x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Xperia Z Ultra User Reviews

9.5 Based on 4 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception9.5/10
Display10/10
Build quality9.8/10
Text input9.3/10
Everyday usage9.3/10
UI speed9.8/10
Camera8/10
Multimedia9.5/10
Internet10/10
Call quality9/10
Battery9.3/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

refillable
posted on 14 Apr 2014, 03:06 (Posts: 112; Member since: 10 Mar 2014)

9

Some Great Aspects, But still lack in some departements

refillable has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Bought in January. I would really call this phone a mini-tablet rather than a phablet. But that's probably because I wear size 8 gloves, but still, this device dwarfs the Mega 6.3.

The nice things about this phablet is snappy Performance, Great screen, Good Battery Life, MicroSD support, Premium build quality, Waterproof and Price. We would be paying $150-$200 more for a Note 3.

However, We have issues on the Ergonomics (stated before), Camera and lack of flash, speaker quality/Loudness and Call quality.

Overall, a worthy contender if you're looking for a Note 3 Alternative.

Build quality 9/10 Great Premium build quality, but can still be improved. A curved back would help a little.
Reception 9/10 Does receive signals pretty well for it's class, but surely not the best.
Call quality 7/10 Pretty Average call quality to be honest.
Internet 10/10 The snappy Snapdragon 800 SoC and the 6.4" display lets internet Browsing a breeze. I am using Dolphin Browser.
Multimedia 10/10 Great 6.4" screen and fluid operations of the device lets you have a great experience on multimedia.
Camera 6/10 This is where We're dissapointed the most. Outside, the 8MP shooter could give an OK result, does preserve details pretty well, but colours are sometimes not accurate. But indoors, the lack of flash forced us to crank up the ISO setting and have horrible noise in the pictures. Although buying an external flash could help, it will subtract your bank account at least $50.
UI speed 10/10 Blazing fast for it's class. It's SD 800 afterall.
Everyday usage 8/10 Great, but not perfect. Does do tasks very well, but the ergonomics limits it somewhat.
Text input 9/10 We have very few issues with the Z Ultra's keyboard.
Display 10/10 Gorgeous screen. Excellent for it's class.
Battery 9/10 Could be improved, but the battery can last a day on us with a moderate to heavy usage. Charging with the original adapter only takes 30 minutes at most.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

plok888
posted on 09 Mar 2014, 17:29 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Mar 2014)

10

Best Phone Ever!

plok888 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have had this phone for awhile now and I can safely say, this phone has been one of the best experiences of my life. This phone brings joy to my tortured heart as my wife had recently left me. This phone adds meaning to my life. Recommend to everyone! 10/10

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Very good phone.

Cons

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sconerad
posted on 16 Jan 2014, 20:38 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Jan 2014)

9

Best phone I have owned yet

sconerad has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Bought this phone at Christmas, and having come from the HTC one, it felt massive, but after about a week, I got used the the size and felt like it was an actual phone, it has amazingly nice colours and its a joy to watch movies on it, checking facebook is super nice as well as its easier to read everything. the camera isnt to bad, but it lacks detail, audio is a bit muffled as well, but im guessing thats because if the water proof or something. I have shot video under water in my pool and its pretty cool to do that with a phone. The phone feels of quality and my only negative would be that the protective sheet over the screen is hard to clean from fingerprints and oils. But awesome phone and would recommend to anyone looking for a large phone

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

aemyiam
posted on 29 Dec 2013, 03:00 (Posts: 0; Member since: 29 Dec 2013)

10

Make Believe

aemyiam has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

perfect smartphone perfect smartphone perfect smartphone perfect smartphone perfect smartphone perfect smartphone perfect smartphone perfect smartphone perfect smartphone perfect smartphone perfect smartphone

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

8 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories