x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G User Reviews

2.5 Based on 2 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera2/10
Multimedia2.5/10
Internet1/10
Call quality4/10
Battery1.5/10
Reception2.5/10
Display2/10
Build quality6/10
Text input2.5/10
Everyday usage3/10
UI speed1/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

angelic.spectra
posted on 09 Dec 2014, 01:11 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Dec 2014)

2

Thank goodness it's discontinued

angelic.spectra has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I was so happy to have an android phone after my experiences with the Tab 2. I was really happy with the Samsung brand and wanted to continue the tradition. I was happy with this phone for about three weeks.

Build quality 6/10 Numerous drops over the 15 months I've had this, only a couple small scratches. Samsung knows how to make their chassis. The guts of the phone ... that's another story
Reception 4/10 Very easy to drop to one bar/1X data
Call quality 3/10 Mediocre call quality, have had many calls that the phone never actually rang, I just look at my phone hours later and see a missed call
Internet 1/10 SLOW! Not just the bandwith, but the actual rendering too
Multimedia 2/10 The only thing that gave it even a 2 was that Cricket's Muve service did actually work half decently
Camera 2/10 It's a camera. It does what it's supposed to, but 2D/QR barcodes are all but impossible due to the lack of auto-focus
UI speed 1/10 Is there a 0 available? App loading is slow, processor is slow, memory is absent. I had to install a 'naked rom' to get rid of Cricket Wireless' bloatware, and even then just a simple startup had my memory usage at about 65%
Everyday usage 1/10 If I had a dollar for every time I said outloud that I wanted to throw my phone out into traffic, I'd be able to afford a full priced Galaxy S5 already. Don't be surprised to find the current Google Maps will freeze/reboot your phone just starting, much less getting your location and directions
Text input 2/10 The stock keyboard has decent spacing, but the UI lag makes it difficult to start it to have a conversation with someone
Display 1/10 Tiny screen, low PPI, much fail
Battery 1/10 Definitely not as advertised. In standby, the phone lasts less than 1 day, not 11, and reading a book with the screen brightness at almost minimum can drain 60% of the battery in 90 minutes

Pros

  • Works well as a paperweight
  • Generally makes calls

Cons

  • Does not work well as a doorstop
  • Bloated stock ROM
  • Does not receive calls well
  • Tiny memory, very hard to optimize

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

CYWNightmare
posted on 23 May 2014, 19:00 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 May 2014)

3

Terrible phone dont get it unless you can't get any other phone

CYWNightmare has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

To begin with the display isnt even 720p there is no front facing camera the android version you get isn't too bad the RAM is terribad for this phone and all the bloatware you get even rooted its very laggy I have dropped it numerous times with no case on and it didn't get hurt.
Overall I think it was suppose to be a great phone but ended up sucking.

Build quality 6/10 Pretty strong phone never got hurt to bad.
Reception 1/10 other phones out perform this phone in a heartbeat.
Call quality 5/10 Dont make much calls but its good the first second of answering a call your mic doesnt turn on so they can't hear you which is annoying.
Internet 1/10 Internet felt really lag due to the very low RAM on this terrible phone.
Multimedia 3/10 Sometimes the music would stop for no reason the speakers were not very loud and the headphones had good sound video sucked.
Camera 2/10 For a very low end phone its great but in the end its a terrible camera.
UI speed 1/10 UI is terrible due to again the low ram and dont be fooled by the 400 RAM 250 of it goes to system apps.
Everyday usage 5/10 For the everyday usage of this phone its great and does a great job at being a last resort/backup phone.
Text input 3/10 Keyboard was great but was laggy due to the all mighty low ram
Display 3/10 touchscreen response was good but no light sensor made this phone bad and the display isnt even 580p
Battery 2/10 Battery drained fast on airplane mode on standby it lasted maybe 20-22 hours.

Pros

  • Cheap
  • Light
  • Very small

Cons

  • TERRIBAD RAM
  • 480p
  • No light sensor
  • Bad phone in general

CYWNightmare alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories