x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad

Go to page
Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad
Introduction:

It is the end of 2010, and Samsung has just outed its first tablet computer, the Galaxy Tab. Its purpose, apart from making lots of money for the company, is to compete with Apple's groundbreaking iPad - a product that managed to single-handedly initiate a brand new personal computer market. Many were skeptical about the iPad's success in the long run, but as it seems the device is still facing strong demand, which also becomes apparent through the multiple other companies hurrying up to deliver their own tablets to the market.

In this comparison, we'll focus on the two strongest opponents right now, namely the Samsung Galaxy Tab and the Apple iPad. Both seem to have their own chances to emerge victorious, but let's first take a more in-depth look at their capabilities in order to have an accurate judgment as to which one could be called the best tablet for the time being.


Design:

A usual point of controversy, the design of a product is one of the main attractors for would-be buyers. Put both tablets in front of you and it will not be long before you realize how different they are. Clearly, if compactness is on your mind, then the Galaxy Tab will most probably fit the bill, as it's also significantly lighter. Without a doubt, the Galaxy Tab is a much easier device to handle, which is obviously its biggest advantage from design point of view.

Samsung Galaxy Tab next to Apple iPad - Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad
Samsung Galaxy Tab next to Apple iPad - Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad
Samsung Galaxy Tab next to Apple iPad - Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad

Samsung Galaxy Tab next to Apple iPad


On the other hand, the materials that Apple has utilized are of noticeably higher quality. Instead of plastic, the iPad relies on an all-metal back, which feels quite sturdy, although easy to slip out of your hands.

Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad
Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad
Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad
Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad

Being compact though has its drawbacks. For example, if you are significantly smaller than the iPad, then you simply cannot fit its 9.7" screen. That's just the case with the Samsung Galaxy Tab and its 7-inch LCD display. There's no need to tell you that when it comes to screens, bigger is always better, as long as it's not too big, of course. Naturally, both tablets pack some contemporary display technologies, and honestly, we didn't find much of a difference between the iPad's IPS LCD and the Galaxy Tab's TFT LCD. There might be a slight advantage to the iPad's viewing angles, but that's as far as it goes. Both tablets are hardly usable under bright sunlight, with neither managing to excel.

Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad
Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad
Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad
Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad

Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad
Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad
Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad
Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad

When it comes to resolution, both devices have pretty similar characteristics, which means an overall higher pixel density for the Samsung tablet. That said, the iPad isn't too far behind as it still manages to deliver a more than satisfying image detail.

Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad
Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad
Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad
When it comes to resolution, both Samsung Galaxy Tab (left) and Apple iPad (right) have pretty similar characteristics - Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad
When it comes to resolution, both Samsung Galaxy Tab (left) and Apple iPad (right) have pretty similar characteristics - Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad
When it comes to resolution, both Samsung Galaxy Tab (left) and Apple iPad (right) have pretty similar characteristics - Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad

When it comes to resolution, both Samsung Galaxy Tab (left) and Apple iPad (right) have pretty similar characteristics


Conceived as a more of an all-in-one device than strictly a tablet computer, the Samsung Galaxy Tab manages to squeeze in a 3.2MP AF camera plus a front-facing one for eventual video chats - features that are sorely missing from the current-generation iPad.

That's pretty much all there's to know about the different design approaches taken with both tablets. We like both of them and we can't say which one is the winner here, since it's really a matter of personal preference whether you'd like a larger screen or a more compact device.

Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad
Top - Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad
Bottom - Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad
 

Top

Bottom

Left - The sides of Apple iPad - bellow and Samsung Galaxy Tab - above - Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad
Right - The sides of Apple iPad - bellow and Samsung Galaxy Tab - above - Samsung Galaxy Tab vs Apple iPad

Left

Right

The sides of Apple iPad - bellow and Samsung Galaxy Tab - above


22 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 12 Nov 2010, 12:37 3

1. remixfa (Posts: 13902; Member since: 19 Dec 2008)


typica PA crap. "The price is where the iPad delivers its final punch, as the Galaxy Tab ended up pretty similarly priced, which is downright frustrating for a device that does less."

Really?
How did the Ipad do in the camera, calling, adobe flash, and video codec compatabilty and wide angle viewing?
oh.. it didnt.. it cant.. it doesnt even have the features.

so what does the ipad do that the tab cant again? besides have a fat shiney apple logo on it and an extra 6 months or so of App development time? How many apps were made for the ipad when it came out? yea, none. Yet you dont compare that to the Tab, you compare 6-8 months of development time. As always, quite honest and fair when it comes to apple products.

And i dont know about most people, but I'd take a browser that lags a little bit but can pull up my school website, than a browser that may be uberduber smooth, but cant. dont see ya getting too much school work done on an ipad.. lol.

posted on 10 Feb 2011, 21:16

23. karf (unregistered)


I have to disagree on you on something: THat NO apps where made for the iPad at launch? Maybe so. BUT lets not forget that the iPad can run almost every single iPod touch and iPhone app there is. So yeah, beat that...

posted on 12 Nov 2010, 14:27

2. Misanthropos (Posts: 56; Member since: 03 Aug 2010)


if somebody wanted to put an Android device in their pocket, they'd get a phone.

posted on 13 Nov 2010, 19:14 3

6. Thump3rDX17 (Posts: 2160; Member since: 10 May 2010)


if that's the case then why would somebody want an oversized iPhone?

posted on 05 Jan 2011, 20:13

21. reggstar (unregistered)


A person who wants an OVER SIZED PHONE is A person who doesn't want to pay 3 times for darn internet service. Don't you think it would be smart to have a SIM CARD SPOT in the Tablet for those really Smart people who like to save a buck. By the way who wants to carry a cell phone, laptop, and a Tablet or iPad at the same time?

posted on 12 Nov 2010, 19:31

3. Spokeless (unregistered)


How about, What is the incentive for me to get the Samsung Tab, When i already have a Fascinate or epic.. lol its a whoping 3 inches bigger, which is actually a unique Size. Since the Device is 7 inches it doesn't distinguish how to hold it. When you put the device down you will notice that the qwerty is just to small to do the good ol fasion 2 hand fast type, yes theres swype for the keyboard, but since it bumped up to seven inches swype is not needed concidering its quicker to just type a letter then to drag your finger all the way across the screen (Using the Tab Sideways Atleast). Yes the iphone when put down can be used with your 2 hands typing and also since it is 10 inches it makes me feel better that i just spent 600 dollars on something substantially bigger. Also the Ipad forces you yes to hold it like a note book where you would lean it on your forearm but if you hold the Tab with one hand its quite uncomfortable Maybe just my hand but it was cramping after like 5 minutes. Also the Camera on the Tab is pathetic lol thanks for making a statement Samsung lol both of the Cameras on the Tab doesn't even add up to my 5mp camera on my Fascinate. Lol great little thing but no incentive for me to spend that much money on something remotely the same. Get the Ipad on verizon and get a verizon droid and get the best of both Worlds!

posted on 12 Nov 2010, 19:40

4. nibblix (unregistered)


Adobe flash........ Non issue! Apple will buy Adobe and flash will quietly fade into the history books. I only hope Microsoft and Google aren't to slow to react!!

posted on 13 Nov 2010, 11:59

5. mon (unregistered)


"-There might be a slight advantage to the iPad's viewing angles,"

The picture clearly shows that the Samsung Galaxy Tab has clearer viewing angles. It's not even close.

posted on 14 Nov 2010, 15:36 1

8. fair and balance (unregistered)


obviously the person who wrote this article is showing favorable bias toward the apple ipad. Com'on really dude. Very obvious. Both tablets are great products. I have seen both first hand. It really comes down to preference when picking between these two great products. If you like web browsing(flash player) and sharing photos, the samsung tablet would be your pick. If you want something that is not complicated and fairly easy to use pick the apple tablet. The products are both equally priced, so there is no debating in this category. Overall, be a smart consumer when picking between the two. Dont pick a product because of its name or popularity.

posted on 18 Nov 2010, 10:04

14. ajac09 (Posts: 1358; Member since: 30 Sep 2009)


its phone arena they get stiffys for apple products and Tmobile.

posted on 14 Nov 2010, 23:11 1

9. bempey (unregistered)


The reviewer's Apple bias really showed in what *wasn't* compared.
So, memory is filling up, what's the option?
On the Samsung, stuff in a uSD card.
On the Apple ... well, for another $100 Jobs will sell you a device with $10- more chips in it.
I bought an iPad months ago to demo a product at tradeshows. Its barely functional for limited applications like that, but even there it failed. If you leave it for a minute the screen blanks AND it loses its Wifi connection. At my cabin (where there is NO other wireless in range ... which is extremely short on the iPad) it re-connects quickly. At the show, with a dozen signals in range, it took an eternity. Up to 100 seconds to connect, by which time my prospective customer is a booth or 2 down the aisle.
Oh, if your hot-spot is NOT an Apple product, but one of your neighbors IS then you're hosed. The iPad will always try connecting to an Apple Wifi router before any other, even if the other is the one that you configured as default.
(speaking of which, I've reset the Network settings many times because it completely lacks many of the common configuration items that any "real" computer offers)
I've owned the iPad for a half year and its now collecting dust. Its the most annoying piece of tech I've ever used, and has the worst wireless Internet signal reception of any product that I've encountered. And with 25+ years of designing embedded computer products, I've encountered quite a few.
PS: Its great for watching YouTube videos.
If you want to spend $600 to watch you-tube, have I got a deal for you!

posted on 15 Nov 2010, 05:48 1

10. headon.collision (Posts: 1; Member since: 15 Nov 2010)


who ever wrote this review is obviously one-sided to the ipad, cuz no matter what his trying to hide the ipad disadvantages and not fully show the samsung galaxy advantages, and yes size really matter, thats the whole point of buying atablet. am not hating on the ipad or anything, just give other companies achance to show what they have to offer. cuz i`ve known some people who are totally blind folded by this apple fever and are refusing to take alook at any other thing that is not produced by apple. i`ve had several ipods in my past and these products are very sensitive and can`t handle rough treatment as other companies products do. such as sony walkman and creative mp3. same thing applies to notebooks. yes the looks and the features are so appealing but if it can`t handle day by day durability then i rather go look somewhere else.

posted on 16 Nov 2010, 03:06 1

11. blueFox (Posts: 9; Member since: 29 May 2008)


The review is obviously biased -- towards the Apple device. You can read it between the lines. Examples:

"...the Samsung Galaxy Tab manages to squeeze in a 3.2MP AF camera plus a front-facing one ... features that are sorely missing from the current-generation iPad... We like both of them and we can't say which one is the winner..."

"...iOS may be a bit more conventional ... but this hides an obvious advantage ... it's extremely easy to learn and use. If there has to be a tablet that you should just pick up and go, it's definitely the Apple iPad..."

"...the Galaxy Tab can play files in all popular formats in up to HD 720p resolution without a hitch, which is great, as it will save you the time that you'll otherwise have to spend converting videos for the iPad. On the other hand, the Apple iPad has the larger screen, which automatically makes the experience more enjoyable..."

"...the iPad may lack Flash Player 10.1 support ... If you're intent on exploiting the browser heavily, we'd recommend that you stick with the iPad... If it's only the videos you want, Skyfire 2.0 is well on its way to the Apple tablet and it will easily remedy the situation."

posted on 16 Nov 2010, 20:04 1

12. chris (unregistered)


this guy is clearly an apple fanboy. Dont base your buying decisions on this guys review.He knows nothing about Android.

posted on 16 Nov 2010, 22:20

13. skokie8bali (unregistered)


I hope that this guy dose not post any more reviews because if he knew anything about apple he would know that they get there ideas from linux and lets not forget when apple finally came out with multitasking for the iphone android had that way way before and as far as the app store who cares about the 300,000 apps if i owned an iphone and i did a few years ago i did not use 299,950 of them. so please stop making apple the overpriced peace of s#$t it really is.

posted on 18 Nov 2010, 10:06

15. ajac09 (Posts: 1358; Member since: 30 Sep 2009)


yeah worse review ever fire this guy horrible article

posted on 20 Dec 2010, 14:16

16. mcoope37 (unregistered)


i can't believe the article didn't include the fact that ipad only works with a wifi connection while the galaxy tab can use 3g connections (with a service charge of course). this is a major advantage to the galaxy tab and would be one of the greatest reasons why i would choose it over the ipad. it is good to see these kind of reviews, but please include all the facts and do not include any biases toward a product if you want the readers to take it seriously.

posted on 21 Dec 2010, 00:16

17. trongone (unregistered)


actually mcoope37 i believe both are 3g compatible.

posted on 10 Feb 2011, 00:51

22. Jay (unregistered)


mcoope37: you must be smoking your socks...each variety of the iPad has a 3g option.

posted on 02 Jan 2011, 15:53

18. DroidDrools (unregistered)


Thank you for an un-biased review. Many of these comments are obviously Android fanboys. The iPad is much smoother, doesn't use the slow and buggy Adobe Flash, is much easier to use, much easier to view videos on, has many more apps to use, and isn't full of Android's slow-as-molasses operating system.

posted on 05 Jan 2011, 19:59

20. ghost_uwi (Posts: 47; Member since: 05 Nov 2010)


i have an android and apple device, apple IOS is way more polished and superior. Android is also a great operating system but IOS is just much more polished experience.

posted on 16 Feb 2011, 10:02

24. Guest (unregistered)


Are you kidding me? This author is no critic. He/she is an Apple Fan. The only thing that Apple's product is famous for is because of their app store, and their design. Thats all. Thats all.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories