x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 Review

Posted: , by Ray S.

Tags:

Go to page
Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 Review
This is a global GSM phone. It can be used with AT&T and T-Mobile USA without 3G.
The American version supports AT&T's 3G network.

Introduction:


Sony Ericsson's Xperia series is probably the manufacturer's most exciting lineup of phones. First, there was the Windows Mobile-powered Xperia X1. Then along came its successor, the X2, as well as the Android-based Xperia X10. We also shouldn't forget those little fellas - the X10 mini and mini pro, which redefined the meaning of compactness. The latest addition to the Xperia lineup is a budget-cautious Android handset, which comes in a stylish outfit - the Sony Ericsson Xperia X8. From first sight, the X8 looks like a pretty decent lightweight smartphone; it has good looks, a passable 3-inch capacitive screen, as well as a pleasant and easy-to-use software. However, does everything the Xperia X8 is capable of come together nicely to form a worthy all-round smartphone package? Let's see!

Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 Review
Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 Review
The package contains:

  • Sony Ericsson Xperia X8
  • Four additional back covers
  • microUSB cable
  • Wall charger
  • 2GB microSD card
  • Wired handsfree
  • User guide


Design:

You might actually mistake the Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 with the X10 mini (or vice versa), if you're just looking at the images, as both handsets look almost identical. In reality though, The X8 shows its superiority by treating you to its 3-inch capacitive LCD screen with resolution of 320x480 pixels - more than enough for this screen size. Because it is a standard TFT (IPS LCD or AMOLED have yet to work their way to the mid- and low-end), viewing angles are now quite as good. Although it should be capable of showing 16 million colors, gradients are far from perfectly smooth. Not that this is all unbearable of course - we can live with it, especially having in mind the flawless touch registration of the capacitive panel. Outdoor visibility isn't a great issue, especially if you have the brightness bumped to the max, but you'll still have to shield the display in extreme situations.

 The Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 is by no means an unattractive phone - Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 Review
 The Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 is by no means an unattractive phone - Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 Review
 The Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 is by no means an unattractive phone - Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 Review

The Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 is by no means an unattractive phone


Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 Review

You can compare the Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

Below the screen you can find the mandatory Menu, Home and Back keys that are totally in the style of Xperia Andorid phones, meaning chrome-like, adding to the stylish appearance of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X8. The right side is where the volume rocker and one-step camera shutter (the 3.2MP camera lacks autofocus) are situated, and on the top you have the power/lock key, microUSB port and a standard 3.5mm headset jack.

Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 Review
Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 Review
Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 Review
Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 Review


The Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 is by no means an unattractive phone. Quite the contrary, it is one of the better looking Androids out there. Well, to tell you the truth, the body has a slight cheap feel to it, mostly due to the plastic rear cover. However, rear covers are also a strong point of the X8, because you can easily replace these with other color variants. All in all, the Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 is a very elegant device, to say the least.

The back covers of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 - Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 Review

The back covers of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X8




Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 360-degree View:


18 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 04 Nov 2010, 01:34

1. Gautam_K (unregistered)


Why did SE demotioned camera??? And FIXED focused?
X8 could be the ideal and best mid range Android pone, but camera spoils the party.
I want to buy this one, but camera prevents me to do so.
Hope SE will clear their mistake in next version, May be in X9!

posted on 25 Aug 2011, 13:37

13. boi (unregistered)


f**ku

posted on 25 Sep 2011, 08:43 1

17. lal (unregistered)


are you numbnutz? that phone is a low range phone!

posted on 05 Nov 2010, 10:57

2. Calvin Foo (unregistered)


@Gautam_K
Why you so worry about the camera quality? If you want camera, use a regular compact camera for it. If you want good quality, use DSLR.

Camera is the last thing you should worry about when buying a phone, because you are buying a PHONE, not a camera

posted on 07 Nov 2010, 21:35

3. saurav anuraj (unregistered)


i like this phone....everything is ok but android 1.6 is not ok,i m confused between htc wildfire nd xperia x8.wildfire has 2.1 but not a good resolution screen plz help

posted on 14 Nov 2010, 03:21

4. Karthik (unregistered)


@Calvin Foo [Camera is the last thing you should worry about when buying a phone, because you are buying a PHONE, not a camera]

If people want just a phone, they can always go for the ones with basic features which cost around INR 1,000-1,500. When we are shelling out huge bucks for mobiles, no wrong in bothering about the quality of camera it offers.

posted on 14 Nov 2010, 03:24

5. Karthik (unregistered)


@ Saurav Anuraj [i like this phone....everything is ok but android 1.6 is not ok,i m confused between htc wildfire nd xperia x8.wildfire has 2.1 but not a good resolution screen plz help]

Xperia X8's Android 1.6 is gonna get an update to Android 2.1, I guess. Just wait for a few weeks.

posted on 02 Dec 2010, 04:39

6. OverRatedChild (unregistered)


I agree with both Gautum and Calvin_Foo. Sort of.
I wish there was a better camera, or maybe an LED Flash. But it doesn't make the phone bad. I like this phone, I spent nothing on it with my new 2-year contract (or its cheap without anyway). SO I have a decent camera for the occasional shot, Android 2.1 now onboard and loads of apps. For a camera, from the 400 something dollars I saved from not getting the X10 (8mp camera with LED Fllash),
I went and bought myself a 12mp camera with Full 1080p HD recording. No need for me to whine bout the phone cam.
Only complaint tho ( not a big one), is that there is no LED FLash. My Old NOKIA had an LED Flash. I mean, It doesn't cost Sony more than a Buck to add an LED Flash.
Oh well, good phone either way.

posted on 13 Jan 2011, 01:58

7. sharath (unregistered)


i lost my 3.5 mm jack headset.
is the original one available in market.,,?
it will be helpful if you can tell me the cost...?

posted on 06 Feb 2011, 11:30

8. prossphere (unregistered)


i heard abt some software problem in x8,wat abt htc aria

posted on 22 Mar 2011, 17:50

9. fpry (unregistered)


If the talktime is 4 hours does that mean even when it's in your pocket it will last only for four hours

posted on 05 Jul 2011, 13:31

10. angel 2011 (unregistered)


你好, 想请问x8为什么写不到华文信息?能不能教教我?

posted on 02 Aug 2011, 01:00

11. tanongbh (unregistered)


Press and hold longer at the white space for writing text,
the menu for input method will appear for selection.
I try for very long to find out too...

posted on 23 Aug 2011, 19:29

12. Linlin (unregistered)


你好, 想请问x8为什么写不到华文信息?能不能教教我?

posted on 10 Sep 2011, 01:46

14. x8 owner (unregistered)


i buyed it with pre instaled 2.1 and it works great.And if you have doubts about the processor speed dont worry it works pretty fast.I recommend it to everyone

posted on 20 Sep 2011, 03:14

15. shandmaster (unregistered)


right bitches. what the actual f**k is going on with this s**tey wee phone????? had this phone less than 3/4 of a year and already i am looking at new phones to buy. the sony ericcson WILL BE AVOIDED this time!!! had enough of your pishy wee phones that hardly ever f**king work! had important messages on my phone, it decided to delete them for no transparent reason. the phone freezes all the time, it sometimes decides it doesnt want to recieve messages, it sometimes doesnt send messages! the list goes on as to how f**king unsatisfied i am with the sony ericsson! i have had one of your other phones before, and had the exact same problems. money isnt exactly an easy thing to come by these days, and any money i do have will not be spent on your s**t products. good f**king day to you :@:@@@:@:@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

posted on 24 Sep 2011, 01:48

16. crisanta (unregistered)


ooooohh!!hoooo!!! to much f**king,,,, next time don't but telephone, okay!

posted on 26 Sep 2011, 02:14

18. shine (unregistered)


can this x8 read or write in mandarin?

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display3.0 inches, 320 x 480 pixels (192 ppi) TFT
Camera3.2 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S1 MSM7227, Single core, 600 MHz, ARM11 processor
Size3.90 x 2.13 x 0.59 inches
(99 x 54 x 15 mm)
3.67 oz  (104 g)
Battery1200 mAh, 4.75 hours talk time

Latest stories