x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Asus ZenFone 3 User Reviews

8.5 Based on 2 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia9/10
Internet8.5/10
Call quality9.5/10
Battery8/10
Reception9.5/10
Display8.5/10
Build quality9/10
Text input9.5/10
Everyday usage9.5/10
UI speed9/10
Camera8.5/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Dale14
posted on 14 Jan 2017, 23:11 (Posts: 22; Member since: 26 Jun 2015)

10

Premium Mid Range Phone

Dale14 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

My unit is the 5.2 inch variant and all I can say is it's awesome. I'm using it for 2 weeks now and I've already got 3 software updates which improved the overall speed of the phone. A huge plus is that it's getting the Android 7 Nougat. I hope it will be updated until Android 8 or 9. Asus has done right with the zenfone 3. Totally recommended.

Build quality 10/10 The glass and metal body is very elegant and beautiful to look at. It feels very sturdy though you might want a casing because it is a fingerprint magnet.
Reception 10/10 Overall excellent reception.
Call quality 10/10 Call quality is excellent. I can hear the other person talking even though I'm riding in a tricycle or a jeep. They also hear me clearly on the other side.
Internet 8/10 Internet speed is fast. However the challenge is connecting to the wifi. Sometimes I need to look at the phone settings connecting to the wifi or else it will have a hard time connecting to it.
Multimedia 10/10 Excellent. From watching movies to listening music, especially with the Hi-Res Audio, this phone delivers top notch multimedia experience.
Camera 10/10 Camera in broad daylight is excellent. Very nice color reproduction with lots of details. In lowlight, it's still above average but below the likes of the samsung s7. Well, this is a mid-range phone so no complaints here.
UI speed 10/10 Although the ZenUI has lots of bloatware there's no lag or whatsoever in the device. I replaced it with a custom launcher and it still feels snappy. Thumbs up for this.
Everyday usage 10/10 I'm using it as my daily driver and it may be a little bit bigger than my smartphone before but I can still handle it with ease. It feels very ergonomic especially with the high screen to body ratio.
Text input 10/10 I replaced the Zen keyboard with fleksy because fleksy is much more faster and has more customizations. No problems here.
Display 10/10 The display is vibrant and crisp. Text can easily be read under direct sunlight because it can reach up to 600 nits of brightness which is awesome.
Battery 9/10 I can easily get 5-6 hours of screen on time. It easily lasts a day for me under medium to hard usage. Probably because of the Snapdragon 625.

Pros

  • Build Quality
  • Battery Life
  • Above average camera
  • Hi-res Audio
  • No lags or overheating

Cons

  • Wifi reception
  • FIngerprint magnet
  • Bloatware
  • Capacitive buttons still not backlit

Dale14 alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sensi277
posted on 18 Jan 2017, 01:16 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Jan 2017)

7

It's good, with a few qualifications.

sensi277 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Let me get this out of the way first: this is a phone with flaws. The software's not great, the build, while sturdy, gives the impression that it could shatter if so much as a snowflake lands on it, and the camera provides a less-than-ideal experience.

The reason I put that like it's a disclaimer is that I really like the Zenfone 3. As someone who's tried a lot of phones, it's really hard to find much to fault with the Zenfone 3. Now, if you're reading this from the U.S., you can stop reading now, because where you are there are much better phones out there for the price. Phones like the Moto Z Play and OnePlus 3, the former providing outstanding battery life, and the latter providing the fastest experience on any Android smartphone out there as of writing. Both have amazing software, amazing build, and both are extremely well-rounded devices. The Zenfone 3 has none of that if you live in the U.S., where it costs $400 USD, the same price as those other two.

But here in Canada, the Zenfone 3 provides a very different value assessment. Here - where smartphones are usually a lot more expensive than they are in the U.S. - it competes with phones like the Moto G4 Plus and Blackberry DTEK50 at a price of just $430 CAD. This levels the playing field somewhat, letting the ASUS Zenfone 3 compete with phones more its speed. With its Snapdragon 625 processor, 3/4GB of RAM, and 64GB of storage, the ASUS Zenfone 3 handily beats out the competition on paper. In practice, though, things...  

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 7/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Good, big display with beautiful curved edges
  • Great performance, heavily depending on where you buy it
  • Premium-feeling build, reasonably good feeling in the hand
  • Battery life is more than enough to last a day of heavy use
  • Fingerprint scanner is fast and accurate
  • Loads of RAM means a snappy overall feel

Cons

  • The camera needs a bit of fiddling to get a good picture
  • Heavy ghosting on monitor, makes things look less smooth
  • Gaming performance isn't as good as even a few-year-old flagship
  • Glass build is a fingerprint magnet and easily broken

sensi277 alternatives:

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories