Samsung Galaxy Stellar User Reviews Back

Overall user rating

7.0

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed
7.0
Camera
4.8
Multimedia
7.6
Internet
8.4
Call quality
8.0
Battery
7.6
Reception
7.8
Display
7.8
Build quality
7.2
Text input
7.2
Everyday usage
7.8
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

Neo_Huang posted on Apr 18, 2014, 9:21 PM
Posts: 1067; Member since: Dec 06, 2013

5.0

Eh... Good for a free on contract phone

Neo_Huang has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This was my first smartphone. Its pretty good for its price, but if you want a good, cheap phone then get the Moto G, which is much better and is (or was) $50.00 off contract at Best Buy. This phone's overall performance is just "ehh" and the camera is horrible. You only get 1.5 Gb of usable storage. Well, at least it has an easily removable battery and an SD card slot.

Build quality
3.0
Glossy plastic, fingerprint magnet, screen covered in oil, easily chipped, back cover comes off when dropped, and screen is easily scratched.
Reception
6.0
Its OK. That's all I have to say.
Call quality
6.0
So-So.
Internet
4.0
Its pretty laggy because of the outdated processor and the one G of ram. The pixel density is bad so you have to zoom in to read small text.
Multimedia
6.0
The screen is only 480P and the processor is bad. Some music and casual games should be fine.
Camera
2.0
Its horrible, even for a 3.2 MP sensor, plus it lacks flash and has VERY bad video recording quality.
UI speed
4.0
Really slow to begin with, and TouchWiz makes it even laggier.
Everyday usage
6.0
Good for calling, texting, and social media as well as some music and light games.
Text input
6.0
The 4 inch screen size makes the keyboard cramped.
Display
5.0
4 inches, but only 480 P so it has a horrible pixel density.
Battery
7.0
The battery used to last 2 days a charge for me. It has a low pixel count and a slow processor so it doesn't take that much battery.

Pros

  • Removable battery
  • Micro-SD card slot

Cons

  • Bad pics
  • Bad video recording
  • No flash
  • Bad build quality
  • Only 1.5 GB of usable storage
  • Low pixel density
  • Slow, outdated processor
  • Only 1 GB of Ram

Neo_Huang alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

traumingelb posted on Aug 05, 2014, 3:42 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Aug 05, 2014

2.0

Never again.

traumingelb has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This was my first smart device--got it almost two years ago when I was just getting into things. It was great at first, mostly because I was barely even scratching what I could do with a smartphone; I could use Facebook and Tumblr and play some Candy Crush, which is all I really wanted to do at the time. It quickly became an issue, though, mostly because I wanted to actually /do/ things with it. Though the device comes with 4GB of internal memory, most of it is filled with bloatware that nobody ever wants to use, and it leaves you with less than 2GB of it. Long story short, I tried/failed to root the phone, it broke, and I managed to get an early upgrade to an S3.
Don't get this phone if you can.

Build quality
5.0
Reception
7.0
Call quality
7.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
3.0
Camera
4.0
Quality is decent, but there's no flash.
UI speed
3.0
Everything tended to run slowly or lag once you installed more than four or five apps.
Everyday usage
4.0
It got things done, but if you wanted to do more than check your e-mail, call, and text, don't expect it to help.
Text input
3.0
The on-screen keyboard is fine, but it lags.
Display
4.0
Tiny, slightly row-resolution screen.
Battery
4.0
Battery would drain quickly if you were actually doing anything with your phone.

Pros

  • 4GB internal storage.
  • Camera can take decent photos.

Cons

  • Most internal storage is filled with bloatware.
  • Camera lacks a flash.

Is this review helpful?

Report

eribear96 posted on Jun 25, 2013, 2:28 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jun 25, 2013

10.0

The best smartphone I have ever owned.

eribear96 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have had this phone for about two months and it's safe to say that it is a pretty solid, fast and powerful phone. The phones only major problem is the rear camera. The rear camera takes pretty bad photos and the phone having no flash doesn't help. The phone is very fast going from app to app. I would recommend getting swiftkey in the play store because the keyboard on this phone feels pretty cramped. Android 4.1 is great on this device and it's nice knowing I am somewhat up to date with the latest version. I love the phones display, it isn't to big or to small. The resolution isn't the best, but it's nice enough to read text on the browser and throughout the phone. The PPI is great also for reading text, so you know you won't have a really pixelated look to the screen. So overall this is a wonderful phone, I would definitely recommend it to someone who is a first time android user or already a user.

Build quality
9.0
Very nice design, but hardware buttons are to close to each other.
Reception
10.0
Everywhere I go, I have 3g or 4g lte.
Call quality
10.0
Very clear voice in and out.
Internet
10.0
Excellent browsing experience.
Multimedia
10.0
Many apps to choose from at the Play Store.
Camera
4.0
Camera isn't really worth using. No flash is a huge bummer.
UI speed
9.0
Very fast, but sometimes a little slow.
Everyday usage
10.0
Very useful and user friendly.
Text input
9.0
Samsung touchwiz keyboard was horrible but swiftkey saved me from all the hassle,
Display
10.0
Excellent sized display that is very clear for text and other things.
Battery
7.0
Battery life is good with normal use but gaming and music really will bring it down fast.

Pros

  • Fast
  • Lots of apps to choose from
  • Great design
  • Wonderful display
  • Light
  • Small enough for one hand use
  • User friendly

Cons

  • Horrible camera
  • No flash
  • Bad pre-installed keyboard
  • Bad battery life with heavy use

eribear96 alternatives:

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

victor1997 posted on Oct 28, 2012, 9:16 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 18, 2012

9.0

looks good

victor1997 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i haven't gotten the phone but it looks pretty good to me. 1.2 GHz snapdragon processor . but i'm not too crazy about the 3.2 megapixel camera...its even worse because it has no flash...im kinda disappointed on that ....im going to swich from metro pcs to Verizon

Build quality
10.0
Reception
7.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
6.0
its 3.2mp with no flash...
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • fast
  • battery
  • big screen

Cons

  • call qulity
  • camera

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

countrygurl posted on Oct 01, 2012, 9:27 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Oct 01, 2012

9.0

lovee it

countrygurl has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I haven't had any problems with this phone yet. I wish the camera was better. Battery lifeI awesome. I am overall impressed with this phone. I love that I can get 4G. The internet is very fast and I can have several pages open at the same time.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
7.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
8.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless