x PhoneArena is hiring! News writer

Samsung Galaxy S9+ User Reviews

9.8 Based on 9 Reviews

Overall user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia9.9/10
Internet9.9/10
Call quality9.9/10
Battery9/10
Reception9.7/10
Display9.8/10
Build quality9.8/10
Text input9.4/10
Everyday usage9.8/10
UI speed9.8/10
Camera9.7/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

htainlintha
posted on 05 Jul 2018, 04:12 (Posts: 73; Member since: 20 Mar 2010)

10

Great got greater, good got better!

htainlintha has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

No notches, still keeping 3.5mm audio jack and thanks for adding stereo speakers. It has (fast)wireless charging and still having IP68. This is the one and only premium flagships so far having all the premium flagship features you could wish for in one phone, yes, till today (Jun'2018). This is a great performer with great cameras set up for itself. The design is beautiful plus their finger print sensor placement has improved also.

Build quality 9/10 Firm and sturdy, but built with glass so -1 for it.
Reception 10/10 Good as ever! Nothing much to complain!
Call quality 10/10 It is a great phone for good phone-call quality. Stable,loud and clear for its cell-phone top speaker for calling.
Internet 10/10 HSPA 42.2/5.76 Mbps, LTE-A (6CA) Cat18 1200/200 Mbps, Thus its download speed and upload speed is better than most of its competitors!
Multimedia 10/10 6.2 inches 1440x2960 vibrant display with HDR10 compliant, not to mention that it accommodates wide angels view with screen flowing over to edges. It has both 3.5mm audio jack and stereo speakers. Additionally, you can use two bluetooth speakers simultaneously for better listening entertainment also.
Camera 10/10 Dual 12MP with OIS and variable aperture for both good day light and night shot, many reviews from professionals have covered it so nothing much to complain, not to mention front facing camera is a great performer!Really happy with their 720pHD @960p fps, and their UDH video recording with stereo sound recording.
UI speed 10/10 Samsung Experience has come a long way and it is as smooth and fluid as ever, and it leaves their old,heavily-customized, infamous touch-wiz as a distant memory! Well done on this one,Sammy!
Everyday usage 9/10 Apart from battery life, wish it could last longer with their 3500mAH (stop playing safe with battery, Sammy please!) We want more...…..
Text input 10/10 I have even used their built-in Samsung keyboard more than google keyboard, which has improved a lot lately with understanding both more languages and swiping gestures etc
Display 10/10 Their display is at pinnacle I'd say, very high pixel density, dark color are dark as ever, colors are clear, vibrant and eye-catching even under day light!
Battery 9/10 It can last almost a day with heavy usage, wish they could have done something better!

Pros

  • Bixby and bixby vision, yes, it is more useful with loads of features than both Google assistant and Siri!
  • IP 68, (fast) wireless charging, DeX (desktop like features)
  • Stereo speakers powered by Dolby Atmos
  • Dual 12MP with variable aparture and OIS, stereo sound recording on video capture
  • 3.5mm Audio jack tuned by AKG
  • Great performance and updates are coming faster for Samsung 9.0
  • No notches, thank god!
  • Eye catching 6.2 inches display with very high ppi density
  • 720pHD @ 960fps
  • High resolution and pixel density is great for VR viewing and VR gameplay

Cons

  • battery life?
  • AR emoji needs improvements

htainlintha alternatives:

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Chris_ABN
posted on 31 May 2018, 03:01 (Posts: 167; Member since: 16 May 2018)

10

S9 plus

Chris_ABN has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Very impressed. The most advancd phone I've ever had. It's a truly beautiful device that took me awhile to take my eyes off it. While it might not be the best phone, it can hold its ground with the best of em.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 7/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • IP68, BAND 71, Dual aperture cam

Cons

  • HDR content sometimes flickers
  • Front cam is last year's tech

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ANDROIDLOVER99
posted on 17 Jul 2018, 06:52 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Jul 2018)

10

excellent phone

ANDROIDLOVER99 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I've had it for over a month now and i am amazed by it. I previously had the S7 not edge variant. Its a big improvement but i wouldn't recommend upgrading from the s8 or s8 plus to it. Only if you are too tired of the fingerprint scanner :D. But seriously guys. Great display, super fast performance. It has not had a glitch for me to factory reset it before like my previous samsung phones. Love it. Especially the dual camera. There can be some problems with the 4G LTE on T mobile. But that is from the network. The edge display is just amazing having never used one before. I like all the features to it and i would definitely recommend this phone. If you have any doubts about a strong android, do not worry. This is the best one out there at the moment. We will see what happens with the note 9 in August. But do not make the mistake many of my friends made and got the note 8 instead of the s9 plus. the note 8 is a great phone but the benchmarks don't lie. If you are into a simple OS get an iPhone. If you want the best android get this phone. If you lack the money get the one plus 6. Its that simple.

Build quality 10/10 Its a better build than previous Samsung devices. You rarely need a screen protector just a case and it wont brake with a skin on only if it falls on a non flat surface.
Reception 9/10 Some carriers like T mobile can e troublesome with the LTE
Call quality 10/10 Excelent
Internet 10/10 Super fast net speed and no lags so far
Multimedia 10/10 Best dual speaker setup
Camera 10/10 One of the best cameras out there
UI speed 10/10 Fastest speed on a Samsung so far
Everyday usage 10/10 No problems with it
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10 The edge display is samsungs best feature
Battery 9/10 The battery life is great better than the s 8 or note 8 but i was hopping it would be better.

Pros

  • Screen
  • Camera
  • speakers
  • speed
  • build quality.

Cons

  • micro scratches

ANDROIDLOVER99 alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

pookie829
posted on 29 Apr 2018, 18:34 (Posts: 0; Member since: 29 Apr 2018)

10

Wonderful phone

pookie829 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I am a person who upgrades their phone yearly and have 2 phones. I have an iPhone x and a Samsung galaxy s9+. When I use them side by side the s9+ is the clear winner It has a clearer screen by a bit a more stable camera, and it is faster with apps and 8k picture downloads. It exceeds in every way by a bit or more against the iphone x. The iphone x is the only phone that might be able to compete. If you want the better phone go with the s9+ if u like apple/ios then iphone 10. If you do choose the iphone 10 you will be loosing some performance, customizability and features. The s9+ is a near perfect phone

Build quality 10/10 soild and rigid
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 the greatest camera you can adjust the saturation btw
UI speed 10/10 faster than my iphone x
Everyday usage 10/10 never lags and does everything perfectly
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 better than any phone out there
Battery 10/10 lasts 2 days

Pros

  • fast
  • the best camera
  • the best display
  • great call quality
  • great battery life
  • charges fast
  • ANDROID
  • great design

Cons

pookie829 alternatives:

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Kopy02
posted on 22 Apr 2018, 15:19 (Posts: 0; Member since: 22 Apr 2018)

9

Good android phone

Kopy02 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I had it for 2 months. I think its a good android phone but i want back my iPhone 8 plus! I try to use android but i cant stand it. My last 3 Phone was iPhone but i had before android. If you an android fan this is a good choice. Sorry for my english mistakes!!

Build quality 10/10 Premium matterials
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10 The pictures are too saturated!! I don't like the colours of it
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10 The edge is unconfortable
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Good build quality
  • Fast charging
  • Big and nice display
  • Good performance

Cons

  • Unconfortable grip
  • ANDROID!!

Kopy02 alternatives:

2 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Andrew78
posted on 04 Apr 2018, 20:36 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Apr 2018)

10

Great Phone

Andrew78 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

First Samsung phone and I love it. The camera is awesome and easy to use. Low light feature and super slow motion are nice additional features. Super speedy UI and great call quality. The unlocked version is the way to go.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Not and I-phone
  • Great build quality
  • Great call quality
  • Unlocked is the way to go
  • Camera is awesome

Cons

  • Bixby is awful

2 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Edelay
posted on 30 Mar 2018, 10:51 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Mar 2018)

10

So far so good!

Edelay has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I am really enjoying the phone, zero lag, great graphics, super snappy. The screen is beyond beautiful however I am not a fan of the curves. I have no buyers remorse, I love the phone. I am super picky about the performance of my phone and this one I have so far put to the test and it has performed great. Speakers on this thing are amazing, super loud. It has a setting for entertainment mode is it makes your audio quality even more clear. If you get a screen protector make sure you go in your settings and change the sensitivity. You will also need to uninstall most of the bloatware.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

10 out of 30 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

resjoe
posted on 25 Mar 2018, 16:31 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 Jun 2014)

10

Best Galaxy yet!

resjoe has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

My fourth Galaxy S3, S5, S7: Samsung keeps improving and making daily flow simpler. Still needs more dark backgrounds on Galaxy standard apps, maybe with P it will arrive. Larger screen and edges improve viewing. Sound is improved on kicking the tin can of previous phones. Screen is brighter and is a pleasure to view in the light of day. My accessories of choice: Otterbox Commuter case, Zagg HD Clarity, and Nite Ize clip case, all together keep my new Samsung Galaxy S9+ safe and ready to go. Wish Samsung improved there incentives on the phone as I received a Samsung TV and a VR googles with my S7 with Best Buys help. Now 30% off $69.99 and lower on accessories, sad! Did receive $100 off with preorder from Best Buy!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • screen, incredible
  • sound quality, awesome
  • speed, amazing
  • balance, safe in your hand
  • seamless flow, smooth
  • intelligent scan, flexible choices to unlock
  • camera, cannot say enough

Cons

  • battery needs more time to prove itself
  • reception also needs more time to prove itself

11 out of 41 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

udi.shoshan
posted on 23 Mar 2018, 12:30 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Jun 2011)

9

One major problem with Galaxy S9+

udi.shoshan has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I own the Galaxy S9+ : One major problem: There is no way to record a voice call .
I have the ACR Pro , one of the best Call record App, and it is confirmed that Samsung blocked the option to record Voice Call !!

On the top of this, Samsung still loading the GSM with bloatware , that you can remove !!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Very nice display
  • Good performance

Cons

  • Can't Record Voice Call (Using special App)
  • Too much bloatware !!

udi.shoshan alternatives:

21 out of 41 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories