x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.
  • Home
  • News
  • HTC press-conference at IFA 2014: liveblog

HTC press-conference at IFA 2014: liveblog

Posted: , by Ray S.

HTC press-conference at IFA 2014: liveblog
While HTC isn't expected to blow us away at IFA, it's still said to announce a pretty interesting device in the Desire 820 - the phone that's expected to become the first official Android offering with a 64-bit chipset ticking inside.

To be more specific, the HTC Desire 820 should have the Snapdragom 615 chipset under the hood - a piece of silicon that is supposed to deliver some pretty decent upper-midrange performance. Plus, it'd be interesting to see if its 64-bit nature is to bring any substantial boost to the handset's operation.

Besides that, we don't really have too many leads on what HTC may bring to the table, but thankfully, well know soon enough! Just follow our liveblog below to stay up to date!

Event start time: 2:00 am ET | 1:00 am CT | 12:00 am MT | 11:00 pm PT (Sep 3) | 6:00 am GMT | 8:00 am CET

Live event tracker

01:40That's a wrap guys, stay tuned for more on phonearena.com!
01:40
01:39
01:39
01:39
01:39
01:38The Desire 820 will ship later this month, in September. Video time!
01:38There it is, the first ever 64 bit chipset on an Android phone! Snapdragon 816.
01:36The display measures the sizable 5.5 inches.
01:36Main camera is 13 MP, while the screen on the front is surrounded by HTC's Boom Sound speakers.
01:35A new camera app, Photo Booth, is a way to easily create image collages. In addtion, there are photo make-up functions built-in.
01:35A ginormous 8 MP front-facing camera is built into this phone, to enable its users to take fancy-looking selfies.
01:34"But of course one of our bigger stories is to exceed the expectations of our customers."
01:33The cool Dot View case is coming to the Desire 820.
01:32It's a unibody design, which HTC things will be able to endure the everyday wear and tear pretty well.
01:32
01:32EDIT: "Double Shot"
01:31HTC explains why they didn't go with traditional designing techniques for the 820. Instead, it's using a new build tech called 'DoubltShot'
01:31
01:30"We wanted to reinforce the modern smartphone style."
01:29
01:28
01:28Darren Sng, Global Product Marketing, will walk us through the new phone and its features.
01:27The answer is obviously the HTC Desire 820!
01:27
01:26
01:25
01:25"The question is what's next?"
01:24"The first product in this series is the HTC Desire 816" "It turned out to be the best selling Desire phone in recent years."
01:24
01:23
01:23We're starting with an overlook of the M8's greatness and the new 8xx mid-range tier.
01:19We're in, and by the looks of it, it won't be long before we start.
01:04
01:01Everyone's enjoying the breakfast right now, but we should be getting started soon!
00:58Hey guys, get ready for our liveblog of HTC's event here at IFA!

7 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 04 Sep 2014, 01:02 3

1. techperson211 (Posts: 710; Member since: 27 Feb 2014)


How will htc respond to Sony and Samsung? It's time to impressed the consumer HTC.

posted on 04 Sep 2014, 01:12

2. supa_dupa (Posts: 73; Member since: 21 Dec 2012)


HTC main event will be Volantis later this year, not now.

posted on 04 Sep 2014, 01:18

3. tiara6918 (Posts: 1521; Member since: 26 Apr 2012)


no livestream?is this just a small event?

posted on 04 Sep 2014, 01:21

4. julian6.0 (Posts: 26; Member since: 29 Jan 2014)


Yea i was hoping for volantis.

posted on 04 Sep 2014, 01:29 1

5. bugsbunny00 (Posts: 1254; Member since: 07 Jun 2013)


desire 820 looking good...

posted on 04 Sep 2014, 02:03 1

6. Python212 (Posts: 363; Member since: 13 Aug 2014)


i am sooo ready to get rid of my m8 for the new note 4 or note edge. It was fun but I already got sick of your look m8....

posted on 04 Sep 2014, 02:33 1

7. hurrycanger (Posts: 1279; Member since: 01 Dec 2013)


The 5mp front cam on the M8 is great, really great for selfies, especially group selfies. It's awesome in low light.
Hope the sensor and lens of the front cam on this Desire 8 are good as well. I don't like seeing cameras with high pixel count but crappy photo quality.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories