x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Samsung Galaxy Note 8 User Reviews

9.9 Based on 7 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia10/10
Internet10/10
Call quality10/10
Battery9.6/10
Reception10/10
Display10/10
Build quality9.9/10
Text input10/10
Everyday usage9.9/10
UI speed9.7/10
Camera10/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

htainlintha
posted on 03 Oct 2017, 02:29 (Posts: 42; Member since: 20 Mar 2010)

10

Beastly phone with gorgeous screen and great camera

htainlintha has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It is one of the best phones I've put my hands on so far. I am really happy with their improved security features like voice passwords, iris scanner, facial scanner(can't be tricked with photos even without ticking higher security options), finger print scanners. Great performance, good battery life, nice camera.

Build quality 9/10 Aluminum and glass combination body, slippery but feels like a total premium device.
Reception 10/10 Best of the best out there!
Call quality 10/10 Great reception, great call quality,no need to be a brainer!
Internet 10/10 it works just great
Multimedia 10/10 6.3 inches, infinity display, 1440x2960, Super Amoled, perfect for viewing anything you could possibly imagine!
Camera 10/10 Dual 12MP camera, 2x zoom, OIS presents on both cameras, good 8MP front facing camera, nothing to complain!
UI speed 9/10 Samsung sense keeps improving and now it is really smooth (with 0 lags) for daily usage!
Everyday usage 10/10 It works great, the phone tries its best to fit you!
Text input 10/10 I am ok with Samsung keyboard, cos I always love to use live messages, cos it looks so cool!
Display 10/10 6.3 inches, infinity display, 1440x2960, Super Amoled. Best available out there with vibrant color! Bye iPhone 7 plus
Battery 10/10 3300 mAh,nothing to complain about it as it can last 1.5 days for me with normal usage, great stand by time, happy with fast wireless charging!

Pros

  • 6.3 inches inifnity display, with WQHD resolution
  • Great dual 12MP camera with OIS
  • Bixby, yes, it is more useful with loads of features than both Google assistant and Siri!
  • 3300 mAh battery life,with fast wireless charging
  • AKG ear pieces rock great audio output
  • S-pen,now it can even makes me to change my mind to use it for fun and for work!
  • Snappy multitasking
  • DeX, gear 360, Gear VR

Cons

  • Mono speaker
  • Slippery in grip

htainlintha alternatives:

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sloiz
posted on 03 Oct 2017, 00:58 (Posts: 9; Member since: 21 Jul 2017)

10

Superb phone

Sloiz has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Simply the best phone I ever used. The bigest thing for me is usability of new S-pen compared to older notes. S-pen simply feels wery natural to write and I don't even ned to unlock the phone. That means that during the metings the screen consumes less batery than before.
Even the cons are easy manageble.
Even if I like big phones the size of this phone is on limit. I hope future notes wont be bigger.

Even if this isn't big hardware upgrade over S8 it is big usability upgrade.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • - superb build quality
  • - camera totaly rocks
  • - reception is wery good
  • - call quality is excelent
  • - surprised at quality of speaker
  • - download speeds are awesome
  • - snapy multitasking
  • - display - no words
  • - S-pen in this phone is wery acurate and usefull
  • - price with goodies acceptable
  • - size of the screen

Cons

  • - position of fingerprint scaner
  • - batery

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ahmadkun
posted on 02 Oct 2017, 10:59 (Posts: 112; Member since: 02 May 2016)

10

the best phone i ever used

ahmadkun has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i can't believe how could samsung came out with something like this ... the phone is all in all it's keeps me away from my PC so i can do almost everything on it .. i'll describe it in one word ( amazing )

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

NewroticSlob
posted on 28 Sep 2017, 06:16 (Posts: 149; Member since: 09 May 2013)

10

Best phone so far!

NewroticSlob has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Am enjoying the phone! As others have stated in reviews, it's not a huge upgrade in some software/hardware from my Note 5. However, where there are upgrades; camera, screen, RAM, expandable memory, etc, it is awesome!

Build quality 10/10 Gorgeous phone! Feels very sturdy.
Reception 10/10 No issues.
Call quality 10/10 Calls are clear.
Internet 10/10 Always connected.
Multimedia 10/10 Awesome all around phone for business and entertainment.
Camera 10/10 Best pics I've seen from a phone, ever.
UI speed 10/10 Haven't had any lag, period!
Everyday usage 10/10 Not a power user but works great with what i do.
Text input 10/10 No issues with the touchscreen or entering information.
Display 10/10 Beautiful display!
Battery 10/10 No issues! Again, not a power user but there are apps to help. I am concerned about long term issues. I have smart chargers all over!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

synysa
posted on 10 Oct 2017, 14:21 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Feb 2014)

10

Super Phone.

synysa has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It is one of the best phones I've put my hands on so far. I am really happy with their improved security features like voice passwords, iris scanner, facial scanner(can't be tricked with photos even without ticking higher security options), finger print scanners. Great performance, good battery life, nice camera.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

jlewis300c
posted on 25 Sep 2017, 15:36 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Sep 2017)

9

All you haters eat your heart out... Note 8 killed it!!!!

jlewis300c has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I've been waiting a long time ever since the mishap of the Note 7 which was a beast of a phone best of it's kind even with the mishap it still pulled in the number so that says a lot about the device. But I switch to the S8+ which was a very solid & great phone but I needed my Note line and I have to say Samsung you hit a bulls eye with this Note 8... OMG it is excellent all around , top-to-bottom and no other phone will come close..

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 The battery usage is good better that what was expected... Wish for a little bit more but it'll do for me

Pros

  • Well put together for a phone the best out to date.
  • style is awesome!!!
  • Hardware is 1st class no other device can come close not even apple X
  • Multi Tasking the best
  • Out of this world display
  • 6GB Ram WOW!!!!
  • S-Pen awesome!!!
  • Camera best out on the market

Cons

  • Battery wasn't that big..

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

bdhillery
posted on 25 Sep 2017, 09:12 (Posts: 3; Member since: 25 Jul 2011)

10

Best Note Ever!!! Major redemption from the Note 7

bdhillery has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Excellent phone...Sammie's best to date!!! Perfect size for my larger hands (I'm 6'5").

I'm coming off the Note Edge, So I'll miss things like the edge usage for like messages/notifications, the IR blaster which controlled all the tvs in-house, & the removable battery.

But overall this phone is a major step up & definitely worth the money. Only questionable thing is the battery. Does a great job reserving power when not in use, but for all the great things this phone can do it would have been nice to have a larger battery to last the full day.

Sammie mentioned an intelligent battery managment system which seems to work overall pretty well, but theres still substantial battery drainage when in heavy use that'll have you reaching for the cord 3/4 of the day thru. & since the battery is non-swappable anymore you have to be a little more aware of battery management.

Other than that, everything is top of the line in terms of performance, speed, looks, & value. Highly recommend.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Top of the line phone almost across the board
  • -Camera!!!
  • -Great Display/ Bigger Screen
  • -Snappy multitasking
  • -6gb RAM
  • -Excellent Call Quality
  • -Majorly improved UI
  • -Gaming performance (ex. Modern Combat 5, runs perfectly smooth)
  • -SPen is MAJORLY improved (especially for drawing)

Cons

  • Smaller battery than the S8...& it sometimes shows during moderately heavy usage

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

New and Refurbished

Show more deals

Latest stories