Sonim XP5 User Reviews

5.3 Based on 3 Reviews

Overall user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage2.7/10
UI speed5/10
Camera2.3/10
Multimedia4.3/10
Internet2.7/10
Call quality5/10
Battery8/10
Reception6/10
Display4.3/10
Build quality8/10
Text input3.7/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

10033859
posted on 15 Aug 2016, 20:23 (Posts: 31; Member since: 29 Jun 2016)

9

Not bad!

10033859 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Everyone hates this phone because its not "smart" aparently they only use smart phones because they themselves arnt smart.

For what its made for, this is a incredible phone. Its made to be literally unbreakable, never need charging, and to work good with a buisnesses need for PTT.

Well i went swimming for 4 hours with it in my pocket, and ive dropped it from 15+ feet showing off, and i left it in the Texan 102F weather, and it was so hot i couldnt touch it, It didnt seem to care.. at all... it worked fine and i left it in my freezer overnight so fine there too.

I dont really use PTT but i know it works great with a very long range, nothing else to say. It comes over the loudspeaker(s) when i do.

Build quality: It feels like a huge heavy rubber/plastic brick. Not much else to say, it feels great to me.

Reception: Incredible range, I can go out farther into the woods when my s5 active has no bars this thing literally has 5/6 still...
Call quality: Medium, but the earpiece is louder then most..
Internet: Well its 4G LTE, so thats very fast, but as far as the web browser, its not that good being a 2.7" non-touch screen..
Multimedia: Id say one of the best honestly.. Call me crazy but listen. This phone has 2 x 2 watt front facing speakers... If your not a audio expert, then the speaker in a s5 is .8 watts.. Iphone 5s? .7.. This thing has dual 2 watt speakers, on the front, not the side bottom or back.. Its louder then my bluetooth speaker, and can be heard in almost any condition.....  

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 4/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 5/10
Display 8/10
Battery 10/10

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

canadaphone2000
posted on 13 Apr 2018, 02:57 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Apr 2018)

5

It certainly is a phone

canadaphone2000 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I use these phones for work, as a substitute for real radios. the XP5 is the back up for the XP7.
When using it moslty for the PTT functions the XP5 blows the XP7 out of the water, which isnt saying much as the XP7 is awful for PTT functionality.
The XP5 is build solidly enough and feels neigh unbreakable.
Call quality isn't anything to right home about and it works decently enough as a cellphone.

If you wanted a simple, no frills phone this would be awesome. If you're going into it hoping for a solid PTT device this isn't the worst thing you can buy, but I would imagine you could also do better.

Build quality 10/10 Phone is built
Reception 7/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 4/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 5/10
Display 4/10 It
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Can't break it
  • Battery lasts forever

Cons

  • Can't break it
  • PTT functons are garbage
  • UI is a tad clunky
  • Accessories hard to come by

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tomhorn
posted on 14 Oct 2015, 02:25 (Posts: 0; Member since: 14 Oct 2015)

2

sonim smart not smart

tomhorn has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I have an Enduro made by Sonim. They call it a Smarthphone when it is the most user unfriendly piece of any kind of equipmement I ever have owned. Don't even waste the time looking and there not so tough either I already can't read the display. Never could in the daylight. Sure wish I had me little freebie Samsung back.

Build quality 5/10
Reception 1/10
Call quality 1/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 1/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 1/10
Display 1/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • none

Cons

  • can't read , drops calls,no time on messages

2 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories