x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Xperia Z Ultra User Reviews

8.9 Based on 15 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage8.7/10
UI speed9.3/10
Camera6.5/10
Multimedia9.3/10
Internet9.3/10
Call quality8.4/10
Battery8.7/10
Reception8.9/10
Display9.1/10
Build quality9.2/10
Text input9.1/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

theevil951
posted on 3 days ago, 02:34 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Jun 2015)

10

Same as Sconerad said

theevil951 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Bought this phone at Christmas, and having come from the HTC one, it felt massive, but after about a week, I got used the the size and felt like it was an actual phone, it has amazingly nice colours and its a joy to watch movies on it, checking facebook is super nice as well as its easier to read everything. the camera isnt to bad, but it lacks detail, audio is a bit muffled as well, but im guessing thats because if the water proof or something. I have shot video under water in my pool and its pretty cool to do that with a phone. The phone feels of quality and my only negative would be that the protective sheet over the screen is hard to clean from fingerprints and oils. But awesome phone and would recommend to anyone looking for a large phone

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Takeharu
posted on 18 May 2015, 08:05 (Posts: 126; Member since: 28 Oct 2013)

8

There is nothing quite like it

Takeharu has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Had an amazing time using the phone but the size became more of a hassle every week. It was unfortunate since I still really like this phone but it's just too clumsy for everyday use. If you can get past the size though you should totally get it! It's really affordable and worth every penny.

Build quality 8/10 Very luxurious but the dual glass makes it rather fragile in my opinion.
Reception 8/10 Never had any issues.
Call quality 7/10 Earpiece could be better but it's average.
Internet 10/10 With a screen like this you simply can't go wrong.
Multimedia 10/10 With a screen like this you simply can't go wrong. The best multimedia device out there! If only the speaker was better.
Camera 6/10 Fine in bright daylight but otherwise it's really meh.
UI speed 9/10 Even in 2015 the Snapdragon 800 performs great!
Everyday usage 8/10 Clumsy but if you can put up with the size absolutely brilliant.
Text input 10/10 The keyboard is large and that makes typing really easy.
Display 9/10 It's not the brightest nor the punchiest but it is one of the most enjoyable displays out there because of it's size.
Battery 7/10 Could get through a full day but nothing more.

Pros

  • Design
  • Premium materials
  • Fast
  • Large display

Cons

  • Camera
  • Fragile
  • Size

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

the_matchless
posted on 26 Apr 2015, 05:58 (Posts: 64; Member since: 01 Apr 2012)

9

A very unique Great Phablet

the_matchless has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Recommended as a good companion Tablet / Phablet. Specially at the price it is currently available, it could be the best thing money can buy if you need a very portable elegant device that can serve as a tablet with a variety of connectivity options and can last through a day with out any issue. Works well with lollipop, it's just the phone book is a bit slow.

Build quality 10/10 It is quite commendable what they have achieved with that size and the materials used. Feels truly premium.
Reception 9/10 Fairly good haven't had much trouble staying connected even in weak signals areas.
Call quality 9/10 Dunno if speaker placement is also considerable in call quality but that's one issue that is faced while taking a call. Due to its size one needs to be mindful of placing the speaker at the right place on the ear.
Internet 9/10 No real gripes here works very very well
Multimedia 9/10 Could use more native codec support, however, on android with such a future proof capable device, adding more is absolutely no sweat.
Camera 7/10 No flash, nothing special but then its not a camera phone to start with.
UI speed 10/10 No issues there. Sony has always been the snappier one.
Everyday usage 9/10 Apart from the fact that its huge, its the most manageable if taken as a mini tablet or reasonably manageable if taken as a kingsize phablet
Text input 8/10 Text input is not bad but then nothing spectacular either. It works well and is definitely among the best in class
Display 8/10 Good Viewing angles, good color reproduction, Nicely sharp, but could be brighter.
Battery 9/10 Easily lasts through the day with heavy usage mainly internet

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

bashar1975
posted on 10 Mar 2015, 06:05 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 Mar 2015)

10

its an amazing mobile .

bashar1975 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

its the most amazing device aver , i dont thinl there is another device can beat the sony z ultra , its waterproof , build from hard glass from both sides with thin body and elegance to hold , everything about it is amazing .

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

leswithe
posted on 20 Feb 2015, 06:48 (Posts: 0; Member since: 20 Feb 2015)

2

Do not buy this phone

leswithe has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I bought an Xperia Ultra Z in July 2014.
The sound has always been unreliable, it cuts out several times a day and needs several reboots before the sound comes back. Also the phone will buzz uncontrollably for no reason and won't stop buzzing till I turn it off. The phone is unusable, I can't make or receive phone calls as the sound cuts out every time. Nor can I play music or watch movies or use any apps with sound. Software updates do not fix it.
I have sent it back for repair three times to the official Sony Repair centre. The first two times they replaced parts and sent it back with exactly the same problems as before. The final time I have received an email saying they cannot repair under warranty and inviting me to buy another phone or pay to have the faulty phone returned. There is no explanation with the email as to why the phone cannot be repaired under warranty - maybe it was because this time I enclosed a note with the phone asking them to actually fix it this time and test before sending back or else give me a replacement.
This service is appalling and insulting.

Build quality 2/10 Very shoddily made
Reception 2/10
Call quality 2/10 I cannot make calls with it as the sound does not work
Internet 2/10 It's ok
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 2/10
Display 2/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

  • Looks nice

Cons

  • Buggy
  • Sound does not work
  • Dreadful customer service
  • Unrepairable

0 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nomiking8
posted on 02 Jan 2015, 00:09 (Posts: 7; Member since: 29 Dec 2014)

10

Best Phablit phone

nomiking8 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Best ever phablet that i used.i buy note 3 also but after a month i sold out bec samsung gave very uggly interface to its phablet....Also sony is best in putting latest android veraions in its smartphones. Cell phone only got flash lack..else very cooool

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

Cons

  • Flash Lacks

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ostrik23
posted on 10 Nov 2014, 10:23 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 Nov 2014)

8

A blazing fast phone, and a great phablet.

ostrik23 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Sony is back, yet again, with one of it's engineering masterpieces, and the xperia Z ultra does absolutely not fail to deliver.

Build quality: The Xperia Z ultra is made of glass and brushed aluminum and feels extremely premium when holding it. It's heavy, but that's compensated for by the behemoth of a screen (which you by now know is completely ridiculous)

Reception: It's reception, considering it's octaband is amazing, it picks up just about anywhere where there's a slight bit of reception to receive.

Call quality: The sounds of the sony xperia Z ultra is just about okay, it's a tad on the quiet side, but that's probably because of its IP58 water resistant sertification.

Internet: The internet browsing is a blaze, and is incredibly smooth on the snapdragon 800. The only thing the Z ultra lacks is a back button in the browser.

Multimedia: This is what the xperia Z ultra is made for. It's hands down a media phone with amazing possibilities.

Camera: This is where sony absolute fails to deliver. The camera produces bad to mediocre shots even in perfect light conditions. It has no flash to compensate for the lack of light either, so if you're into a phone for its camera, steer away folks

UI speed: The xperia UI looks a bit like stock android with few customizations and is snappy as hell. You wouldn't even notice a lag if it were there. I never noticed any of it, and I doubt you will too.

Everyday usage: The xperia Z ultra is on almost all areas a great phone, but it's practicality...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Huge screen
  • 342 ppi 1080p display
  • One of few stock keyboards you might be keeping
  • IP58 water resistance sertification
  • Snapdragon 800 SoC makes the experience snappy
  • Adreno 330 makes game run smoothly
  • Notification LED

Cons

  • Huge screen makes it impractical
  • Camera is nothing to brag about, quite the opposite, when you're with your camera friends, HIDE!
  • Battery is average
  • Easily scratched
  • no LED flash
  • Bulky design

ostrik23 alternatives:

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Muaz999
posted on 07 Oct 2014, 05:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Oct 2014)

10

Amazing Phablet!

Muaz999 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I bought this phone from amazon.de. I love this phone, even it's a big. Phone is perfect from screen to procesor, battery..etc. This is premium phone with last android updates (I expect and android l), for amazing price, about 270 €. Only one thing is bad.. Camera. :(

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Build quality, slim, screen, price, size.

Cons

  • camera, call quality.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

wildabeast84
posted on 15 Sep 2014, 12:08 (Posts: 6; Member since: 01 Jan 2012)

10

Don't Buy A IPhone 6 Plus Before You Look @ the Z Ultra GPE

wildabeast84 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Wow bought one factory sealed from expansys for $334 after Google Play took them off the store and the phone is amazing! From the awesome screen to the poly fibre frame and dragontrail glass to the stock pure android experience this is the phablet to buy!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • slim, build quality, water proof, screen, processor, software, battery

Cons

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jb8von
posted on 15 Sep 2014, 08:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Sep 2014)

9

Great large android device!

jb8von has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I've had this phone for little under a month. It's great in many ways and the pros easily outweigh the cons. I purchased the Google Play Edition and use this device on the T-Mobile network. One of the best phablets on the market, especially if you value a really large screen.

Build quality 9/10 Although the phone feels sturdy and is clearly a high end device, I would be worried if I dropped it.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10 Crisp, clear. I didn't rate it a 10 because if the earpiece isn't directly on your ear, it can be tough to hear. However, once the earpiece is over your ear, the calls are fantastic.
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 The best phone on the market for web browsing and surfing the internet.
Camera 5/10 The camera is average. Indoors it is below average and outdoors it is a tad above average. Not sure why Sony did not put a flash on the camera. Mind-blowing.
UI speed 9/10 Very good.
Everyday usage 9/10 I will admit that I don't have access to my phone while at work, which factored into my decision to buy it. If I was able to have my phone at work, I likely would not have purchased the device due to it's size.
Text input 10/10 Great, just like any other android device.
Display 9/10 Colors could be a tad more vivid, but the display is beautiful. Awesome is direct sunlight!
Battery 9/10 Can last a full day with heavy use.

Pros

  • Screen, which is perfect for viewing pictures, movies, and the internet
  • Ultra slim design
  • Great battery life
  • External magnetic charger (helps save you from opening and closing the waterproof ports)
  • Waterproof
  • Perfect multimedia phone

Cons

  • Camera, especially indoors
  • No camera flash
  • Large bezels on the top and bottom

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

green2u
posted on 27 Aug 2014, 09:55 (Posts: 2; Member since: 28 Feb 2013)

9

"I am thin and GORGEOUS!"

green2u has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Now that the GPE is $334.99 factory sealed at Expansys, I grabbed it! God, I love this big screen! Unlike my T-Mo Galaxy Note II, this one has the latest 4.4.4 Android and I'm banking it will get Android L. After several days use, the size factor is not as unwieldy as I expected. Thin and gorgeous (I got a thin, grippable protective cover because it is a bit slippery)! Lightning fast, no "freezing' so far. Easily fits in my back pocket of my slim fit jeans with room to spare (though about two-thirds of it is visible above the pocket). Latest 4.4.4. Coming off Galaxy Note 2 (and still wanting some of that experience), I added apps SmartStay+, Papyrus, Stylus Beta, and bought E LV Fine Point Stylus. Excellent capacitive touch for writing. I'm still working on that "sweet spot" when typing as sometimes the device feels top heavy. But thanks to the huge keyboard I never make mistakes typing anymore! Though the battery size is slightly smaller than the Galaxy Note II, I am getting the same daily battery life. The auto brightness (and overall display quality) is better than the Note II. I've only made one phone call so far and the sound quality was a bit tinny. Holding it while talking was not a problem (I really don't care what people think about how it looks up to my ear--get a life). Though the camera has no flash, the latest Android upgrade gives the camera HDR which really helps in lower light. Gets LTE on T-Mo.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10 Still a bit of a balancing act typing as it is top heavy
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10 Comparable to my Galaxy Note II battery life

Pros

  • Large bright screen
  • Lightning fast
  • Back-pocketable
  • Latest Android 4.4.4

Cons

  • No camera flash
  • Top heavy when texting

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

sabbeijing
posted on 17 Jun 2014, 19:58 (Posts: 1; Member since: 17 Jun 2014)

10

Totally love it!! After the first few problems were fixed by factory upgrades

sabbeijing has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Bought it in 2013 August in Beijing from HK smuggled grey import.

Immidiatelly Loved the design and the size. I knew that no other company will ever try to make a bigger phone since this is just exactly fit a regular pocket of normal pants. They started to increase the size recently they will ended up at Sony Z ultra's 6.4 inch size because there is no point to make a bigger phone which won't fit to your pocket in the future.

In the very first month, I had troubles with the power switch button, the screen stayed blank after calls. Couldn't hang up! But few weeks later an update is fixed this problem. After using it for a half a year the back panel got loose (and there is no screws there) the phone started to suprise me with sudden shut downs. Lost setup details and current time set all the time. The service pushed a little of glue behind the panel and it seems to be working now. But afraid to use it without protecting case in order to keep the back panel firm and steady.

Pros: Love the text input, love the screen, love the icon setup abilities, love the off-line voice recognition, love the design, love its speed and hardware.

Negativ: battery time way too short for the fun it's provide (browsing and watching anything is like a small laptop), camera out of date quality (I bet it would have been way too expensive with a better unit) Not so firm case.

Stll the most admirable and unique phone of the market of 2013-2014!!!!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 Awesome FULL HD display, rich colors.
Battery 9/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

refillable
posted on 14 Apr 2014, 03:06 (Posts: 832; Member since: 10 Mar 2014)

9

Some Great Aspects, But still lack in some departements

refillable has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Bought in January. I would really call this phone a mini-tablet rather than a phablet. But that's probably because I wear size 8 gloves, but still, this device dwarfs the Mega 6.3.

The nice things about this phablet is snappy Performance, Great screen, Good Battery Life, MicroSD support, Premium build quality, Waterproof and Price. We would be paying $150-$200 more for a Note 3.

However, We have issues on the Ergonomics (stated before), Camera and lack of flash, speaker quality/Loudness and Call quality.

Overall, a worthy contender if you're looking for a Note 3 Alternative.

Build quality 9/10 Great Premium build quality, but can still be improved. A curved back would help a little.
Reception 9/10 Does receive signals pretty well for it's class, but surely not the best.
Call quality 7/10 Pretty Average call quality to be honest.
Internet 10/10 The snappy Snapdragon 800 SoC and the 6.4" display lets internet Browsing a breeze. I am using Dolphin Browser.
Multimedia 10/10 Great 6.4" screen and fluid operations of the device lets you have a great experience on multimedia.
Camera 6/10 This is where We're dissapointed the most. Outside, the 8MP shooter could give an OK result, does preserve details pretty well, but colours are sometimes not accurate. But indoors, the lack of flash forced us to crank up the ISO setting and have horrible noise in the pictures. Although buying an external flash could help, it will subtract your bank account at least $50.
UI speed 10/10 Blazing fast for it's class. It's SD 800 afterall.
Everyday usage 8/10 Great, but not perfect. Does do tasks very well, but the ergonomics limits it somewhat.
Text input 9/10 We have very few issues with the Z Ultra's keyboard.
Display 10/10 Gorgeous screen. Excellent for it's class.
Battery 9/10 Could be improved, but the battery can last a day on us with a moderate to heavy usage. Charging with the original adapter only takes 30 minutes at most.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

plok888
posted on 09 Mar 2014, 17:29 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Mar 2014)

10

Best Phone Ever!

plok888 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have had this phone for awhile now and I can safely say, this phone has been one of the best experiences of my life. This phone brings joy to my tortured heart as my wife had recently left me. This phone adds meaning to my life. Recommend to everyone! 10/10

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Very good phone.

Cons

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sconerad
posted on 16 Jan 2014, 20:38 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Jan 2014)

9

Best phone I have owned yet

sconerad has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Bought this phone at Christmas, and having come from the HTC one, it felt massive, but after about a week, I got used the the size and felt like it was an actual phone, it has amazingly nice colours and its a joy to watch movies on it, checking facebook is super nice as well as its easier to read everything. the camera isnt to bad, but it lacks detail, audio is a bit muffled as well, but im guessing thats because if the water proof or something. I have shot video under water in my pool and its pretty cool to do that with a phone. The phone feels of quality and my only negative would be that the protective sheet over the screen is hard to clean from fingerprints and oils. But awesome phone and would recommend to anyone looking for a large phone

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories