x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

BlackBerry KEYone User Reviews

9 Based on 2 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage9/10
UI speed10/10
Camera8/10
Multimedia8/10
Internet9.5/10
Call quality8.5/10
Battery9/10
Reception9.5/10
Display8/10
Build quality9.5/10
Text input10/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

roadtrip3500
posted on 06 Nov 2017, 15:30 (Posts: 1; Member since: 06 Oct 2014)

9

Excellent combination of business and consumer features

roadtrip3500 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I've never owned a phone without a hardware keyboard or numpad, but those are hard to come by now, and the smart flip phones available in Asia haven't made it to the US. After looking over the specs and features, I pulled the trigger on an AT&T-spec Blackberry KEYone about 5 weeks ago. The keyboard not only has traditional typing function, but also reacts to swipe for various functions. You can also invoke a number of virtual keyboards depending on the app you're using. The space bar of the keyboard also acts as the fingerprint reader for better security. The screen has excellent pixel density and is very clear, even for small print. It's arranged in a 3:2 ratio rather than 16:9, but unless you plan on watching HD videos all day, that won't be a problem. There is a generous supply of Blackberry productivity apps, the usual supply of Android/Google apps, and surprisingly very few AT&T apps, although things like DriveMode are easy to add. At a generous 3505 mAh, the battery has good life for heavy daily use, and will easily go 10 days with light use. (If you don't need Location on all the time for navigation and such, keeping it off will double your typical battery life.) If you have large hands, the KEYone is very comfortable to hold... not too wide or thin. Running Android 7.1.1 as the OS means access to a large complement of Google Play Store and Blackberry apps.

While the phone is not MIL-810G or IP rated like a rugged phone, it is well constructed and a simple soft-shell...  

Build quality 9/10 Not a rugged phone, but very well built.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10 Can easily handle both mobile and traditional apps and web pages.
Multimedia 8/10 The 3:2 screen ratio will mean HD video will have letterbox bars.
Camera 8/10 Good for a phone, but I'll use my Canon more often.
UI speed 10/10 No lag in response
Everyday usage 8/10 Great for business and productivity, overkill for a consumer.
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10 Good life for heavy users, great life for light users.

Pros

  • Comfortable to hold
  • Substantial battery life
  • Packed with features and app capability

Cons

  • None

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

NUMBRSE7EN
posted on 27 Sep 2017, 07:49 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Sep 2017)

9

A Powerhouse for the Productivity Focused

NUMBRSE7EN has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The Blackberry KeyONE has been my daily driver for just under three months and I have to say I am impressed. Blackberrys venture into the 2017 smartphone game was not in vain. The impressive build quality makes the KeyONE feel like a truly dependable device. You can honestly drop this phone and worry about your floor breaking first. From it's exceptional build, its phenomenal battery, it's amazing privacy and security features, unique keyboard, ease of use,and excellent RAM management, it's very easy to overlook the less powerful SOC and lack of OIS.

All in all the Blackberry KeyONE is not a phone to pass up. If you're looking for something out of the ordinary, or something with excellent productivity value, the KeyONE is the phone for you.

Build quality 10/10 The metal frame, soft touch backing, and Corning Gorilla Glass 4 make this phone nearly indestructible. So far it has survived 3 solid falls from a height of 4 feet without so much as a scratch.
Reception 10/10 Calls come in crystal clear, and the CAT 6 capabilities definitely help boost the reception.
Call quality 8/10 Calls were crystal clear, however I did notice the earpiece was a bit lower than I would have liked, even at full volume.
Internet 9/10 My coverage isn't the greatest with AT&T where I live, but that doesn't stop the KeyONE from providing a consistent experience using internet functions such as social media, YouTube, etc.
Multimedia 8/10 This device isn't meant for multimedia such as music, movies, etc. However, contrary to other reviews, it is not entirely uncomfortable to use for such actions.
Camera 8/10 Now this one is a double edged sword. The front facing camera is definitely one of the best ones I've used in a while. Even better than my iPhone 7 Plus. The back camera however, is where I have my concerns. Yes it shares a sensor with the Google Pixel, but the software side is lackluster. Low light pictures often blur even when the preview looks sharp. In the day time with great lighting however, the Blackberry KeyONE's camera definitely gives other phones a run for their money.
UI speed 10/10 The SOC isn't the highest end, but thanks to RAM management updates and the lightness of Blackberry's UI, the phone is snappier and more responsive than Samsung's TouchWiz and LG UX. Definitely on par with Google's Pixel and the iPhone 7.
Everyday usage 10/10 Normally I find myself having to restart Android phones every day or two, with the KeyONE I find this to be unnecessary. The phone retains it's speed and reliability through and through.
Text input 10/10 The keyboard on the KeyONE is amazing! By far the greatest feature on the phone. From the shortcut keys to the trackpad function, definitely a great feature.
Display 7/10 The LCD display is a bit dim compared to other devices in this spec AND price range.
Battery 10/10 This is the second greatest feature of this phone. With a battery bigger than the Note 8, power users will see their phone last them the entire day. If you're more like me, you'll easily get two days on one charge.

Pros

  • Unique Keyboard
  • Amazing Battery
  • Largely customizable UI
  • Safety and Security powered by DTEK
  • Blackberry level encryption

Cons

  • Lackluster Camera Software
  • Dim Display
  • Lower than normal headset

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories