x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Xiaomi Mi-3 User Reviews

9.6 Based on 7 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera9/10
Multimedia9.7/10
Internet9.6/10
Call quality9/10
Battery8.9/10
Reception9.4/10
Display9.7/10
Build quality9.1/10
Text input9.6/10
Everyday usage9.1/10
UI speed9.7/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

NopeNein
posted on 28 May 2015, 10:56 (Posts: 131; Member since: 04 Feb 2015)

9

Its great, but certainly, not the best. albeit close.

NopeNein has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Might be Cheap, but leaves nothing essential and excess behind, and isnt a cheap phone by any means. for $225 No other phone could go close, its old, but gold, 2 years old, ready for another 2. although design shows no originality whatsoever, its fine though. better than most phone design out there, it might be plastic, but oh boy fantastic, and battery is neither good nor bad, but i really recommend you get a powerbank, oh, never heard of em before? its godsend.

Build quality 8/10 I love the volume buttons, but the rounded side is a bit annoying, but it also helps your grip, also bezels! uninspired (although great) design, Better than Mi4.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10 Sometime the stock browser crash, but chrome is just fine, while sometimes lags creek here and there
Multimedia 10/10 Never had a problem
Camera 8/10 Generous rating, could've been better, on par with Note 3 (same sensor albeit without the OIS), the color rendering is bad, but you could fix it thankfuly TL;DR : Same sensor as note 3, LG G2, Moto X 2014
UI speed 9/10 MIUI is surprisingly smooth, everyday usage tho with miui, is different story
Everyday usage 7/10 imma give it 7, while the ui is smooth, sometime lags comes up. for a s800 phone, its quite bad, but not really annoying, i gave 7 because, it's inconsistent.
Text input 10/10 no comment
Display 10/10 a bit dim outside, a bit bright on the night, otherwise, there's not much to talk about.
Battery 7/10 now this. it has 3000 mah, but for it capacity, its bad. really bad. yeah, i get around 4,5 to 5 hours, buuuut it could have been better

Pros

  • Cheap
  • Camera
  • MIUI
  • 2GB of ram is good
  • Class leading chipset (for its time)
  • Cheap 64Gb Variant
  • 3050Mah battery

Cons

  • No 4G (no big deal if you ask me)
  • Camera
  • MIUI
  • 2gb of ram and bad
  • But Lags Still Creek here and there
  • NO MICRO SD
  • NO REMOVABLE BATTERY

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

usernamegold
posted on 04 Feb 2015, 11:01 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Feb 2015)

8

Awesome phone.

usernamegold has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I've had this phone for 3 months, and I haven't had any problems with it so far.

For the money I got it (300 dollars), it is the best phone you can get for the money, in my opinion.

Plus, with MIUI installed on it, it has a bunch of features loaded up on it.

I absolutely recommend getting it.

Build quality 8/10 The build quality is pretty decent. I dropped it pretty badly a couple of times, and I can barely notice a scratch. In comparison to an iPhone, this is pretty good build quality.
Reception 7/10 Reception literally anywhere I go. The call quality is a different story though.
Call quality 5/10 Call quality was just OK. The sound was just low and quiet as hell, which was bad, but I never had any dropped calls, which was good. This may depend on your carrier, though.
Internet 8/10 There weren't any problems with internet. One of my favorite features on this device were the MB/s counter. Plus, you can't go wrong with Chrome.
Multimedia 10/10 Android's really open when it comes to Multimedia, and everything else. It can read most file types without any issue.
Camera 9/10 Average 13 megapixel camera. Nothing to complain about here.
UI speed 10/10 It is literally faster than the iPhone 6 and the Samsung S5. So satisfied with MIUI.
Everyday usage 7/10 I use it everyday. Mostly because of the openness of Android.
Text input 10/10 The original keyboard was left unused. Swiftkey is the way to go.
Display 9/10 Average 5 inch display. Brightness is awesome, and I can't see the pixels. I love it.
Battery 5/10 When I first got the phone, it was excellent. Battery lasted me like 13 hours, but now I hardly get 6 hours. Also, it takes 8 hours to get a full charge, which is bad.

Pros

  • Display is amazing
  • UI Speed is excellent
  • Performance is good
  • MIUI brings a lot of features

Cons

  • Memory is low

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

CrossVXM
posted on 22 Dec 2014, 22:40 (Posts: 3; Member since: 24 Sep 2014)

10

Beats the S5 when it comes to speed

CrossVXM has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Overall my favorite phone to use. Yeah, there's the lack of LTE, or 4G for that matter, but the H and H+ load pages up quickly, picture intensive sites quickly, and small downloads I may need (on average 30 megabytes) download at a very good rate (this is using it on the T-Mobile network). Performance, it beats the S5. How does a Snapdragon 800 devour an 801? I have read many reviews indicating the fact that the best processor doesn't always make it the fastest thing out there, and in this case, it is very true. I have owned all types of crazy devices, and when we compare the Galaxy Relay to the Galaxy S3, both have the same processor, but the S3 is still faster. An HTC One S puts its Sprint brother, the HTC Evo 4G LTE to shame, and both also have tidentical processors and specs.The Xiaomi Mi3 proves just that. Perhaps its the fact that the CPU/GPU don't need to be throttled, where as the S5 does due to its plastic build. Camera is great for taking pictures, but it needed more settings like Slow Motion and changing the resolution output (or the Megapixel size). The fast motion is interesting, but in most occasions, you want to slow moments down, not zip right through them. HDR doesn't seem to help at all in any picture. Sound. Lets talk about sounds. The speaker is pretty loud and doesn't sound cheap or low quality, but when held sideways, it is EXTREMELY easy to cover. I have to play certain games while removing my palms from the speaker. Display quality is very outstanding,...  

Build quality 10/10 Does not have a cheap feel like certain other devices which are high-end yet made of plastic.
Reception 9/10 HSPA+ isn't always available, while HSPA is more available at times and in sections of my area which do have excellent H+ coverage. Rare dropped calls on my end.
Call quality 10/10 Have never experienced bad audio quality nor robotic sounds as other phones. Earpiece is outstanding and very audible even at its lowest in-call volume.
Internet 10/10 MIUI has always made even the oldest of phones perform super smooth, and it was the case here as well, especially when it was updgraded to KitKat. On 4.4.4 with MIUI 6, lag is extremely minimal compared to other phones I have tinkered with.
Multimedia 10/10 Everything works in harmony. The music player could have a better equalizer, but its not the worst I have seen. Plays heavy and demanding games very smooth, including God Fire: Prometheus.
Camera 8/10 Could have really been better. The front camera has lots of noise and I wouldn't recommend it for selfies not even in the most well-lighted enviroment available. I do love the Age and Gender detection feature, as it is very accurate with those between 18 to 30. Rear camera could have been faster and supported more features. The High Dynamic Range (HDR) mode isn't very useful, however, the picture quality beats the LG G2.
UI speed 10/10 Extremely smooth no matter how many apps you add on the homescreen.
Everyday usage 10/10 Highly reliable, although LTE would really have made this thing fly. The good thing about the lack of LTE is the fact that the battery lasts longer, and you are less prone to waste too much data.
Text input 9/10 Uses Google Keyboard. Needs its own. MIUI6 looks NEARLY IDENTICAL to iOS7, and thus it uses alot of white. The black look on the Google Keyboard doesn't quite fit the overall theme. Yes, Google updated its keyboard to have the new Material look, and white is an option, but the white looks grey, and that theme seems to slow down the keyboard's animation, and so I would LOVE to see MIUI make its own keyboard.
Display 9/10 The 1080p quality looks very 1080p unlike a few phones I have seen with the same screen size. Colors are as they should be for IPS LCD, but unlike the LG G2, when held at an angle, black seems to wash out very quickly. The brightness goes VERY VERY HIGH, it surpasses all other IPS LCD devices I have seen, but iI havent had the chance to compare it to an iPhone. I did however encounter some light bleed on the top, more visible when it is held at an angle, and one of the pixels of the IPS LCD has
Battery 10/10 It is better than most phones. Balanced battery settings will help it survive the whole day, while Performance will keep it up for several hours. I love how fast it charges as well.

Pros

  • Outstanding battery life
  • Fast charging
  • Very smooth
  • Superb for gaming
  • Excellent for movies
  • Few (if any) dropped calls
  • Outstanding earpiece quality
  • Great sounding speaker
  • Very bright display

Cons

  • Speaker is easy to cover
  • Lacks 4G LTE
  • Non-expandable storage
  • Camera quality could be better

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jonasguevarra
posted on 09 Oct 2014, 00:36 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Oct 2014)

10

Cost Efficient Phone

jonasguevarra has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

A great quality for an economical phone. The phone is far from comparison against others within its price range. MIUI is a smooth and fast OS. The camera which I use most of the time to harness my artistry in photography. The macroshot is the best that i have seen so far. The quality is almost comparable to the bulky, hardly-manageable DSLR. Would love to recommend this phone to my family and friends. Hoping to buy Mi4 soon!

Build quality 10/10 It's slim and comfortable to handle. It fits perfectly to hand.
Reception 10/10 No problem with reception.
Call quality 10/10 Clear voice register.
Internet 10/10 Super fast when browsing, not quite sure in using as hotspot.
Multimedia 10/10 Great quality.
Camera 10/10 Great camera, but needs a bit of improvement in autofocus. Manual focus is better in setting the camera.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Economical

Cons

  • Non-expandable Memory

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

undulose
posted on 03 Jul 2014, 23:57 (Posts: 6; Member since: 04 Jan 2014)

10

Bang for the buck, but don't exaggerate things

undulose has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

For me, this seems to challenge a lot of Nexus and Motorola phones priced for decent specs. But there's no flagship phone that exists without compromises, and the Xiaomi Mi 3 is not an exception to that. Its UI, despite being smooth, needs to erase some lag. Its native apps, like the stock browser, has some bugs to squish yet. But Xiaomi updates its phones with frequent intervals, so I assume this would be cured in a month or so.

Despite its compromises, there are a lot of things to praise the Mi 3 for. Its glamorous display, sufficient battery life, processor that can handle graphic-intensive games without a sweat and a lot of native apps that are very functional for the end user.

Overall, you can live with its compromises without being annoyed, as its pros definitely outweigh the cons, so it is certainly a bang for the buck.

Build quality 10/10 Its back and screen is still flawless despite being pocketed a lot of times already (and sometimes together with my other phone) but I haven't dropped it yet.
Reception 10/10 The dual antenna is really effective here. I can receive signal where there is supposed to be.
Call quality 10/10 Voice quality of callers is clear and audible.
Internet 10/10 Internet is fast (and there is even a native support for displaying data transfer) but stay away from the stock browser.
Multimedia 10/10 Native video and music player apps are very good and support almost every format. The sound output is also great too with headset.
Camera 9/10 I don't frequently use its camera (since I have the Nokia Lumia 1520 for that) but it's pretty decent.
UI speed 9/10 It is smooth, but not speedy. Furthermore, slight lag is noticeable when switching screen orientation. In conservative power mode, slight lag is noticeable when opening app folders.
Everyday usage 10/10 The nuisances in UI and some bugs are not enough to annoy me. (And aside from that, MIUI is updated at more frequent intervals compared to other smartphones).
Text input 10/10 Text input is not intrusive.
Display 10/10 The display is great and flagship-worthy, but among with other phones, you cannot appreciate displays with this resolution or higher unless you put them side by side with lower-dpi phones.
Battery 10/10 It lasts for a day, certainly. It can even last longer.

Pros

  • Price!
  • Smooth and iPhone-friendly UI
  • Outputs sound with superb quality on headphones
  • Brilliant display
  • Smart-looking unibody built
  • Native functional apps and features such as battery saver and data transfer rate displayer

Cons

  • No LTE
  • No expandable storage
  • MIUI lags when screen orientation is switched
  • Dim display on outdoors

undulose alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

PhantomSectre
posted on 10 Mar 2014, 23:26 (Posts: 8; Member since: 25 Sep 2011)

10

One awesome phone

PhantomSectre has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Ever wanted a phone that was extremely fast, has the most beautiful display you have ever seen AND doesn't keep you tied to a charger? This is that phone. This phone has one of the highest scores in Antutu. It's no wonder as the SnapDragon 800 processor runs at 2.3Ghz. The screen is gorgeous and the 3050 mah battery lasts me TWO FULL DAYS between charges.

Build quality 9/10 The phone is well put together, but is mostly plastic. The design is well thought-out using layers of graphite inside to dissipate heat from the blazing fast processor. My only beef is the SIM card tray gets stuck when trying to remove it.
Reception 10/10 Signal strength, in general, where I work is weak. My iPhone could only manage one bar inside the building. This phone has at least two bars and sometimes three. It has two different antennas that are designed differently. It constantly monitors both antennas and switches to the one getting the best reception.
Call quality 9/10 Call quality is excellent, but the volume is not quite as loud as I would like. Perhaps this will be addressed in a software update.
Internet 10/10 Internet is very fast for the most part. The stock browser needs some improvement. This can be remedied by downloading a different browser.
Multimedia 9/10 Again, the sound isn't quite loud enough for me, but there are "boosters" you can get online that help.
Camera 10/10 Sony Exmor RS 13 MP camera... need I say more?
UI speed 10/10 The operating system is called MIUI. It is a heavily modified version of Android. Right now it's based on 4.3, but it already has almost all the features of KitKat. The OS is updated WEEKLY, adding new features and fixes! Not, every six months like other phones. MIUI is buttery smooth, especially with this phone's processor.
Everyday usage 10/10 Long battery life, great reception, good data speeds (DC-HSDPA+ and 802.11AC). Excellent for everyday use.
Text input 9/10 They stock keyboard has a few shortcomings, but I always download a different keyboard anyway.
Display 10/10 The display is unbelievable. Puts the iPhone and Amoled displays to SHAME!
Battery 10/10 Two days between charges, moderate use. That says it all. My iPhone would barely last a workday. With the built-in battery saving feature turned on, you'll get even more time between charges. The battery saver only seems to affect graphics intensive games... they get choppy with the saver turned on.

Pros

  • THIN! 8.1mm
  • lightweight
  • comfortable in your hand
  • awesome display
  • unbelievable battery life
  • Available with 64GB internal storage.

Cons

  • lacks SD card slot, but supports USB OTG

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

maqhoz
posted on 04 Feb 2014, 15:59 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Feb 2014)

10

Finally The super cellphone

maqhoz has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It's amazing processing speed, screen-level One HTC, sony camera sensor very good, sound quality is standard Cruising speed is better than my HTC One, is a unique and everyday phone, highly customizable and zero freezing screen.
MIUI's own system applications make it a phone that asks nothing to any of the other options on the market.
In summary the best buy I could do.
Es asombrosa la velocidad de procesamiento, la pantalla al nivel del HTC One, la camara con sensor sony de muy buena calidad, el sonido es estandar la velocidad de navegacion es mejor que con mi HTC One, es un celular unico y de uso diario, altamente personalizable y con ceo congelamientos de pantalla.
Las aplicaciones propias del sistema MIUI hacen que sea un telefono que no le pide nada a ninguna de las otras opciones en el mercado.
En resumen la mejor compra que pude hacer.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • High Speed
  • awsome screen

Cons

  • Laks of SD card

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories