x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.

Motorola Moto G User Reviews

9.1 Based on 34 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality9/10
Battery9/10
Reception9.3/10
Display9.7/10
Build quality9.4/10
Text input9.5/10
Everyday usage9.4/10
UI speed9.4/10
Camera8/10
Multimedia9.3/10
Internet9.1/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

bob_monkeywarts
posted on 2 days ago, 12:31 (Posts: 103; Member since: 14 Apr 2014)

9

Great phone

bob_monkeywarts has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I love my Moto G. One of my favorite things about it is the design. Although it is thick, the curved back is amazing and the materials are great for a low-end phone. The snapdragon 400 does a great job of most stuff that you would do. It runs almost stock android (with a few Moto apps) and you can get it on the Google play store if you want it perfectly stock. I have the Google Now launcher running on mine and it works smoothly. The display is gorgeous with high ppi and max brightness.The only complaint I really have is the camera. It is great outdoors but awful indoors. Other than that it is a great phone and I recommend it.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 The battery life is great!

Pros

  • battery life is great
  • design is beautiful
  • display is amazing
  • stock Android
  • speedy processor
  • price

Cons

  • camera (only indoors)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

faiyaskhan
posted on 18 Sep 2014, 07:05 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Sep 2014)

10

Amazing phone

faiyaskhan has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

i have been using this phone from last 6 months,its great and beautiful to use,before this phone i had apple 4s though in my view moto g is greater than 4s,its gaming everyday usage is good and it is very nice phone with best price. I really like moto g. Just I wish that I could use SD card but isn't,ok its good

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sanchezkk
posted on 03 Sep 2014, 08:30 (Posts: 1; Member since: 13 Jun 2008)

9

Happy With My Moto G

sanchezkk has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I love this phone despite of it's flaws, I know they will work themselves out with the update. Hopefully this phone will see Android 5.0/ Android L. I haven't had a smartphone in quite a long time and when I saw this phone, the manager of the store i bought this from was very positive about this phone and compared this to the Galaxy S series phones. The way he placed them next to each other and to find out I would be getting this phone for $40 after the Port-In Instant Rebate, I was getting a heck of a deal. I'm quite glad that i bought this phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • The Screen is Great!
  • Durability is Strong
  • The shape fits great in my hand, and I love the dimple.

Cons

  • Battery is ok but what the heck, it's a smartphone
  • Android 4.4.2 is a little buggy, hopefully 4.4.4 will fix allot of issues

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

goulav
posted on 02 Sep 2014, 21:18 (Posts: 5; Member since: 03 Jan 2012)

9

Best of everything for the price!

goulav has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Love this phone! Especially for the price. The camera could be a bit better, but that's to be expected. Call quality isn't the best, but it isn't the worst either. The screen is absolutely amazing and very responsive. No 4G/LTE, but I bought that knowing the internet would be as fast. Overall, I'd recommend this phone in a heartbeat!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10 Low end camera but that's expected for a phone at such a good price.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Phone speed
  • price

Cons

  • camera
  • call quality

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

vjekoslav125
posted on 02 Sep 2014, 13:03 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Sep 2012)

10

Good job by motorola

vjekoslav125 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

For that price, excellent phone, I got it for 3 months and I am very satisfied. Fast and does not lag, camera could be better, but for that price is ok. Just I wish that I could use SD card but isn't so important for me.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Excellent price
  • Very fast quad core proc
  • High resolution display
  • Gorilla Glass 3
  • Build quality
  • Andorid 4.4.4.
  • support OTG

Cons

  • camera can be better
  • Non user removable battery

vjekoslav125 alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

trppednsanity
posted on 30 Aug 2014, 23:52 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Aug 2014)

9

Best phone ever had

trppednsanity has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Smoothest and best phone ever had.. I scored 20177 on atutu bench with faux kernel no oc... its a really nice phone for a very cheap price beats a galaxy s3 and comes close to lg nexus 4 phone. Its perfect for the ave user and ave gamer too but me being a hard core gamer i wish i went with the moto x cause its essentially the same phone but better graphics im just not paying 4 times as much for twice the graphical power ill just wait till someone can properly oc the moto g and just do that

Build quality 10/10 sturdier than the dummy who dropped his b4 me.
Reception 10/10 depends on provider really but its just fine where im at usually all full bars
Call quality 9/10 could be louder
Internet 10/10 fast as it says
Multimedia 9/10 not the best gamer but can play any game out there
Camera 8/10 not as bad as they say
UI speed 10/10 its fast
Everyday usage 10/10 smooth as butter never stutters or is buggy on 4.2.2 kit kat
Text input 10/10 you can change it if u dont like
Display 9/10 could have been 5 in but damn is it a good crystal clear 720 p
Battery 9/10 lasts a good day running benchmarks and playing games a bit while also taking a few calls and lots of txting im sure could last a day and half on light data usage

Pros

  • fast performance for cheap price

Cons

  • none

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

toolplay
posted on 19 Aug 2014, 16:26 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Aug 2014)

10

Great value

toolplay has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

low price to quality phone...
i used to prefer sony xperia line, but not anymore. the quad core processor and the 1gb of memory ram convenceme to buy it... awesome performance.. search for physical tests on youtube

Build quality 9/10 Great resist and quality
Reception 9/10 Great on phone.. stupid cellphone company
Call quality 10/10 great sound, with my old sony xperia the volume its awful
Internet 10/10 so far, with no problems
Multimedia 10/10 no lag so far
Camera 9/10 and extra mp, will be good, the focus and the speed its so good
UI speed 10/10 smooth transitions
Everyday usage 10/10 endurance
Text input 10/10 i usually don't use its own keyboard, on any cell phone
Display 10/10 so big, great quality
Battery 9/10 all day, even on hard work

Pros

  • Big Display
  • Good resistance to scratches
  • Low cost
  • Great performance
  • update to kitkat

Cons

  • No micro sd slot
  • Rear cover, get dirty easily
  • Not includes a USB data cable
  • Not includes a hands free headset

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ibulp
posted on 18 Aug 2014, 20:51 (Posts: 2; Member since: 20 Jul 2014)

9

Great Phone for such price

ibulp has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I recommend this phone for anybody looking for a smart phone and can't afford .. this phone will give you the best of the best except i think 5 mp camera is not enough , Battery is awesome, daily usage and speed is just what will you expect

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10 the volume is sometimes very low
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10 5 mp camera just average if it had at least 8 mp would have been the best phone ever
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Price + Specifications and UI

Cons

  • Camera

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

motorider
posted on 11 Aug 2014, 11:31 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 Aug 2014)

10

Amazing 3G Phone, OTG Gives Me Unlimited Storage, Best Battery, Choose Wisely

motorider has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I bought the non-4G on Amazon, and chose this specific 3G US GSM model intentionally because the optimized US GSM radio model works as fast as my previous 4G phone, and picks up a better signal than my previous HTC Sensation 4G. I use T-Mobile for low cost, high quality service. I bought the Micro USB to USB adapter on Amazon for under $5 and plug in one of my several 32GB flash drives, so storage is no problem. The 16GB on the phone is ample, but with the adapter, and the APP ES File Explorer, it's like having a desktop. The battery life is simply amazing. As an example, my GF has wi-fi on all day, and ends the night with 80%, and I use heavy and have never seen it fall below 50%. I am running Android 4.4.3. if you follow the steps to properly charge the phone after all updates, and there are a few, you will not regret this phone. For about $200, I own an amazing phone. Having 2 high quality camera's, I am not too disappointed in the camera, but if you want the very best phone, then spend the extra $100 and go for Moto X. You cannot go wrong and the specialized 3G GSM US model is simply spectacular. It's so easy to use, especially with Ask Google, which is IMO, better than Siri, but each have their own pro's and cons. I could have bought any phone and can afford them all, but I found my decision to buy this one, was brilliant. Not too big, although the screen is so sharp and pretty big. I used the Cruzerlite cover, Fosmon cover, and recommend the AM Film screen protector. Android...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Buy a Micro USB to USB cable, and plug in Flash Drive for unlimited storage, use with the APP
  • Updated to Android 4.4.3
  • Amazing Battery life after taking steps from Motorola website
  • Easiest phone to use, I am one of the earliest Android adopters
  • Android is pure Linux - the best

Cons

  • Camera could be better, but I have 2 great digital cameras

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

viragarp
posted on 16 Jul 2014, 08:34 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 Nov 2013)

9

Best phone for this price range

viragarp has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The quality of this device is really high, constant updates are available to the new Android versions. A real best-buy phone. The camera could be the only minus, it is not the best 5 mpx cam I have seen.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10 Battery is really good, it can de-calibrate itself sometimes, so you should do a full charge twice to re-calibrate itself.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

HShavit
posted on 15 Jul 2014, 06:11 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Jul 2014)

10

Very good Smartphone

HShavit has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

MotoG is a great phone at an excellent price and sane unlike smartphones leading companies, this is also why I chose to buy it.
Unfortunately, in Tel Aviv, Israel people think that only expensive is the best and say that the Moto G is an imitation of the smartphone's leading companies, in addition it should be noted that they do not recognize other smartphones, plus most have not experienced iPhone and other smartphones, can be seen by "one of the people saying" you move the iPhone "when it is known that iPhones are not as advanced as the iPhone,
I keep showing them how good motto G but they do not understand,
Finally I am very pleased with the phone and would recommend to anyone to buy it

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10 The camera is only 5mp, but I use the camera for Uses photography photos close
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 The charge is very fast

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

matt2556
posted on 11 Jul 2014, 10:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 Jul 2014)

9

Motorola Moto G

matt2556 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Great phone with a reasonable price tag and A high resolution display, only downsides are that there is no expandable storage and the camera is average.
On the good side though the phone has decent performance and an excellent display.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Demo462
posted on 04 Jul 2014, 13:40 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Jul 2014)

10

Moto G

Demo462 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I am amazed about this phone!
I bought it less than a month ago and i can not say anything wrong!
But there is some people who maybe ask me:Why are you give 8point to the camera?Simply its an amavarge quality camera in this price category so i don't give bad point for the camera coz its normal not high avarage....
The quality of the phone is pretty good i think its easily 10/10 or at least 10/9
Call quality is about 9-8.I not got bigger problems with it.
Internet is fast and good,also the chrome boost a lot on the phone!
The speaker is good and extremly loud!
Camera is pretty much avarage....8
The phone is like a rocket..Fast and no laggs at all!
The phone done the somple tasks with no problem.
Stock android keyboard.Love it!
The display is the strongest part of the phone!720p,IPS,4,5inch!
Battery is good.
All for £125!






Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Fast at overall
  • Awesome gaming quality
  • Good battery life
  • Beautiful HD display
  • Stock android

Cons

  • Avarage camera
  • No micro SD

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

deadlaine
posted on 24 Jun 2014, 12:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 Jun 2014)

9

Great phone for its price

deadlaine has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

For that price this phone is really amazing. Pixely density is comaprable to phones of a lot bigger price. Camera isnt one of the best out there, but it depends for what you look in the phone. The only cons i would consider disturbing would be no microSD, instead you have drive on which you can put photos, files.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

Cons

  • No microSD

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Serious2k
posted on 19 Jun 2014, 10:29 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Jun 2014)

9

Great phone for the price

Serious2k has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I had this phone for about 3 months now and i must say for a phone with only a £130 price tag on its back its a bang for the money. People are even comparing it to big branded phones such as the iphone5 and even the galaxy s4/ mini.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10 1.3 mp front camera ok for skypeing and only a 5mp back camera which records in 720p HD at 30 fps.
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10 has a 720p screen and great viewing angles
Battery 9/10 Lasts 2 days on single charge.

Pros

  • Great display
  • Has the latest android OS 4.4.2 kitkat
  • Price

Cons

  • Stuck with 8 or 16 GB which isn't all that bad
  • Battery not removable

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ermayo93
posted on 10 Jun 2014, 10:36 (Posts: 2; Member since: 04 Jun 2012)

9

Moto G 16GB

ermayo93 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Best phone of this type and price on the market. Superb mid-level android phone. Camera and battery(not user replaceable) are the only slight downfalls. Also no SD card port to expand storage. 4G version adds it.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Excellent display
  • Long battery life
  • Great UI
  • Quad-Core

Cons

  • Slightly below-par camera
  • Battery not user replaceable
  • no Micro SD card port

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

serafit
posted on 08 Jun 2014, 03:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 May 2014)

10

The best smartphone in this price!

serafit has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have Motorola moto g 16 GB internal. This is a fast and awesome Smartphone! After Xperia sola I understood what is really Smartphone!!!!!! Motorola has faster processor, very good GPU and other. This phone looks great in reality than on the pics. I can don't charge phone during 3 days and I can use it for everything internet, music, video, games and etc. At least this is not a phone, This is the human!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Fast CPU
  • Good GPU
  • Very Good Sensor
  • Good Battery
  • Beautiful Design
  • Very good display colors

Cons

  • Camera (only 5x pixels)

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nikkigroc
posted on 16 May 2014, 18:52 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 May 2014)

1

Don't buy Motorola phones, especially the Moto G because they force an update and will not switch it back.

nikkigroc has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone overall would have gotten a better rating from me if it didnt force me to apply an update that changed the whole layout of the phone. Don't buy Motorola phones, especially the Moto G because they force an update and will not switch it back.

Build quality 6/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 4/10
Multimedia 3/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 5/10
Display 6/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

Cons

  • They force you to accept their updates that change the layout and cannot downgrade back to the previous version

6 out of 84 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

poojaps1992
posted on 15 May 2014, 04:55 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 May 2014)

9

My first ever generic smartphone

poojaps1992 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I'm in love with this phone. Apart from battery performance which is also decent, it is almost comparable to other flagship mobiles.
Camera performance is also satisfactory. After you purchase the device , oneeds to caliberate the battery in order get the most optimum performance.

In all, motorola has dropped a bomb with this in the smartphones market.

Build quality 10/10 looks really solid and expensive
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10 decent camera. Will do the job
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • fast processor
  • large internal storage
  • kitkat update
  • supports all applications

Cons

  • camera
  • no micro sd

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

buggerrer
posted on 21 Apr 2014, 09:19 (Posts: 287; Member since: 21 Sep 2011)

10

Exceptional phone at exceptional price

buggerrer has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have this phone since 5 months, still never seen a lag, that i saw the first time i saw an iPhone 4S running iOS 7 and a SGS4 running 4.3. It was freakin cool to troll all my friends with sgs4 because i had 4.4.2 and they was still at 4.3 :P camera is the only thing which is non an high-level hardware, altought it is still great for its usage and it even has slow-mo feature, which i still don't get why would be useful; the software part of the camera is even better. The Vanilla UI (aka AOSP or Android stock) contributes to the total absence of lags. The battery lasts one entire day with full usage (social, internet always on, AcDisplay and Tasker always running). Not a surprise that it's Motorola's most sold smartsmartphone ever!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • everything except camera

Cons

  • camera (hardware)

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mobi_user
posted on 26 Feb 2014, 16:46 (Posts: 108; Member since: 18 Jun 2013)

9

Best mid segment phone

mobi_user has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is my second andriod phone. And a awesome one. The screen is brilliant. Giving a full retina display. The performance is super. It is best phone for everyday use. In-call quality, camera, smooth UI, and build quality are some of the highlights of this phone. I hate to use the 5 incher phones and 4 inches feels quite small. This phone is perfectly in the middle of both the segments and offering almost everything that I wanted in my everyday phone.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kshell1
posted on 18 Feb 2014, 09:07 (Posts: 1143; Member since: 05 Oct 2011)

9

Best of the Cheap

kshell1 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Over the last week I have owned this phone I have ran graphic heavy games like CSR Racing, to GTA: San Andreas, taken pictures outside and inside both. The UI is fluid even when having several apps at the same time. The build quality is amazing for $100 through verizon. The games run smooth and fluid. The camera outside is pretty good, inside though it is subpar. Reception can be good sometimes bad sometimes. Call quality is kinda bad too be honest. The screen for the price is a beauty to behold. No pixels or wash out to be found. The contrast and brightness is very good. Android 4.4 on this device boosts the battery life immensely and last me through the day consistently. The internet browser is fluid on chrome unless you scroll quickly (common on even high end androids). The antutu benchmark score i received was 17093 which is on par with the Galaxy S 3, the Droid Razr HD, and other 2012 flagship phones and also with the Moto G's more expensive brother the X. All in all for the price it is the best ive owned.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10 Spotty at times
Call quality 6/10 Tinny quality
Internet 9/10 Fast
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • UI Speed
  • HD screen at 329ppi
  • Graphics processing amazing.
  • Speedy Processor
  • good camera performance in good lighting

Cons

  • Low internal memory
  • no micro sd slot
  • poor low-light camera

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Elite00
posted on 16 Feb 2014, 20:24 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Feb 2014)

6

Not impressed

Elite00 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I have this phone for boost mobile. I straight out hate it. Bad service, not worth the 55 per month. This phone cannot do what other phones can do. I dunno if its the phone or the company, but honestly something has to give. Way too unreliable.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 5/10 not clear, a lot of fuzz
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 2/10 way too slow
Camera 8/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 4/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • 326 pii
  • build quality
  • display

Cons

  • Cant sync contacts from facebook and email account
  • way too slow

8 out of 89 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Udaypreet
posted on 08 Feb 2014, 00:58 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Feb 2014)

10

Awesome Phone

Udaypreet has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Great disaplay .....The moto g is great phone which it's have a great quad core and the 1GB RAM display ips lcd is good well everything makes it great phone when you compare it with the iphone 5s you will see that moto g is much betterj

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

10 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

CaptainDroid
posted on 20 Jun 2014, 09:51 (Posts: 4; Member since: 14 Jan 2014)

10

Mind-blowing in its class!!

CaptainDroid has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Motorola is back folks, it may not be the return I would have predicted - there's no flagship phone stuffed full of the latest tech - but arguably what the now Google-owned firm has done is even better.
The Moto G is a top notch, low cost smartphone and I wholeheartedly recommend this as the best budget mobile currently on the market.
I was genuinely impressed with the feature set on the Moto G, so if you're looking for a low cost phone you can stop searching - just go out and grab a Moto G right now.
It exceeds its rivals in several key areas, from the well defined 4.5-inch display to its 1.2GHz quad-core processor and Android 4.4 KitKat operating system. There's a lot to love about the Moto G for its price.....

Build quality 10/10 feels solid and tough in hands, has nice back cover, gentle curve, overall it feels good and premium
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10 audio on the ear piece isn't very good and feels a bit cloudy and hollow at times
Internet 9/10 big enough screen with high ppi and good viewing angles, colour, brightness and contrast make it great for browsing the web
Multimedia 10/10 excellent screen, processor, ram and gpu makes it great for multimedia
Camera 9/10 above average but not excellent, colours are rich and accurate but overall they are a bit soft and under exposed, and "at times" out of focus.....use HDR whenever possible
UI speed 10/10 stock android 4.3 runs beautifully and butter smooth. thanks to snapdragon 400 and 1 gb ram
Everyday usage 10/10 very simple and intuitive to use without any lag or choppiness and no unwanted bloatwares
Text input 10/10 good input, thanks to large hd responsive screen. also you can use use 3rd party apps like swiftkey which are also great...
Display 10/10 nothing to say about the great screen. excellent ppi, size, contrast, brightness, and a ips display for wide viewing angles. overall this is one of the best things abt moto g
Battery 9/10 above average life. easily lasts a day, if not more on an average usage

Pros

  • Powerful processor, RAM, GPU
  • Excellent HD display
  • No Bloatware
  • Powerful BT, WiFi and reception
  • Feels premium and solidly build
  • Water resistant and Gorilla Glass 3 are humble additions at this price point
  • USB OTG support
  • PRICE!!!

Cons

  • Lacks micro sd expansion slot
  • Non user removable battery
  • Camera just above average
  • Rubberized back cover gets smudged with fingerprints and oily marks at times

CaptainDroid alternatives:

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories