Samsung Galaxy A8 (2018) User Reviews

8.5 Based on 2 Reviews

Overall user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed7.5/10
Camera8.5/10
Multimedia8.5/10
Internet8/10
Call quality9/10
Battery9.5/10
Reception6.5/10
Display9/10
Build quality8.5/10
Text input8.5/10
Everyday usage8/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

hjl2345
posted on 01 Oct 2018, 07:53 (Posts: 32; Member since: 11 Aug 2018)

8

A somewhat solid mid-ranger

hjl2345 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I've had this phone for about 9 months. I moved from an iPhone 7 because the experience was horrible during the early iOS 11. Had really short battery life, non-existent ram and the overall iOS experience did not suit me very well.

For anyone that lives in South Korea, a Samsung phone or a LG phone basically has the most practical features in a smartphone compared to an iPhone or a Sony phone. iPhones are pretty popular, but lack of Apple pay and official Apple care plus support was the reason why I gave up using an iPhone.

With this A8, I can pay almost anything with Samsung pay, even public transits. It has a somewhat decent camera, but don't expect anything during low light as the phone's pro mode is pretty weak and it has no OIS. Design-wise it is just a watered down S9. Nothing too fancy or anything but gets the job done. Really hope there was wireless charging but oh well.

Performance is okay for me, I only use messengers, web browsing and some phonecalls and music (headphone jack is a real plus coming from an iPhone 7)but sometimes with a lackluster AP and a eMMC, you can feel the phone sometimes skipping frames and struggling to keep up.

Display is fine. The new aspect ratio is great for Reddit or some web browsing, but really bad when it comes to watching PUBG youtube videos as expanding the video makes me lose the health bar at the bottom of the screen. :(

For anyone that doesn't do anything special with their phone, this is an okay buy, but for me,...  

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Solid battery life
  • Somewhat decent of a camera
  • Front facing camera has portrait mode
  • Samsung pay works 99 percent of anywhere
  • Gets the same, if not similar Samsung Experience UI
  • Thank god for the headphone jack
  • Waterproofing was proven to save my phone a couple of times

Cons

  • Overall performance can be better
  • Lack of UFS is really showing during performance
  • Give up playing PUBG on the Exynos variant of this phone
  • LTE, Wifi speed is a bit slow
  • Camera is dreadful at low light due to lack of OIS
  • Lack of overall accessories such as cases :(
  • No wireless charging.

hjl2345 alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jackofspades
posted on 09 Jun 2018, 06:24 (Posts: 4; Member since: 23 Dec 2011)

9

Good but...

jackofspades has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

i took this phone February to replace my s5 fran8lly the phone is beautiful great batterry display strong WiFi fantastic cameras..the only problem i face is the Gsm reception the 2G is poor specially is you have wifi on i live in an area with a lot tall buildings around me so the signal was always weak..but the s5 never failed me in that matter A8 does ,i have zero or 1 line in my place when s5 had 2or 1 lines always from the other hand the LTA is strong and 3 G works in the other areas very good inless tgis is a beautiful phone oh and sonethig last the guys talking on open speakers will found very mediocre the quality of the call

Build quality 9/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • great cameras,call quality,internet,display,battery

Cons

  • bad receprion on Gsm specially if you have WiFi on .the call on open speakers is mediocre

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories