x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Xperia M2 User Reviews

8.8 Based on 5 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera6.2/10
Multimedia8.4/10
Internet9/10
Call quality9.2/10
Battery9.4/10
Reception9.6/10
Display7.8/10
Build quality8.4/10
Text input9.4/10
Everyday usage9.4/10
UI speed9/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Mike767
posted on 27 Sep 2014, 11:39 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Sep 2014)

9

Great Mid-range phone

Mike767 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I bought this phone about 6 weeks ago and I really liked it and I still do. I basically made this review, cause I think PhoneArena's review on the M2 is not right.
They gave it a 5 but I think the m2 deserves atleast a 7.5. The build qualtiy is good, not only does the phone look really good, it also feels really solid and its just the right size for people with small hands. PhoneArena was also very negative about the call quality, which I had no problems with at all. The interface sony is using is very user-friendly and Is just really easy to use. the battery and the display are also very good, especially the battery is amazing, I can play games and browse the internet all day long without having to charge my battery.The only con of the M2 is the camera which is just really poor but don't get me wrong, you are still able to make good photos, Its just not the quality I'm used to. I think this phone is one of the best Mid-range phones you can get at the moment and if the camera is not important to you, I would definitely recommend this phone to people with a Mid-range budget.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 8/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Design
  • Battery
  • UI Performance
  • Display

Cons

  • Camera is not that good

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Zeiz67
posted on 03 Aug 2014, 09:55 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Aug 2014)

9

A really great phone !

Zeiz67 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I’ve had this device for 10 days now and I have to admit that PhoneArena’s review is a bit harsh. Most of what is said is true. There are just to things that are really unfair:
- the photo quality isn’t as bad as the review says : as long as you take pictures with the manual mode, they are very acceptable
- the call quality is awesome ! Much better than other devices I’ve had in the past. With my former phone (a Nokia Lumia 820) it was almost impossible to make a call. With this Xperia M2, people can hear me again and I can hear them too.

Globally, my impressions on this phone are pretty good. It is a very beautiful device that feels premium and expensive even if it really isn’t. It’s very easy to use and with android 4.3 the user experience is awesome. Can’t wait to get android 4.4 kitkat!

The best feature of this phone is the battery. Most of us have always had issues with really poor batteries that last a day tops… if we’re lucky!
That is all in the past – with this phone you get a two day battery life on “normal mode”… and if you activate Sony’s “stamina mode” you can go up to 4 days! A full 4 days! Of course, this is based on my personal usage which is: 5 calls a days, 50 to 100 text messages a day, some Facebook and twitter, some internet browsing and e-mail.
I guess that if you start playing heavy performance games for hours the battery will definitely not last that long… but it will still be better than other smartphones.

Build quality 9/10 The phone feels premium even if at this price range... it really isn't !
Reception 10/10 Awesome reception... whether we're talking 2G, 3G or 4G.
Call quality 9/10 No issues whatsoever - I can hear the person on the other end perfectly and so does he !
Internet 9/10 Great internet browsing... though some lag is noticeable.
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10 The photo quality is more than ok, provided that you use the manual mode.
UI speed 8/10 UI is very smooth... though some lag is noticeable when many applications are turned on.
Everyday usage 10/10 Great companion that does everything I want it to !
Text input 10/10 Great keybord that allows user to type really fast.
Display 8/10 Screen is not the best one I've seen... but still pretty ok for mu everyday use.
Battery 10/10 Amazing battery! A full 4 days with the "stamina mode" on.

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

izprve
posted on 26 Jun 2014, 08:07 (Posts: 2; Member since: 26 Jun 2014)

8

good value for your money, Xperia M2

izprve has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I am using Sony Xperia M2 now for some time and i have to say in my personal opinion it is positioned well in the market. You can purchase the device for reasonable 200€ or 270$. It is a midrange device and it is 2.5 times cheaper then its big brother Xperia Z2. I have to say, mostly i agree with the review done by PhoneArena but there are couple of points i believe they were to tough on. But first is first, lets start with design of the device. It is great! Sony, have to say, now has the range on of the best looking devices on the market. The build quality is also ok, It is not made of metal but nevertheless the feel of the phone in the hand is good and firm, solid. One of the best features is users interface design. It is simple, fluent and easy to work with. Its hardware is more than sufficient for normal usage. I have to say, so far had no problems with overheating the device. Mostly i am only running apps such as Endomondo, RunKeeper, SnapChat, Facebook, etc, and a lot of browsing. Onced i had the chance of using Xperia Arc S and it was heating by only using the phonebook  or trying to surf the net... Also i am not experiencing any lag, so thumbs up! But the true winner of this phone is its battery. Going through the day with no charging is something normal to expect. Now to discuss the things that are not so good. The camera is a joke haha it really is. During the day when the light is ok, pictures are »fine« (you have to use manual mode and set it up to 8 megapixels),...  

Build quality 8/10 It is firm and it feels good in your hand.
Reception 9/10 No problems when making a call.
Call quality 8/10 Really good. At least for me, don't know what did you think about poor phone quality?
Internet 9/10 Fast and no lagging.
Multimedia 8/10 Unnecessary apps which cannot be removed...
Camera 4/10 It is a jock, They could probably fix it with a simple update...
UI speed 9/10 Work flow is fast and with no lag...
Everyday usage 9/10 no complains
Text input 9/10 fine
Display 7/10 Glossy when the light is high.
Battery 9/10 Cham of the day, really good.

Pros

  • UI
  • Looks, design
  • Screen size
  • Price

Cons

  • Camera
  • Display, screen...

izprve alternatives:

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

radex
posted on 30 May 2014, 18:47 (Posts: 7; Member since: 30 May 2014)

8

good midranger

radex has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

generally I am not heavy user most used for internet browsing and watching videos the phone is ok with that , good screen good processor . this phone does get the job done . and in the end of course it is not a flagship . but a good one by sony

Build quality 7/10 looks good feels good but it is huge .
Reception 10/10 no problems with reception . two sims work together never miss a call
Call quality 10/10 no problems at all
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 5/10 not so good neither in images nor in video
UI speed 9/10 no lag at all
Everyday usage 8/10 except for photography
Text input 9/10
Display 6/10
Battery 8/10 long lasting battery

Pros

  • dual call
  • beautiful notification LED
  • long battery life

Cons

  • bad camera
  • very big phone

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Shazia
posted on 22 May 2014, 06:41 (Posts: 0; Member since: 22 May 2014)

10

Awesome

Shazia has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Awesome phone i am using less then a month its awesome i have tried so many apps and games no lag camera is nice and no issue at all buy it without any hesitation i am in love with it thx Sony I have read so many reviews i dont know why people are complaining you should try it and you should know how to use a smart phone before commenting its really a nice phone i have faced no issue at all its more then what i expected....... now my next phone will be xperia z2

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Excellent display
  • super speed
  • nice camera
  • good for gaming
  • typing is soo smooth
  • no lags

Cons

26 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories