Motorola Admiral User Reviews

Overall user rating

7.6

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera
7.0
Multimedia
7.4
Internet
7.4
Call quality
8.2
Battery
7.0
Reception
8.0
Display
8.4
Build quality
7.4
Text input
8.2
Everyday usage
7.0
UI speed
6.6

Alternatives

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

QWERTY-Keyboard-Fan posted on Aug 27, 2015, 10:46 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Aug 27, 2015

6.0

Good phone for texting and calls

QWERTY-Keyboard-Fan has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone is extremely good for users who like the QWERTY Keyboards and talk, the big problem with this phone is the memory Ram, if you need to use this phone for a price match a in a store you can have a hard time, I need it to restart twice and remove the battery to get the browser going, if you have good income and you don't care about over paying stuff but you like texting this phone is for you, but if you care about take care of your pocket and you like to go online and check the prices and use your phone for price matches at stores this phone is not for you, I just wish Motorola bring a Admiral 2 with 3GB or 4GB of ram and the latest Android version, honestly I'm a fan of this phone just for the QWERTY Keyboard.

Build quality
6.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
6.0
Multimedia
5.0
Camera
6.0
UI speed
5.0
Everyday usage
5.0
Text input
7.0
Display
6.0
Battery
5.0

Pros

  • Excellent for texting and calls

Cons

  • Extremely low memory Ram

QWERTY-Keyboard-Fan alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

jammin969 posted on Nov 01, 2012, 3:39 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 01, 2012

4.0

worst phone I have ever owned

jammin969 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Battery life is terrible: about 10 hours before battery dies without using GPS, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or making any active calls. Touchscreen has lots of sensitivity issues. Managing emails is a total mess. Does not hold calls well in low reception areas. About the only plus is the camera is pretty good.

Build quality
2.0
Reception
3.0
Call quality
5.0
Internet
5.0
Multimedia
5.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
1.0
Everyday usage
1.0
Text input
4.0
Display
7.0
Battery
1.0

Pros

  • decent camera

Cons

  • Battery
  • Battery
  • Battery (yes it is that bad)
  • Slow
  • Drops calls
  • Touchscreen has serious issues

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

jiffy247 posted on Feb 26, 2012, 1:56 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jan 22, 2012

9.0

real quality pocket power....

jiffy247 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I've had this phone for about 3 weeks and i gotta say........I'm impressed. the look, feel and performance of the admiral is overall great for that person that does almost everything with their phone but doesn't want the bulkiness of lets say the size of an EVO ( which i actually switched from). as soon as sprint gets the PTT up and running to a decent level it will be a very versatile phone...

Build quality
10.0
fits in the hand very well, and the pocket
Reception
9.0
not the phone, but sprint.
Call quality
8.0
call quality is great EXCEPT for the sprint PTT
Internet
10.0
fast browser, alot of email acounts and doesn't clog
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
8.0
could have an 8 mega pixel but still a good camera
UI speed
9.0
i love how fast it is for as small it is, wouldn't change it at all..
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
blackberry die hards will go crazy for this phone( i was one).
Display
10.0
its perfect for me but if someone had bad sight then i could understand why they wouldn't like this screen.
Battery
10.0
as i am writing this, i havent plugged my phone to charge since yesterday morning..

Pros

  • keyboard
  • fit in hand very nicely
  • battery life

Cons

  • PTT( but thats not the phones fault)

Is this review helpful?

Report

jsmattes posted on Jan 05, 2012, 11:21 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Aug 05, 2011

10.0

AN Android Treo

jsmattes has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Finally A phone a phone that will make me forget how much I miss my Treo. A step up from the XPRT. Silky smooth. The portrait keyboard is ideal. The screen bright and the glass feels slick, your fingers glide.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
9.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

autoexec.bat posted on Nov 14, 2011, 8:42 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 11, 2011

9.0

LOVE This Phone

autoexec.bat has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone is fantastic. I've been waiting for a non-low-end QWERTY Android phone. I wanted this phone so bad I signed a two-year contract for it, and I am not sorry. Reception on Sprint's network is fantastic. Specifically, at my desk at work my signal is poor (around -109 dBm) and I can hold calls just fine without dropping. Amazing. That said, the battery REALLY suffers in low-signal areas - below 20% by 11pm. In areas with good signal (my house) and normal use, my battery is at around 50% by 11pm. Note this is also with Bluetooth on (but usually not connected) all day, every day. I usually leave GPS off unless I am using Google Maps.

The earpiece is VERY clear and VERY loud, which is something that's very important to me. I think this is a Motorola thing. The keyboard is absolutely perfect. It's better than the Droid Pro keyboard because the keys are angled towards your thumbs to "catch" them instead of being angled sideways like on the Droid Pro. The keys are also more rubberized than a Blackberry keyboard, making your finger less likely to slip. It makes a huge difference.

Most major apps work well. I've noticed that some apps are missing. Speculation is that app devs didn't specify Android 2.3.5 at 640x480 as a safe resolution, so some apps don't show up. Examples: Engadget app and Radio Thermostat, just to name two I would normally use.

For those who don't care about Direct Connect service, you can totally ignore it. In other words, if you don't activate DC service,...  

Build quality
9.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
7.0
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
5.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
9.0

Pros

  • Amazing keyboard
  • Huge battery
  • *LOUD* earpiece and speaker
  • Call quality is amazing even w/ low signal
  • High resolution for screen size

Cons

  • So-so camera
  • Battery drain
  • Wifi is flaky
  • Apps missing from Android Market

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.