x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Motorola Moto G User Reviews

9.1 Based on 14 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Internet8.9/10
Call quality8.8/10
Battery9.2/10
Reception9.3/10
Display9.8/10
Build quality9.4/10
Text input9.6/10
Everyday usage9.4/10
UI speed9.1/10
Camera8.4/10
Multimedia9.1/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

mobi_user
posted on 26 Feb 2014, 16:46 (Posts: 78; Member since: 18 Jun 2013)

9

Best mid segment phone

mobi_user has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is my second andriod phone. And a awesome one. The screen is brilliant. Giving a full retina display. The performance is super. It is best phone for everyday use. In-call quality, camera, smooth UI, and build quality are some of the highlights of this phone. I hate to use the 5 incher phones and 4 inches feels quite small. This phone is perfectly in the middle of both the segments and offering almost everything that I wanted in my everyday phone.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kshell1
posted on 18 Feb 2014, 09:07 (Posts: 1140; Member since: 05 Oct 2011)

9

Best of the Cheap

kshell1 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Over the last week I have owned this phone I have ran graphic heavy games like CSR Racing, to GTA: San Andreas, taken pictures outside and inside both. The UI is fluid even when having several apps at the same time. The build quality is amazing for $100 through verizon. The games run smooth and fluid. The camera outside is pretty good, inside though it is subpar. Reception can be good sometimes bad sometimes. Call quality is kinda bad too be honest. The screen for the price is a beauty to behold. No pixels or wash out to be found. The contrast and brightness is very good. Android 4.4 on this device boosts the battery life immensely and last me through the day consistently. The internet browser is fluid on chrome unless you scroll quickly (common on even high end androids). The antutu benchmark score i received was 17093 which is on par with the Galaxy S 3, the Droid Razr HD, and other 2012 flagship phones and also with the Moto G's more expensive brother the X. All in all for the price it is the best ive owned.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10 Spotty at times
Call quality 6/10 Tinny quality
Internet 9/10 Fast
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • UI Speed
  • HD screen at 329ppi
  • Graphics processing amazing.
  • Speedy Processor
  • good camera performance in good lighting

Cons

  • Low internal memory
  • no micro sd slot
  • poor low-light camera

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Elite00
posted on 16 Feb 2014, 20:24 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Feb 2014)

6

Not impressed

Elite00 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I have this phone for boost mobile. I straight out hate it. Bad service, not worth the 55 per month. This phone cannot do what other phones can do. I dunno if its the phone or the company, but honestly something has to give. Way too unreliable.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 5/10 not clear, a lot of fuzz
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 2/10 way too slow
Camera 8/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 4/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • 326 pii
  • build quality
  • display

Cons

  • Cant sync contacts from facebook and email account
  • way too slow

2 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Udaypreet
posted on 08 Feb 2014, 00:58 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Feb 2014)

10

Awesome Phone

Udaypreet has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Great disaplay .....The moto g is great phone which it's have a great quad core and the 1GB RAM display ips lcd is good well everything makes it great phone when you compare it with the iphone 5s you will see that moto g is much betterj

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

CaptainDroid
posted on 07 Feb 2014, 05:42 (Posts: 3; Member since: 14 Jan 2014)

9

mind-blowing in its class!!

CaptainDroid has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Motorola is back folks, it may not be the return I would have predicted - there's no flagship phone stuffed full of the latest tech - but arguably what the now Google-owned firm has done is even better.
The Moto G is a top notch, low cost smartphone and I wholeheartedly recommend this as the best budget mobile currently on the market.
I was genuinely impressed with the feature set on the Moto G, so if you're looking for a low cost phone you can stop searching - just go out and grab a Moto G right now.
It exceeds its rivals in several key areas, from the well defined 4.5-inch display to its 1.2GHz quad-core processor and Android 4.4 KitKat operating system. There's a lot to love about the Moto G for its price.....

Build quality 10/10 feels solid and tough in hands, has nice back cover, gentle curve, overall it feels good and premium
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10 audio on the ear piece isn't very good and feels a bit cloudy and hollow at times
Internet 9/10 big enough screen with high ppi and good viewing angles, colour, brightness and contrast make it great for browsing the web
Multimedia 10/10 excellent screen, processor, ram and gpu makes it great for multimedia
Camera 8/10 above average but not excellent, colours are rich and accurate but overall they are a bit soft and dull, and at times out of focus
UI speed 10/10 stock android 4.3 runs beautifully and butter smooth. thanks to snapdragon 400 and 1 gb ram
Everyday usage 10/10 very simple and intuitive to use without any lag or choppiness and no unwanted bloatwares
Text input 10/10 good input, thanks to large hd responsive screen. also you can use use 3rd party apps like swiftkey which are also great...
Display 10/10 nothing to say about the great screen. excellent ppi, size, contrast, brightness, and a ips display for wide viewing angles. overall this is one of the best things abt moto g
Battery 9/10 above average life. easily lasts a day on an average usage

Pros

  • Powerful processor, RAM, GPU
  • Excellent HD display
  • No Bloatware
  • Powerful BT, WiFi and reception
  • Feels premium and solidly build
  • Water resistant and Gorilla Glass 3 are humble additions at this price point
  • Native USB OTG support ( till 4.3, not on 4.4)
  • PRICE!!!

Cons

  • Lacks micro sd expansion slot
  • Non user removable battery
  • Camera just above average
  • Rubberized back cover gets smudged with fingerprints and oily marks at times

CaptainDroid alternatives:

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ashkan
posted on 19 Jan 2014, 13:30 (Posts: 1; Member since: 17 Jul 2013)

10

nice phone

ashkan has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Very nice phone with best price. I really like moto g. Just I wish that I could use SD card but isn't so important for me. It seems that 16gb is enough. Camera is good real 5m.suitable screen size.this is Motorola.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MichaelDouros
posted on 02 Jan 2014, 02:41 (Posts: 1; Member since: 06 Dec 2013)

9

Amazing phone for its price

MichaelDouros has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Ordered this phone before it was released in the US. I was very pleased with what I got considering the amount of money I spent. I use this phone on a daily basis and do not feel at all that I am using a low end smartphone. The phone has a comfortable feel and weight. It is a bit slow when playing memory intensive games but that is expected in a cheaper phone. Performs all normal tasks with no trouble.

Build quality 10/10 Phone fits more comfortably in my hand than any other phone I have had. Strong plastic.
Reception 9/10 Lose cell coverage in my basement while my other phones did not
Call quality 9/10 Audio goes through clearly, but noises do not sound quite like they do in real life through the microphone.
Internet 8/10 Wifi connection is noticeably slower
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 5mp camera takes surprisingly good pictures
UI speed 9/10 Some delays
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 Amazing crisp display. Unbeatable for the price.
Battery 9/10 Battery does not quite last all day with my high usage

Pros

  • Unbeatable price
  • Comfortable feel
  • Great screen

Cons

  • No expandable storage, but phone comes with free 50gb of Google Drive
  • No removable battery

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

slagathor
posted on 28 Dec 2013, 17:20 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 Dec 2013)

10

Hands Down the Best Phone for the Price

slagathor has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I had the Iphone before this and had 1 spot in my house that I got reception. After switching I can now walk around my house with 3 bars! The ui is so snappy for only $200 I will never consider an Iphone again after this. I find its faster than the Iphone 5s!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Amazing Reception
  • Quad Core Processer
  • High Resolution

Cons

  • 5 MP Camera

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

darktemplar
posted on 24 Dec 2013, 19:57 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 Nov 2013)

10

The best!

darktemplar has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This smartphone is really awesome.
People really don't believe it's a quad-core smartphone when you tell them the price.
The battery duration is great. Sometimes I forget it's a smartphone.
If you need more than 16gb, then you might have a problem cause it doesn't have a micro SD slot. If you don't need all that space, so, there's no cons about it.
Highly recommended!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Very fast
  • Excellent battery duration
  • Excellent price
  • Very responsive
  • Great picture quality
  • The display is awesome
  • There's no bloatware

Cons

  • No micro SD slot

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sunilh121
posted on 23 Dec 2013, 10:37 (Posts: 9; Member since: 26 Nov 2013)

9

best smartphone of 2013

sunilh121 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Has good spec but no SD card, what would have made this phone even better. The phone is smooth while multitasking and has a lot of good apps such Moto care. Some bugs need to be fixed.the camera is good enough to take photo. The battery last up to 1 and a half days for me. The phone is a bit too big for me because I have to use two hands to hold it.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • screen size

Cons

  • no SD card

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kreator20
posted on 15 Dec 2013, 14:02 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Dec 2013)

9

Great device

kreator20 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Device is amazing. Camera is not that great, and 8gb of storage is still quite limited, but it's worth every penny. In this price range no device beats it, actually, in the sub 400-euro segment, no device beats it.

Build quality 9/10 Plasticky cover, but it doesn't bother me. Some more expensive devices are clearly built worse. (Galaxy S4). Matte plastic gets smudged easily.
Reception 10/10 No reception problems.
Call quality 8/10 Call quality is great, but the horn-speaker is not loud enough. Overall, pretty good.
Internet 10/10 HSPA+ (3,5G?) is amazing, reception is great.
Multimedia 10/10 Built in speaker is clear & loud enough. Headphones not included (which doesn't matter to me). Storage could have been bigger, but Google Drive is a great option. Software is great.
Camera 6/10 Works great. Almost no shutter lag. Camera app is great. HDR function works fine. 5MP is not an amazing resolution but enough for most people. Built in flash works fine, but camera yields no exceptional results.
UI speed 10/10 The biggest plus of this device; it has never lagged on me. Not even with 15 apps open could i notice any lag.
Everyday usage 10/10 Just great.
Text input 8/10 I never did get used to touchscreen typing completely so i couldn't give it a 10.
Display 10/10 720P display is sharp, beautiful contrast & colors. big enough too. I wouldn't want a screen bigger than this one on a phone.
Battery 10/10 battery (if well used) lasts more than 2 days, which is more than enough for me, and seems like an above average result.

Pros

  • UI is great.
  • Built in speaker is great.
  • NO BLOATWARE
  • Display is great

Cons

  • Built-in earpiece is not loud enough.
  • Camera is average but sufficient
  • Plasticky cover gets smudged easily.

kreator20 alternatives:

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

guiguileduc
posted on 15 Dec 2013, 13:23 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Dec 2013)

9

Best performance/price cell phone ever

guiguileduc has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

If you wan't to have a quad core processor, 1GB RAM, a full HD screen and a very good cell phone at a very very good price, by this one, i love it ! However, the build quality is a little bit quite, but for 179$ you cannot ask more ! I've tested it with antutu benchmark and the Moto G is quite performant like the smasung galaxy S3 !

Build quality 7/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Processor Quad Core !
  • 1GB RAM
  • 329PPI screen
  • Fluidity
  • Android 4.3
  • Price
  • Good battery
  • Beats iPhone 5 !

Cons

  • Build quality is quite
  • Unmovable battery
  • No memory supply possible
  • Not really accessories available
  • Camera

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

salaal
posted on 14 Dec 2013, 05:58 (Posts: 25; Member since: 08 Dec 2013)

10

Best phone for the price:)

salaal has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

A very good phone beats the crap out of the S4 mini simply overpriced! I love this phone in almost every way the price was the biggest factor I bought this phone for and when android 4.4 comes for it it will defiantly run like a horse:)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • For 179$ off contract it's definitely worth a try
  • Great build quality
  • Snapdragon quad core for such a low price!
  • The UI speed is faster then my sis' S4 mini which she bought 2 months ago for more then double the price 430$!

Cons

  • None:)!

salaal alternatives:

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

OmarDrake719
posted on 11 Dec 2013, 17:24 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Dec 2013)

9

Cool Phone still beats the Iphone 5s and 5c

OmarDrake719 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The moto g is great phone which it's have a great quad core and the 1GB RAM display ips lcd is good well everything makes it great phone when you compare it with the iphone 5s you will see that moto g is much betterj

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10 it's Really cool to compare it with the iphone 5s the moto g will win because the iphone has that dual core 1300 mhz but the Moto g has that Quad core snapdragon 400 1200 MHZ the both have that 1GB by the RAM
Call quality 10/10 the speakers of the Moto g & Moto x is much louder and clearer than the nexus 5 and iphone 5s and the galaxy s4
Internet 10/10 The Quad core is very cool on the moto g so the internet is very cool
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10 the Camera of the moto g is only 5 MP so it's Cool but not great enough in some Conditions
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10 I hate to say this Motorola was should made the Screen by Super Amoled like the moto x but it's IPS LCD display like the iphone 5s and 5c and like the nexus 5&4
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • The quad core makes it very fast in the internet
  • 1GB RAM
  • the Camera is cool
  • the build quality is very great
  • the UI Speed
  • the call quality is so cool

Cons

  • There is non Removable battery and you can't get the SD Card

23 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories