x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Xperia M User Reviews

8.8 Based on 8 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera7.4/10
Multimedia9.6/10
Internet9.3/10
Call quality7.8/10
Battery9/10
Reception8.6/10
Display8.4/10
Build quality8.9/10
Text input8.8/10
Everyday usage9.3/10
UI speed9.5/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Starz5761
posted on 07 Jul 2014, 08:59 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Jun 2014)

9

Strong Midrange Phone.

Starz5761 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

great phone with dual core krait and adreno 305 no lag and very fast performance and 1GB ram. The LED lights very nice. Fast 3G modem. Little storage : 2GB
The Walkman app is very good. Long battery life. Fast charging.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Good battery life
  • Fast charging
  • 1GB ram
  • Walkman app
  • 5mp Camera + Front facing Camera

Cons

  • could be better camera
  • Little storage.
  • No Xperia Bravia Engine

Starz5761 alternatives:

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

madmotouk
posted on 28 Jan 2014, 15:56 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 Jan 2014)

10

Xcellent

madmotouk has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This was a compromise handset for me. I wanted an SP but couldn't afford one. However I got a cracking deal on the M and I'm 99% happy with it. I never have a problem with the phone's functions, the battery lasts for a week between charges (I have to charge my work iPhone 5S at least four times in the same period and they both get the same sort of use). The Walkman app is brilliant.

The only real downside is the 5MP camera (the front facing VGA is a joke but I don't tend to use that anyway). In clear daylight conditions it is more than acceptable but anything less it starts to struggle with focus and tends to shadow darker objects, blending them together. I may look to see if I can fit the 8MP camera from my Xperia Ray as that was superb in all conditions.

Those of you who have slated call quality. Have you ever considered it may be your network provider at fault and not the phone itself?

Build quality 10/10 Absolutely flawless. Light yet solidly built.
Reception 10/10 O2 network is superb. Never any issues with coverage.
Call quality 10/10 Absolutely spot on. Never a quality issue.
Internet 10/10 Only used it once to check e-mail while away and it worked superbly.
Multimedia 10/10 Walkman app is excellent. easy to navigate, superb sound quality. Media albums are clear and easy to use.
Camera 8/10 5MP is lower than average. My old Xperia Ray had an 8MP camera. The 5MP is not brilliant in lower light levels. The front VGA camera is pretty much useless.
UI speed 10/10 Much faster than my work iPhone 5S (that's a pile of dung!)
Everyday usage 10/10 Extremely happy with this phone. Easy to use, comfortable to hold.
Text input 9/10 I use phone keyboard rather than qwerty. Much easier to use with predictive text switched on. Very occasionally I hit the home button instead of space though. Physical home button would have been better. Maybe just my fat fingers though.
Display 10/10 I have no problems with display size or quality. Contrary to the phonearena review, I have no issues whatsoever with viewing angle or viewing in direct sunlight.
Battery 10/10 The battery lasts for an age. It gets the same use as my work iPhone 5S but I only have to charge it once for every four charges of the Apple dung. I don't use it for playing games or regular surfing.

Pros

  • Stunning looks - sexy in purple!
  • Less than half the weight of iPhone and feels even better built
  • Battery lasts for over a week between charges
  • Walkman app is superb with some great equaliser presets.
  • Processor runs flawlessly.
  • Updates actually work, unlike Apple ones.

Cons

  • 5MP camera is a little disappointing considering the Ray had 8MP
  • Front VGA camera is near useless
  • A proper physical home button would have made life much easier when texting.

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

maheshgs
posted on 22 Jan 2014, 08:30 (Posts: 0; Member since: 22 Jan 2014)

9

about xperia m dual

maheshgs has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

superb! call quality and multimedia are good

Strong points: At this price range, Xperia M is the best phone to buy. The build, look, display, touch response everything is flawless and the gaming & multimedia capabilities are also the best you can find on any mid-range phone. The camera is just great.


Weak points: The internal memory is low though you can install an external microSD card. But, you can’t move the install apps data to the external SD card. The display doesn’t feel that much ‘live’ as the Samsung displays, though it’s pretty good for the price.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 amazing capacity of battery about 4 days for one charging...

Pros

  • battery life

Cons

  • hardware button

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

janish15
posted on 19 Jan 2014, 04:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Jan 2014)

9

Xperia M (M 4 Best MIDRANGE phone)

janish15 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I am sure It is the best mid range smartphone from Sony,
All is Best........
But Camera is not Best or Worst....
Xperia M have Average Camera....
You need Better Camera then choose XPERIA L, You need Best Camera then choose XPERIA Z1...

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Android : Jelly Bean
  • 1 GB Ram
  • Good Gaming Experience
  • HD Video Support
  • 5mp Camera + Front facing Camera
  • 4" Screen
  • Good Pixel Density
  • Good Battery
  • Light Sensor & Compass
  • LED (illumination) is Awesome

Cons

  • No Water proof & Dust Proof
  • No Xperia Bravia Engine
  • Main Camera is Average

janish15 alternatives:

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

darkshadow11
posted on 06 Dec 2013, 02:32 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Dec 2013)

8

Cool Phone

darkshadow11 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

great phone with dual core krait and adreno 305 no lag and very fast performance
but camera not the best i think and batteray back up bad
memory internal available only 2gb and can't move app to SD card

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kareemkiki
posted on 07 Nov 2013, 18:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Nov 2013)

8

good phone

kareemkiki has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

nice phone but call quality is so bad
but it's fast,responsive , average camera , good mid-range phone
battery is awesome
the phone doesn't heat up just little warm up in heavy games that you might never notice

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 3/10 unnatural rumble
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 7/10
Battery 9/10

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kashyap07
posted on 14 Oct 2013, 14:34 (Posts: 11; Member since: 10 Sep 2013)

9

"Best entry level - midrange phone"

kashyap07 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Its beautifully made -snappy and has everything that a smartphone (though basic) have.The LED lights seem awesome. Battery's awesome too.

The only con is the user available memory.

A must buy mid-ranger.

Build quality 9/10 Very good - seems like unibody (though it isn't)
Reception 9/10
Call quality 7/10 Some distortion , though rarely
Internet 9/10 Very fast
Multimedia 10/10 Sony's always the best in multimedia!
Camera 7/10 Good enough- you need to set the AWB - otherwise they seem to be bluish
UI speed 10/10 Very very snappy
Everyday usage 10/10 perfect for me
Text input 9/10 best in a 4 inch
Display 8/10 Not so bright - not bad either
Battery 9/10 Super awesome at this price lasts for atleast 3 -4 days if not connected to internet or rarely while in stamina mode

Pros

  • Very Snappy
  • Awesome battery
  • Best design-looks at this price point
  • Sony's walkman app and stuff like that
  • Smooth gaming
  • Magnetometer!
  • LED lights- just a wow factor

Cons

  • Display ain't that colourful and bright
  • Low available internal memory (2.05 GB)
  • Camera not the best

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Apian
posted on 10 Oct 2013, 22:02 (Posts: 8; Member since: 12 Sep 2013)

8

Great Midrange Phone

Apian has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i think Xperia M is the Best choise for midrange phone..
there have great processor with dual core 1Ghz, and big batteray..
but xperia M have bad camera there..

if you need some nice camera in the phone Xperia Z1 the best choice

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 7/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Great Processor
  • Great Batteray
  • Lot of RAM
  • Cute Design

Cons

  • bad Camera
  • Average Display

Apian alternatives:

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy Accessories

Latest stories