x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Xiaomi Mi-3 User Reviews

10 Based on 3 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality9.3/10
Battery10/10
Reception10/10
Display10/10
Build quality9.3/10
Text input9.3/10
Everyday usage10/10
UI speed9.7/10
Camera9.3/10
Multimedia9.3/10
Internet10/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

undulose
posted on 03 Jul 2014, 23:57 (Posts: 6; Member since: 04 Jan 2014)

10

Bang for the buck, but don't exaggerate things

undulose has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

For me, this seems to challenge a lot of Nexus and Motorola phones priced for decent specs. But there's no flagship phone that exists without compromises, and the Xiaomi Mi 3 is not an exception to that. Its UI, despite being smooth, needs to erase some lag. Its native apps, like the stock browser, has some bugs to squish yet. But Xiaomi updates its phones with frequent intervals, so I assume this would be cured in a month or so.

Despite its compromises, there are a lot of things to praise the Mi 3 for. Its glamorous display, sufficient battery life, processor that can handle graphic-intensive games without a sweat and a lot of native apps that are very functional for the end user.

Overall, you can live with its compromises without being annoyed, as its pros definitely outweigh the cons, so it is certainly a bang for the buck.

Build quality 10/10 Its back and screen is still flawless despite being pocketed a lot of times already (and sometimes together with my other phone) but I haven't dropped it yet.
Reception 10/10 The dual antenna is really effective here. I can receive signal where there is supposed to be.
Call quality 10/10 Voice quality of callers is clear and audible.
Internet 10/10 Internet is fast (and there is even a native support for displaying data transfer) but stay away from the stock browser.
Multimedia 10/10 Native video and music player apps are very good and support almost every format. The sound output is also great too with headset.
Camera 9/10 I don't frequently use its camera (since I have the Nokia Lumia 1520 for that) but it's pretty decent.
UI speed 9/10 It is smooth, but not speedy. Furthermore, slight lag is noticeable when switching screen orientation. In conservative power mode, slight lag is noticeable when opening app folders.
Everyday usage 10/10 The nuisances in UI and some bugs are not enough to annoy me. (And aside from that, MIUI is updated at more frequent intervals compared to other smartphones).
Text input 10/10 Text input is not intrusive.
Display 10/10 The display is great and flagship-worthy, but among with other phones, you cannot appreciate displays with this resolution or higher unless you put them side by side with lower-dpi phones.
Battery 10/10 It lasts for a day, certainly. It can even last longer.

Pros

  • Price!
  • Smooth and iPhone-friendly UI
  • Outputs sound with superb quality on headphones
  • Brilliant display
  • Smart-looking unibody built
  • Native functional apps and features such as battery saver and data transfer rate displayer

Cons

  • No LTE
  • No expandable storage
  • MIUI lags when screen orientation is switched
  • Dim display on outdoors

undulose alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

PhantomSectre
posted on 10 Mar 2014, 23:26 (Posts: 5; Member since: 25 Sep 2011)

10

One awesome phone

PhantomSectre has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Ever wanted a phone that was extremely fast, has the most beautiful display you have ever seen AND doesn't keep you tied to a charger? This is that phone. This phone has one of the highest scores in Antutu. It's no wonder as the SnapDragon 800 processor runs at 2.3Ghz. The screen is gorgeous and the 3050 mah battery lasts me TWO FULL DAYS between charges.

Build quality 9/10 The phone is well put together, but is mostly plastic. The design is well thought-out using layers of graphite inside to dissipate heat from the blazing fast processor. My only beef is the SIM card tray gets stuck when trying to remove it.
Reception 10/10 Signal strength, in general, where I work is weak. My iPhone could only manage one bar inside the building. This phone has at least two bars and sometimes three. It has two different antennas that are designed differently. It constantly monitors both antennas and switches to the one getting the best reception.
Call quality 9/10 Call quality is excellent, but the volume is not quite as loud as I would like. Perhaps this will be addressed in a software update.
Internet 10/10 Internet is very fast for the most part. The stock browser needs some improvement. This can be remedied by downloading a different browser.
Multimedia 9/10 Again, the sound isn't quite loud enough for me, but there are "boosters" you can get online that help.
Camera 10/10 Sony Exmor RS 13 MP camera... need I say more?
UI speed 10/10 The operating system is called MIUI. It is a heavily modified version of Android. Right now it's based on 4.3, but it already has almost all the features of KitKat. The OS is updated WEEKLY, adding new features and fixes! Not, every six months like other phones. MIUI is buttery smooth, especially with this phone's processor.
Everyday usage 10/10 Long battery life, great reception, good data speeds (DC-HSDPA+ and 802.11AC). Excellent for everyday use.
Text input 9/10 They stock keyboard has a few shortcomings, but I always download a different keyboard anyway.
Display 10/10 The display is unbelievable. Puts the iPhone and Amoled displays to SHAME!
Battery 10/10 Two days between charges, moderate use. That says it all. My iPhone would barely last a workday. With the built-in battery saving feature turned on, you'll get even more time between charges. The battery saver only seems to affect graphics intensive games... they get choppy with the saver turned on.

Pros

  • THIN! 8.1mm
  • lightweight
  • comfortable in your hand
  • awesome display
  • unbelievable battery life
  • Available with 64GB internal storage.

Cons

  • lacks SD card slot, but supports USB OTG

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

maqhoz
posted on 04 Feb 2014, 15:59 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Feb 2014)

10

Finally The super cellphone

maqhoz has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It's amazing processing speed, screen-level One HTC, sony camera sensor very good, sound quality is standard Cruising speed is better than my HTC One, is a unique and everyday phone, highly customizable and zero freezing screen.
MIUI's own system applications make it a phone that asks nothing to any of the other options on the market.
In summary the best buy I could do.
Es asombrosa la velocidad de procesamiento, la pantalla al nivel del HTC One, la camara con sensor sony de muy buena calidad, el sonido es estandar la velocidad de navegacion es mejor que con mi HTC One, es un celular unico y de uso diario, altamente personalizable y con ceo congelamientos de pantalla.
Las aplicaciones propias del sistema MIUI hacen que sea un telefono que no le pide nada a ninguna de las otras opciones en el mercado.
En resumen la mejor compra que pude hacer.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • High Speed
  • awsome screen

Cons

  • Laks of SD card

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories