Samsung SCH-R500 User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

Me posted on Aug 07, 2010, 6:18 PM

9.3

I love my phone

I have had this phone for 3years, yes all phones have problems but as far as memory buy the MicroSD card. I have over 900 photos and 100 videos. texting has never froze, and it has web access. I like my phone, I've dropped it so many times and it never broke open like most phones, battery never flew out. I don't no why people complain, its just a phone. and yes I have texted in the rain with no problems. 

Pros

  • light, pretty, changable face plates, video, mp3, photos, web, texting, picture messages and reliable.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

Me posted on Jan 26, 2010, 10:29 PM

1.7

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE

Okay, so most people thinking of buying this phone are into it for one reason: its cheap.

Yes, it is, in fact if you dealer made you pay two cents for it they would still be making a profit for this piece of junk.
I have had this phone for over a year, and yes, i have encountered many problems.

This phone may be suitable for someone of the age of ninety, who would hardly ever use it. But do not get this phone if you are a teenager or a buisnessperson who makes a lot of calls and sends a lot of texts. It will not help you. It will only make mindless tasks seem more difficult.

First of all, it has the most sensitive battery in the world. It gets too hot or too cold and it freezes. It cant even be inside my pocket when I am walking hom on a cold night. If you get one drop of water on the keyboard from texting in the rain, well it'll be all screwy until the droplet dries up.

And the memory on this phone is a complete joke.
Right now, if I recieved a text and tried to reply, it would beep obnoxiously loud and tell me that my messaging memory is 75% full. I actually have literally NOTHING in my inbox, no pictures, no videos, NOTHING because I have tried to clear the memory. And even though my phone says I'm actually using like 15% of my TOTAL MEMORY, that beeper won't shut up.
How annoying can a beep be every single time you text? Its like a mosquito, it doesn't seem like much but it just bothers you and bothers you. My inbox will not recieve...  

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

madjr posted on Apr 21, 2009, 4:52 AM

2.7

never get another one

this is the worst phone i have ever had i have been thru 3 of them in the last 4 months it freezes up shuts off on its own wont send messages does auto update of 20 times a day 

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

Anonymous posted on Jan 11, 2009, 2:08 PM

7.0

I Bought an SCH-R500 for my girlfriend from Staples and found out later that you could not use your own mp3 files from your computer as custom ringtones. The Telus version seems to be locked out of many features including the ability to backup your settings or files onto your computer in case something bad happens to the phone. This feature has to be bought and stored remotely. The phone works ok and I like the design but I just wish Telus wouldn't block the most important features and force you to buy everything.

Pros

  • Battery life is good and charging is fast.
  • Nice look to the phone and ability to change face plate color.
  • Good signal strength with EVDO.
  • Takes ok pictures.
  • Easy menu system and doesn't take too long to figure out.
  • Lots of features (excluding the locked out ones)

Cons

  • Needs less restrictions for custom ringtones.
  • Has some locked important features that should normally be available.
  • MP3 player layout could be better and takes a while to load.
  • The phone takes too long to startup from a complete shutdown.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

Maddie posted on Dec 31, 2008, 3:10 AM

8.3

My Old Phone

I used to have an alltel hue, and i had it for 1+ years.
This phone has honestly went through everything i have, fell out of a two story building, twice, dropped so many times, took a few swims, and went for a bath.
Not only is this phone one of the best phones i have ever had, it had many great things.
Great Service, Battery Life is pretty good, camera is good,  very tough, i would strongly reccomend it for a first phone, very durable, easy to use, great speakerphone and music player.
the bad thing is that you have to turn your phone sideways to view a missed call or text.
there are not many great features of this phone, its really simple. it is very easy to control and the design is a slight dissapoitment.
i traded this phone in for a blackberry curve, and these two phones are my favorite phones i have ever laid hands on.

Pros

  • interchangable faceplates
  • durable
  • simple
  • great service
  • battery life
  • camera
  • speakerphone
  • music player
  • reliable
  • the speakers are on the inside of your phone

Cons

  • design, the horzontal screen
  • not very customizeable
  • ringers arent very loud
  • vibrate is very loud, but weak

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

14Lines posted on Sep 20, 2008, 10:14 PM

9.3

Hue

Have 4 Hues, and for the money...this is the way to go.  Good reception, good sound, generally good phone.  Had an issue with one of them, but did a return through warranty and no issues since that time.  The covers that can be purchased make it easy to switch the color of your phone without any tools like some phones, and the good news is that it doesn't void your warranty as changing faceplates on some models do.  Camera is one of the quickest I've seen when it comes to snapping pictures.  Takes nice pictures for a cell phone.  Speakers on the MP3 player are better than any of the other phones that I have except for maybe the LGAX8600.  Ringtone volume and earpiece volume are good.  Wish the outer display was a little more high-tech.

Pros

  • decent price, decent quality

Cons

  • outer display "old fashioned"

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Derek N posted on Sep 13, 2008, 4:12 PM

9.3

Awesome Hue

I think the best things about his phone are its design, signal strength,and durabiltiy of which are probably one of the most important values that we look for in a phone.

Pros

  • Signal Strength
  • Durability
  • Design
  • Easy-to-Use

Cons

  • No Dedicated MP3 controls
  • Slippery Keys
  • Easy Scratching in some areas of the phone

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Anthony M. posted on Aug 21, 2008, 2:18 PM

7.8

Is okay but the sound needs to be a little louder. Its features are cool, but the signal strength needs work too, overall its a good phone.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

Todd posted on May 29, 2008, 5:33 AM

7.8

FUBAR

Phone works good. However, they completely screwed up the bluetooth capabilities. They force you to use your minutes to transfer files to and from your PC and phone and you can't upload any ring tones from your PC.

They don't make enough from my phone service? I don't need a "middleman" between me and my PC!!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

keiar posted on May 22, 2008, 6:50 PM

8.8

Its alright

Well this phone has alot of good features like mp3 capable,and camera.Theres other good features too that I didnt mention! But... its pictures arent that clear when you zoom in! My friend looked like shrek in one of the pics I took of her on the Hue! It very difficult trying to put ringers on it though a micro SD..sometimes its so retarded.But other than that this phone is perfectly fine.They really need to improve this phone.

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

ambrose posted on May 19, 2008, 1:45 PM

6.8

Design - The interface is mostly ok but some features require more keystrokes than my old LG phone. Its T9 input is a bit on the bizzare end (to do with shifting) but still ok since you could press the shift key yourself or back out of T9 and go back to normal alpha. Symbols input in alpha mode lacks lots of important symbols. No place to hang phone attachments.

Features - It has modern features (MP3, camera, video, bluetooth, etc.), but you can't upload ringtones. You can upload music, but you must do it on a computer through the memory card, which is a real hassle. Its bluetooth is kind of useless except as a way to transfer files (which, as mentioned above, may or may not do anything useful); there is no way to back up your contact list due to this bluetooth incompetency and the fact that you can't save your contact list on the memory card.

Sound quality - sounds ok to me

Signal strength - don't know how to assess this, but with my old phone I don't even get a signal in the subway station's concourse. With this phone I can get calls. So I suppose this means good signal strength.

Value for money - Besides the above, you need to buy some of those felt covers for ear buds yourself (they're not included) because otherwise the earphones fall out of your ear

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

gabrielle posted on Apr 15, 2008, 10:46 PM

5.4

I Hate this phone

I've had the Alltel Hue for 3 months and I hate it. The bluetooth feature sucks. I tried getting music in it and up to this day I haven't been able to even with the Music kit. I think anyone who is planning on buying it you should think twice.

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Raven DMC posted on Apr 12, 2008, 3:21 PM

9.2

Ringtone workaround for Alltel customers

Overall a great phone. The downside is that you can't pull MP3's off the MicroSD card for ringtones. They want you to buy ringtones. However, if you can find a free ringtone ripper off the net, use that to convert your MP3's to a 30 second or less clip, upload the file to axcessmypics.com (accounts are free) and then send to your phone (this is for Alltel customers, dunno if it will work with others). Once you get the message with the song, just save it, go to your sounds, and set as ringtone. Beyond having to workaround the ringtones, it's overall a great phone.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

RC Cohen posted on Dec 26, 2007, 11:23 PM

7.6

A phone for most of us.

I have had the Samsung Hue for about two weeks now, and I can say that it is a good crafted phone. If you want a phone that can take pictures, text, and make calls, then the Hue is a good choice. Its looks are a little on the downside. I’ve had lots of people tell me that it looks like a “Razor knockoff”. I’ve owned Motorola phones, and I have to say that I prefer this Samsung over it.

Overall it is a good phone with great features. Good phone for someone in need of a phone with a few bells and whistles, and not everything under the sun!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Todd Bush posted on Aug 13, 2007, 1:07 PM

8.0

Samsung SCH-R500

I just purchased this phone due to my other being dead. So far it's been a very good phone. I do love the MP3 music player on the phone (use a SD card) I do have web as an option on my phone plan. They web browser is lot faster than my old phone. Only fault currently with the web browser is, it will lose all history and bookmarks when phone is powered down. (Currently working with Samsung on this) Also like the voice commands on the phone. They only other thing I do not like is that they are such new phone, don't have lots of stuff out yet.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Joanna posted on Jul 22, 2007, 9:39 AM

9.0

Alltel Hue

This phone is very nice. I previously had a Razr and after it had a tequila bath on accident I decided to purchase this phone. All around it's a decent phone. The downside is you cannot just add ringtones to your memory card like you can on the Razr...this phone only takes .MID files for ringtones and I have had to buy the ringtones as I HATE to do. Other than that it's decent enough. A lot of it mimics the Razr phone.

Is this review helpful?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless