going to set the Sony Ericsson arc apart, the fact that it's graced with Sony's BRAVIA engine that the company uses in its award-winning flat screen TVs does. We can attest that there is a difference as photo and video playback is truly bright and vivid, though we nevertheless prefer Super AMOLED, as it enables these vibrant colors anywhere throughout the interface. The display is comfortable to use in the bright outdoors which is great, though viewing angles aren't what we'd hope from a premium screen. Nevertheless, when looked at head-on, the screen delivers a distinctly premium viewing experience.


Under the screen are three thin Android navigational buttons – back, home and menu. They are reminiscent of what we have on the other phones in the Xperia line, and are illuminated, however, their icons aren't, which is somewhat unintuitive. The three keys have a nice rubbery feeling to them when pressed and are very easy to operate.

Under the screen are three thin Android navigational buttons - Sony Ericsson Xperia arc Review
Under the screen are three thin Android navigational buttons - Sony Ericsson Xperia arc Review
Under the screen are three thin Android navigational buttons - Sony Ericsson Xperia arc Review

Under the screen are three thin Android navigational buttons


The Sony Ericsson Xperia arc comes in a “Midnight Blue” and “Misty Silver” version, both of which look stunning. The whole design is made of quality plastic which keeps the weight down, so while not as robust as aluminum unibody handsets for example, the thinness and lightness endows the Sony Ericsson Xperia arc with a huge amount of appeal.

The “Misty Silver” version of Sony Ericsson Xperia arc - Sony Ericsson Xperia arc Review
The “Misty Silver” version of Sony Ericsson Xperia arc - Sony Ericsson Xperia arc Review

The “Misty Silver” version of Sony Ericsson Xperia arc


The camera sensor is placed in  the upper edge on the back - which means you have to be careful not to place your finger over the lens when shooting. Combine that with the rather smallish and somewhat hard to press shutter key on the right near the lower edge, and you definitely need to hold the phone with two hands when taking a picture, unless you use the touchscreen. In addition, there is no front facing camera, which leaves video calls out of the equation.

The back of the Sony Ericsson Xperia arc - Sony Ericsson Xperia arc Review
The back of the Sony Ericsson Xperia arc - Sony Ericsson Xperia arc Review
Camera shutter key - The back of the Sony Ericsson Xperia arc - Sony Ericsson Xperia arc Review
  

Camera shutter key

The back of the Sony Ericsson Xperia arc


The other design element that classes up the Sony Ericsson Xperia arc is the chromed band surrounding it, which encompasses all the rest of the buttons and openings – the volume rocker and microUSB port up right, the 3.5mm audio jack up left, as well as the cover of the microHDMI port and the power/lock button at the very top - which is unfortunately small and takes some getting used to.

The sides of the Sony Ericsson Xperia arc - Sony Ericsson Xperia arc Review
The sides of the Sony Ericsson Xperia arc - Sony Ericsson Xperia arc Review
The sides of the Sony Ericsson Xperia arc - Sony Ericsson Xperia arc Review
The sides of the Sony Ericsson Xperia arc - Sony Ericsson Xperia arc Review

The sides of the Sony Ericsson Xperia arc



Sony Ericsson Xperia arc 360-degrees View:



24 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 06 Apr 2011, 09:09

1. O K (unregistered)


this might very well be my next phone......i gotta w8 till 12th april to see what htc has up its sleeve, when will we see the release date htc pyramid(sensation).

posted on 06 Apr 2011, 10:45 5

2. sak96 (unregistered)


Phonearena, where is the video review??/

posted on 06 Apr 2011, 12:29

3. phbelov (Posts: 122; Member since: 25 Mar 2011)


it's coming i think coz they've already uploaded SE xperia arc video samples on phonearena yt channel.. :)

posted on 06 Apr 2011, 13:18

4. aercy18 (Posts: 1; Member since: 02 Mar 2011)


I don't like SE's android phones for one reason, it's always plasticy. Feels a bit cheap & pale. But the Cam's arguably the best amongst all the android device makers.

posted on 06 Apr 2011, 13:53

5. phbelov (Posts: 122; Member since: 25 Mar 2011)


i agree. and the price's very high at least in Russia :)

posted on 06 Apr 2011, 16:39 1

6. omacalex (unregistered)


I hope you don't own a Samsung phone...just saying.

posted on 07 Apr 2011, 03:59

9. Shubham1401 (Posts: 1; Member since: 07 Apr 2011)


The plastic helps to keep the weight down. 117gm for phone of such size is great. It makes carrying it a whole lot easier.

posted on 06 Apr 2011, 16:54

7. luis_lopez_351 (Posts: 951; Member since: 18 Nov 2010)


the video sample was so smooth my computer lagged a bit x)

posted on 06 Apr 2011, 19:56

8. protozeloz (Posts: 5371; Member since: 16 Sep 2010)


who wants a sexy android phone with a great camera! any hands?

posted on 10 Apr 2011, 14:18

10. HB (unregistered)


I do NOT understand this. The incredible s has a front facing camera, more ram and the htc sense ui(which almost everybody agrees is leaps ahead of any android skin out there). And it gets a 7.5 because it has a dual core processor. And this phone gets a 8.5? Why? Ok it has better looks(big deal..) and android 2.3, but htc incredible will get 2.3 pretty soon. And with sense on 2.2 it probably blows this phones UI out of the water anyways( I watched a few videos, so much of lag..). Seriously sometimes I just cant understand how review sites work

posted on 29 Jul 2011, 08:44

17. megamrambo (Posts: 37; Member since: 19 Jul 2010)


Dude the HTC Incredible S does nit have a dual core CPU. HTC Incredible S is not a bad phone it is just not a compelling phone. It had poor camera performance and overall wasn't to great a difference between the original HTC Incredible.I mean, really? You don't understand how review site work, huh? They reviewed this phone based of of what Sony Ericsson could pack into a 8.5 millimeter body. With the Incredible S, it was mean't to be a replacement for another HTC phone with nearly equivocal specs. And At the time, it was even supposed to replace the Desire HD which phonearena could not see happening. So I hope you understand now... :)

posted on 13 Apr 2011, 05:02

11. John (unregistered)


Hello phonearena!

I have a question. When you will make a review of the new Samsung Galaxy S2?

Greetings!

posted on 18 Apr 2011, 19:32

12. protozeloz (Posts: 5371; Member since: 16 Sep 2010)


I have traveled from the future just to give information
http://www.phonearena.com/reviews/Samsung-Galaxy-S-II-Preview_id2712

posted on 27 Apr 2011, 01:07

13. Matte33 (unregistered)


How can you not review the call app, it´s still a mobile "phone", it´s important to me anyway how the call app is.

posted on 15 Jun 2011, 21:09 1

14. Luffy (unregistered)


Xperia looks + Galaxy S2 specs = perferct phone

posted on 15 Jun 2011, 21:10 1

15. Luffy (unregistered)


Xperia looks + Galaxy S2 specs = perfect phone!

posted on 06 Jul 2011, 04:05 3

16. tushar jaiswal (unregistered)


i've purchased dis fone few days ago and it is d most sexiest one dat I have even seen. . . .its simply awsome, must buy :D :)

posted on 07 Aug 2011, 03:20

18. abanglek (unregistered)


live in ifreak surrounding, using arc for a week. iphone is great but not for tinkerer like me. arc just ok, can be good but can't be great, only after tweaking. i have done sound department (using volume+ to crank tiny ls sound & eq for earphone, using my trusty old cheap sm pl10). i can say my sound now is great, better than iphone, compsrable to my rockbox clip. ui department using go launcher (& go contact to fix t9 absent & more info i can see on contact, eg: note with contact) go launcher not the best, just the fact i can create folder in app drawer & uninstall directly. sound like ios, but yes, it's easy to manage & i don't have to put 10 redundant shortcut for single app on my phone.

now for screen department, i have good news & very bad news. the screen i can say good & you will appreciate when watching movie. the screen also can dimmed enought to be use in almost total dark room (not every phone can do this). but all the goods are only when you look straigh forward to the lcd. the bad news is, even with slight tilt, the screen going up side down, white become brown, black become gray, color become wash & amazingly brown become white. is that important? the situation is, even when you put the phone on table & you need to read something, you're forced to take your phone on hand. when i say bad, it's really bad, just test the phone in your nearest shop & remember what i said. even my old omnia doing good job, this arc is worst. watch sharing & wallpaper show off is big no no to this phone (it's really shame on me).

so it's up to you, the biggest part is if you can live with the lcd. for me, i don't know how to live with this phone for next 1-2 years. when i hate to say samoled is good & ips is great, this reality display is real junk.

posted on 16 Aug 2011, 07:41

19. kitar01 (unregistered)


i have it up to some days...it's awesome.
very good display and camera: the photos are quite near to that of my Sx200 is Canon camera, and also hd video are good.
the display: there is a video on the phone. If you see it on the phone than you compare it seeing it on the pc (i have a Hp w2007v that is really a good monitor) you see no great difference...ok some difference obviously is but not so great.
the battery is good and now for example i have 1 day 1 hour 48' and have 29% of battery power.
i know there are dual core phones but i think what better is for me if this takes to a lower battery life? so i think this is the best compromise up to now.

posted on 29 Aug 2011, 04:59

20. rocky005 (unregistered)


It is good, But no front cam, very delicate back side is not metal its plastic i wont prefer this one...........

posted on 02 Sep 2011, 06:10

21. amas (unregistered)


hey.
do u experience any lag while using this phone ( cause i have the x10 and im experiencing alot of lag )

posted on 26 Sep 2011, 04:15 1

22. User27 (unregistered)


"Single core processor isn't as future-proof". Future is increasingly shorter this time. New phones are coming in day in and day out.If it is enough for today, that's it.

posted on 12 Oct 2011, 07:32

23. chaud (unregistered)


Sony Ericsson Xperia arc or HTC Incredible S?

posted on 15 Dec 2011, 10:32

24. white04004 (Posts: 1; Member since: 15 Dec 2011)


Hah! This will me next phone!

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Sony Ericsson Xperia arc

Sony Ericsson Xperia arc

OS: Android 4.0.4 2.3.3 2.3
view full specs
Display4.2 inches, 480 x 854 pixels (233 ppi) TFT
Camera8.1 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S2 MSM8255, Single core, 1000 MHz, Scorpion processor
Size4.92 x 2.48 x 0.34 inches
(125 x 63 x 8.7 mm)
4.13 oz  (117 g)
Battery1500 mAh, 6.91 hours talk time

Latest stories