x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Galaxy Ring User Reviews

6 Based on 3 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality9/10
Battery3.7/10
Reception6/10
Display3.7/10
Build quality9.3/10
Text input5.7/10
Everyday usage5.7/10
UI speed4.3/10
Camera6/10
Multimedia5.7/10
Internet6.7/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

danieljames0010
posted on 21 Nov 2014, 21:59 (Posts: 0; Member since: 21 Nov 2014)

5

Horrible

danieljames0010 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have had this phone for only a couple of months and its horrible. Its slow and the battery is terrible .. it shuts off randomly and always is freezing.. i have taken good care of the phone but I dont like it one bit.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 2/10
Display 4/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

  • camera

Cons

  • everything about the phone

danieljames0010 alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

peteJ
posted on 20 Aug 2014, 09:36 (Posts: 4; Member since: 13 Aug 2014)

5

Not very powerful but the absolute most durable screen EVER

peteJ has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I picked the galaxy ring up about year ago becouse my previous much better phone (the htc dna) fell and broke and at the time I couldnt afford anything better and needed something right away so i picked it up and switched to virgin mobile. Vigin mobile by the way gets horrible reception in the area i live but that's another story. anyway over time i noticed that the screen on the galaxy ring is near impossible to break. I don't think it's even glass I think it is cheap plastic, and by cheap plastic i mean awesome plastic that doesnt crack or break EVER. you can throw it at concrete with the intention of cracking it and it still keeps going. At this point im ready to get a new phone with high end specs and move on but I can't help but wish something with the ring's plastic screen existed in a 1080p 5in. Ive heard people put this phone down and bash it all over the net, but seriously other than it being low res and slow the duribility on the ring is amazing. I don't care that plastic picks up scratches, i'd rather a screen that can't smash than a screen that smashes but doesnt scratch. People go on and on about saphire this and gorilla glass that but seriously all those crack while plastic is the best for duribility. I have gone through 4 smartphone and all of them broke due to cracked screens with cost too high to bother fixing.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 6/10
Display 2/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

  • unsmashable plastic screen
  • works fine enough for calls and texts

Cons

  • short battery life
  • low resolution
  • slow processor

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

pokedude750
posted on 19 Jun 2013, 20:22 (Posts: 28; Member since: 10 Aug 2012)

8

A great Mid-Range device from Virgin Mobile which is great for the average user and exceeds expectations in some places, but lacks in others.

pokedude750 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The Samsung Galaxy Ring is a powerful Mid Range device from Virgin. While the RAM is not as high on devices such as the S4 or the HTC ONE the Ring has a 1.4 GHZ Quad Core Processor which is good enough for the average user. The screen is a little blurry when you move items on the screen to fast but the screen is great in Low Light Conditions. Sadly the device lacks in build quality and is cheaper than the S3 mini (which it is based on). Also the Ring lacks any 4G radio, NFC, IR, or S-Beam but does include Bluetooth 4.0.

The internet is very dependent on the 3G signal of wherever the user is and in many spots will make you use Sprint's very slow 2G network.

The camera is very, very mediocre at best and lacks some of the recent additions Samsung has added to their devices.

The Galaxy Ring runs Android Version 4.1.2 (Comes with 4.1.1) and is very snappy and will keep even the speediest of users happy.

The battery on the Ring is sadly sub-par and keeps a charge for 8-9 hours on average usage (BUT the back is removable, so when a extended battery is released you can use it.)

In conclusion the Samsung Galaxy Rings feels like a much faster (but less well built) than the device it mimics the Galaxy S3 Mini.

Device Version: 4.1.2
Build Number: JZO54K

Available from Virgin Mobile for the price of $180

Build quality 8/10 Quality is standard, but more flimsy than usual
Reception 7/10 Sprint needs to step up their game on the Reception field Also NO 4G RADIO?.
Call quality 9/10 Call Quality is superb as well as the speakerphone
Internet 9/10 When on 3G the internet is not choppy and works quite well. With Wifi the internet is like a mini computer in your hand
Multimedia 7/10 With Bloatware their is too much of VM's stuff added on and too little Samsung Multimedia options
Camera 6/10 The camera is unclear and fuzzy like all non High End samsung devices
UI speed 9/10 With Project Butter the UI works wonderfully but with the Displays limitations sometimes make it look weird
Everyday usage 10/10 For the average user this is a perfect VM device to get. For a power user look at the S3
Text input 9/10 Samsung offer's Swype, Samsung Keyboard, and Voice Typing Typing is easy and quite fluid.
Display 5/10 Display is fuzzy and quite blech making everything look off,
Battery 7/10 Average Battery Life

Pros

  • Fast UI
  • Quad Core Processor
  • A steal for $180
  • Internet works quite well
  • Call Quality is excellent

Cons

  • Cruddy Display (TFT)
  • Camera is awful
  • No 4G Radio
  • Build Quality could be a bit better

pokedude750 alternatives:

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories