Kyocera Echo User Reviews

Overall user rating

8.8

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality
10.0
Text input
9.5
Everyday usage
9.2
UI speed
9.0
Camera
8.0
Multimedia
9.5
Internet
8.2
Call quality
8.5
Battery
8.0
Reception
8.2
Display
9.0
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

Vegas89 posted on Jul 10, 2011, 6:11 PM
Posts: 51; Member since: Mar 15, 2010

8.0

It's more then a neat feature....

Vegas89 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

So I can actually say that they got it right.

It's very well built, in a time of lightweight glass and plastic phones I'm glad to see a solid, metal glass and heavy duty plastic device, albeit it is heavier then pretty much any other phone on any network.

It's responsive, very responsive. Even the Evo 3D and Epic don't hold a candle to it. I've tried everything I can think of to legitimately slow it down to a crawl with no luck. A responsive phone is a great phone.

Now for the big one, having 2 screens is way better then having just 1. I thought when I first saw it that it would be botched on levels I only thought few OEMs are capable of (*cough*Samsung*cough*) but from running 2 apps at once, running flash heavy web pages across 2 screens, or just playing a game on both while moving back and forth between text messaging and checking facebook, Kyocera might as well be in a league of there own with this phone.

As for the other pros, 3G speeds aren't bad, way better then my Moment. Camera is respectable although not the greatest. And the second battery and it's cool charger is a lifesaver if you like to use both screens at once (see: Me)

Now for the bad.

The device has no style at all, it's built like a tank, both quality wise and cosmetically.
The button placement is horrible, lock above volume is just difficult to get used to.
Other are it's not 4G and lacks a front camera.

Final thoughts: They got it right, but with some minor changes it could have changed the game.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
7.0
Internet
6.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
7.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
Battery
5.0

Pros

  • 2 screens is better then 1
  • Exceptionally responsive
  • Second battery is a must

Cons

No Cons

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

hotjazzi posted on Feb 08, 2012, 9:02 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Feb 08, 2012

9.0

If your looking for a phone bussiness,teen no matter what YOU need this phone

hotjazzi has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

i would sjuiggest this phone for someone who is clutesey. To say as little as possible this phone it 10x better than any other phone i ever had. This phone is reliable and durable can surpass being ran pver by a car best pphone ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Ive had a android and it wasnt as good a black berry just sucked and i love this phone everyone i know loves it too.

Build quality
10.0
I have put this phone through hell. I have drop it off the roof, Ran it over with the car, dropped int he toilet to many times to count left ti in the rain, dropped it in the pool and this phone is still going strong has a hard sturudy builded.
Reception
8.0
The phone gets great reception and i live int the middle of nowhere
Call quality
10.0
This phine has the best call quality for the middle of nowhere
Internet
8.0
it has a okay internet connection for the middle of nowhere
Multimedia
10.0
ilove the multimedia opotions best ever
Camera
9.0
the cameria could be a little better but is the best ive seen so far
UI speed
8.0
the phone could improve the speed
Everyday usage
10.0
best everys day usagg almost never freezes and it works that well after the hell i put it through
Text input
10.0
the keyborad is wide enough that i can get my hand and thump to work. i have broad fingers
Display
10.0
best display better than andriod
Battery
9.0
best battery ever with a few expectiond

Pros

  • wide veiw
  • duradle

Cons

No Cons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Ceroes posted on Nov 14, 2011, 3:17 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Nov 14, 2011

9.0

Kyocera echo

Ceroes has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

very nice phone very underrated not enough coverage I blame its unpopular on poor advertising and nerds who want everything the fastest as possible(even if its only by a couple milliseconds a fast phone will beat one with better features in most of their eyes and they mainly base these on technical specs but because of its very lightweight software its actualy faster than my friends phone who has an htc with a new processor and supposedly faster processor . and the fact that almost any duel screen phone will look like a ds make people underestimate this phone everyone who sees it loves it and wants one but never knew about it

Build quality
10.0
Reception
7.0
sprint only real problem is certain buildings and weird blanks spots
Call quality
7.0
needs two mics one for left and right handed people I know I am ambidextrous
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
8.0
not 1080 and not exceptionally fast but very nice features and 720 is decent more features than expected and more than on most phones
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
9.0
could be a little bigger while still fitting in its design size
Battery
10.0
not only does it last exceptionally long but it has two batteries and comes with a very nice charging set

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

iammobilechris posted on Aug 02, 2011, 9:10 AM

9.0

after receiving 2.3.4 gingerbread

iammobilechris has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Had the Echo for a week now... after receiving 2.3.4 gingerbread on 8/1/11... The battery life and speed is respectably better. Its very well built, lightweight glass and very responsive.Having 2 screens is better then having just 1, camera is respectable (coming from the Evo 4G not to big of a difference) loud speaker, it's built like a tank.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
8.0
Display
8.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • great responsive
  • gingerbread 2.3.4
  • running 2 apps at once
  • pinch to zoom in browser (added in ginerbread)

Cons

  • it's not 4G
  • lacks a front camera

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.