x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

LG Optimus L9 T-Mobile User Reviews

8 Based on 4 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed6.5/10
Camera6.8/10
Multimedia7.3/10
Internet8.3/10
Call quality9.3/10
Battery6.5/10
Reception8/10
Display8.5/10
Build quality8.8/10
Text input8/10
Everyday usage8/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

BladedAlex12
posted on 02 Mar 2015, 08:04 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Mar 2015)

6

It technically works...

BladedAlex12 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This phone is basically a wreck. I've had to use it because it was all i had and for that reason i'm trying to give it the highest score possible. At first this phone keeps up with the usual tasks that any smart phone would go through but after a bit it became an aggravating mess. The design of the phone isn't half bad and looks decent. The display isn't to bad even for it's low specs. It is also pretty durable and the LCD hasn't cracked. It'll uphold scratches but it's important to get a screen protector. It takes a good amount of physical stress and holds up nicely but as takes a turn for the worse as you actually try and use it for any purpose. While at the home screen it seems to transition well while any apps aren't running. Sometimes it'll open apps rather quickly but if the running apps aren't monitored closely it'll soon act laggy and irregular. As the phone is used longer and longer these issues show up even more until even trying a simple text message can turn into a 5 minute problem. No matter how much i took care of this phone it just seems to degrade so quickly over time. Now i've gone through 3 of these phones (because i had a warranty) and it hasn't been from improper use either. I take good careful care with all devices but it seems like this phone has been made horribly. Having to often restart this device is annoying and even more annoying since it'll refuse to use it's 4G data and sometimes not receive text messages. It's sad when phones from a year before and...  

Build quality 8/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 4/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 7/10
Display 6/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • SD Card Slot
  • Decent Display
  • It'll Work just not well

Cons

  • Almost Everything

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

steventechno
posted on 11 Jan 2015, 22:44 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 Jan 2015)

7

Had it for awhile...

steventechno has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

It was pretty good at first, It ran with decent performance, It could have been faster, but it was good enough. Lately, the OS horrible designs are starting to catch up, Apps need more RAM then they did then. the OS has lots of ongoing stuff in the background, causes the OS to perform worse to even Older less capable devices running CM11. This would normally be fixable but the Locked bootloader makes this impossible, and something you have to put up with until you pony up cash for a whole new system.

Build quality 9/10 I dropped this guy a few times, Punched it, slammed against tables and the ground. suprisingly it's still functional outside the 3.5MM jack which is now defunct.
Reception 7/10 T-Mobile's network is pretty spotty. There will be times where it just cuts off completely, though compared to other phones on the same network, This one seems to be able to retain signal minus internet while other's are out entirely.
Call quality 10/10 Rarely had problems concerning Calls, this is one of the redeeming qualities of this phone.
Internet 7/10 Internet browsing is mostly so-so. Nothing impressive, but it gets the job done.
Multimedia 6/10 Music suffers frequent "Pauses" while playing. Video playback works fine for the most part, but can be taxing on the hardware.. Watch out for battery life!
Camera 6/10 Camera is mostly so-so. Not too bad but not great. It can handle up to 1080 Video which though I don't have any 1080p monitors I can never truly tell the clarity of the videos. Stills are variable but are mostly so-so at best.
UI speed 2/10 Poorly designed firmware, YEARS out of date. Being unable to flash over to a REAL version of android doesn't help this at all.
Everyday usage 6/10 While it isn't fast by any means, it's still somewhat usable, think of that old PC you are using Windows XP on with 512mb of RAM. It will only get you so far, and gets overwhelmed too easily, That's this phone's performance. It will run fair if used Extremely lightly, Don't expect much from this phone. Also Stock you get very little Storage. LG has a habbit of binding android's System storage to user space, so Don't save ANYTHING into the "internal SD" because there isn't one. The good thing dispite overwhelmed performance is at least it doesn't lock up often, that's quite a feat for something that's overloaded.
Text input 6/10 While the stock keyboard works Okay, I use swype in it's place. though what time i DID use Stock, it seemed to work fair as long as i was PRECISE and took my time with it. I don't have the patience, LG really wants you to take it slow using their products apparently.
Display 10/10 The ONLY good thing about this phone. The display is excellent, can take a bit of a beating and still survive.
Battery 5/10 Battery life is so-so. It can survive a day at work with Local music playing all day, but it'll be almost dead by the time you get back.

Pros

  • Nice Display
  • Slim design
  • Android
  • Not hard to root

Cons

  • Outdated OS
  • Can be extremely SLOW
  • Locked Bootloader
  • Limited storage

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

becca1
posted on 22 Jan 2014, 00:08 (Posts: 0; Member since: 21 Jan 2014)

9

Good budget phone

becca1 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I've had this phone for almost a year. The phone runs pretty smooth,its fast at opening apps and switching between task.The camera is not the greatest but I have got some really nice pics from it.The phone is however lacking in memory,only 4gb of internal memory .Apps can not be moved to sd card without rooting the phone.(I rooted mine)Overall this is a great phone if your on a budget like me.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

beara
posted on 18 Nov 2013, 18:32 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 Feb 2013)

10

Awesome phone

beara has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I've had several Androids... including the Motorola Droid RAZR MAXX, HTC Droid Incredible, and HTC Wildfire S and this one can definetly compete with my RAZR. It has a large screen, crystal clear impeccable graphics, fast processor. I'm not a phone whiz but this one is a good deal in my opinion. Not sure how reliable it will be since I haven't had it long, but I've had LG phones in the past and they were good quality phones so I'm hoping this will be the same. The only thing I don't like about the phone is it doesn't have a lot of internal storage or the option to move apps to your SD card. It says it has 4 gb's but almost 1/2 of that is wasted with a bunch of junk apps that come with the phone and you can't delete them either.

Build quality 9/10 Very light weight, almost too light! And I'm not too fond of the missing search button.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 Photo's come out blurry unless you tap the screen first.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10 So easy to use. Also easy to customize to make it even easier to use.
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10 Ehhh... it has your average smart phone battery life.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy Accessories

Latest stories