x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Essential Phone User Reviews

9.7 Based on 6 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed9.8/10
Camera7.5/10
Multimedia10/10
Internet10/10
Call quality9.7/10
Battery9.2/10
Reception9.2/10
Display9.7/10
Build quality10/10
Text input9.8/10
Everyday usage9.8/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

cornerofthemoon
posted on 27 Oct 2017, 11:18 (Posts: 601; Member since: 20 Apr 2010)

10

Definitely worth the lower price point

cornerofthemoon has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I took the plunge on the Essential Phone after the price was lowered to $500. Ergonomically the phone is perfect. After accidentally opening and closing apps and "butt dialing" on my Galaxy S8 repeatedly on account of the waterfall screen, the annoying Bixby button, and the awkward placement of the fingerprint scanner, I was looking for a replacement. The Essential is a beautiful phone and is built like a tank. If it weren't for the bad press it received regarding the camera it would have been a big hit. In particular I love the ceramic back. Even though it is a fingerprint magnet, the prints wipe off easier than a glass back.....

Regarding the camera, the latest software updates have improved it greatly. It's still not in Apple/Samsung/Google territory but it is at least competent now. Actually it does very well in outdoor and bright light and one can even get some decent low light photos if one plays with the HDR settings. If you don't care about mobile photography or water resistance then the Essential is definitely worth a try, especially at the lower price point.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Everything except the camera

Cons

  • The Camera (though vastly improved lately)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

FerneyZan
posted on 01 Nov 2017, 01:54 (Posts: 103; Member since: 21 Jul 2010)

10

Much better than I expected!!

FerneyZan has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Definitely not what I was expecting after seeing the horrible review by Phone Arena. And now that I own it, the only issue I have with it is the lack of memory expansion. This baby runs smooth and since I use Nova Launcher, the interface wasn't too much of an issue for me. Some of the updates since I got this phone, have made it even better..

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Runs amazingly smooth.
  • No unneeded software.
  • Quality and built is excellent.

Cons

  • Lacks memory expansion slot.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

dragon76
posted on 14 Sep 2017, 10:59 (Posts: 29; Member since: 24 Jun 2012)

9

Essential Ph-1 not the greatest but....

dragon76 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I have had it for a few days now and I will say that if you like Samsung, LG or HTC user interfaces this is NOT the phone for you. I will say that if you are into something unique and "vanilla flavored" Android just maybe the Essential is for you. Build quality and materials used are second to none it feels like a heavy duty phone but it does have some short comings that may turn people away. LCD screen isn't going to have the high contrasts of a OLED screen but it is still an awesome screen. the bottom firing speaker isn't "Boom Sound" but it sounds pretty decent.

The camera has some issues, I believe that it has a lot to do with the software because the stock app vs the Google Camera app, the photo quality with GCam is a good bit better

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • display size
  • build quality
  • build materials

Cons

  • camera app
  • LCD instead of a OLED

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nevetsesor
posted on 3 days ago, 10:26 (Posts: 0; Member since: 3 days ago)

10

I love this phone

nevetsesor has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I love this phone I have had it for a little while now and you get used to it very quickly and don't want to go back. Some other people say the interface is "vanilla" but I personally like that this doesn't have some other ui built on the stock Android and even if you did these phones are easy to sideload to. The design is amazing and I feel too many people knocked it due to the camera reviews but seriously with all the updates it has came a long way and they just keep on improving it. Also who can beat the fact that these phones after Google's own phones are typically the fastest to receive updates. Highly recommend and where else are you going to get a 128/4 gb full screen phone thats basically QHD for 450???

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Feels Great
  • Screen Is Amazing
  • Calls are quick and amazing quality
  • Camera is a lot better thanks to updates
  • Frequent bug fixes

Cons

  • Not a lot of case support atm if you want a 2 layer protective case have only found Incipio
  • Camera isn't on par with LG V30 or iPhone X yet it gets the job done amazingly

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Armaneno
posted on 04 Nov 2017, 14:47 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Nov 2017)

9

Great choice with the lower price tag

Armaneno has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have had this phone for over a month now. I switched from iPhone to android just to try this phone after 7 years and I do not regret it even a little bit. Initially the price of the phone was outrageous specially considering the fact that the UI was just stock android (some really enjoy that though). At 499$, this is an exceptionally great phone. It is beautiful, well built and just a joy in hand.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Beautiful design
  • Great screen to body ratio
  • Smooth UI
  • Exceptional built quality

Cons

  • Not as tough as advertised

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sheepdogconcept
posted on 24 Oct 2017, 11:51 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 Oct 2017)

10

A perfect phone for some users.

sheepdogconcept has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

A 5.7 inch screen on a body smaller than the 5 inch pixel 2. Build quality that can be felt immediately. The ceramic and titanium truly feel premium and it's a unique feeling. Battery makes it through the day with above average use with no problem. The camera is behind flagship competitors, no doubt. My title alludes to users that won't tell the difference. It's still an incredibly high quality camera that takes great photos. Did you really think the photos from flagships a few years ago were so bad? Of course not, these photos are the same or better. Also, the unbranded USB-C port wall charger and braided USB-C to USB-C cable included are a nice premium touch.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10 I've had a few situations that have shown slightly less reception than a few other phones I have.
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10 While it's not the best, the picture quality is more than adequate for a casual user, like myself.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 The battery is listed as a "con" in some reviews, but it seems more than adequate for me, I make it through the day with ease, even more so than my old S8.

Pros

  • Speedy stock android
  • Incredible solid build, very premium.
  • Shocking amount of screen fit in this phone.
  • Notification light! Nice to have back.

Cons

  • Camera is sub-par, but perfectly fine for me (and most I suspect).
  • True of most phones, but I do miss my headphone jack.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories