Motorola i930 / i920 User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

J. Hall posted on Oct 11, 2006, 9:44 AM

8.2

Took a long time to come out with so many short comings

As I waited for "the new launch" dates over and over I assumed this phone would be rock solid in features and functionality by the time it came out with so much extra test time in the field. Unfortunately it is very far from a polished finished product. Simple things like having to use different butons to make a call in certain places (i.e. on the main screen if you scroll down to "Last Call" and press the call button it will call that number, if you press the OK button you go to the recent call list, BUT if you scroll down to "VoiceMail" and press the call button it will not call your voice mail (instead you go to a different version of the recent call list) you have to press OK on "VoiceMail" to make it call. Not a big deal, but just an example of how far away from a GREAT phone that it is. Another example, when entering a repeating item in your calendar you only have the following repeat "Occurs" options: 1. Once, 2. Every Wednesday (or obviously whatever particular day of the week you are setting the appointment on) 3. Day 11 of every month (or again the date you are setting it on) 4. Every Oct 11 (again the date you are on) - - That is it, NO every 2nd Wednesday of the month, NOT EVEN a daily option, let alone the needed every weekday and every weekend day. Don't want to bash too much, the phone is nice just the implementation is so lacking considering how long they took to launch it.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Frank posted on Oct 04, 2006, 11:16 PM

8.4

i930

I just bought this phone. It is great. I love all the features. Since I'm a fan of big phones design is very good also. It's almost as comfortable as a house phone. Sound quality is good. Could be better considering it has the ability to play windows media player. This phone is definitely the smart phone. Grade A.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Anonymous posted on Apr 22, 2006, 11:12 PM

7.6

good

good phone 

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Monorail posted on Oct 26, 2005, 1:58 AM

8.0

Not bad, but not excellent

The i930 is an impressive phone, yet the lack of bluetooth standard hurts. You can, however buy an SDio Bluetooth adapter which would give the phone native bluetooth functions. Only problem then, is that you lose your SD memory functionality. With an impending WM 5.0 upgrade, and hopefuly a discount on the $149 dollar SDio Bluetooth, the i930 will be an impressive Nextel addition to the business and high-end user category.

Is this review helpful?

Report

Robert posted on Oct 25, 2005, 6:29 PM

8.0

President

I waited along time for this phone to come out.I do like it but it has it's downfalls also.One is blue tooth and two is the 2003 os.The add on software is to much money.When I opened the onwers manual I was lost.The book is only 47 pages.Plus I can't even get a leather case to protect the 500 dollars i paid for phone.

Is this review helpful?

Report

Andrew Berry posted on Oct 23, 2005, 9:12 AM

8.2

Great phone and design, but low on recording time

the phone is big enough, its light enough, great color screen, nice that the camera has a flash, the navigation keys are bigger than alot of other nextel phone, but a 2003 operating system on a 2005 phone, thats a little weird. I do believe that nextel will make alot of money on this phone, the design is great, I love this phone big time, and the SCANDISK that must have been the greatest idea for this phone. overall I would give it an amazing 93% of 100%.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Mike posted on Oct 10, 2005, 12:51 PM

5.8

Manager - Network Engineering

I agree with the other assesments - I've had the oppertunity to trial this phone, and the same two issues keep coming up for Sprint\Nextel phones;

1. Unless it's a blackberry, Bluetooth seems to be forgotten. With all of the other business options this phone provides, somebody needs look at the "Must Have Requirements" Get rid of the wires people, Where's the BLUETOOTH.

2. Software - 2003 software for a 2005 phone, pls.

Is this review helpful?

Report

Lwolf posted on Oct 06, 2005, 5:57 PM

5.8

All looks good BUT

Ok this phone looks great I love allthe features on it but an 2003 operating sytem on it this hone should have the 2005 opertaing system on it. This is one down fall that I see and the other is no Bluetooth. They give the phone all these features but yet you still have to use a wired ear piece to talk on it. Come on now just this feature being missing alone lost many sells. In my office alone there was 3 sales lost due to the lack of Bluetooth. Some of you might say you can buy an adapter and use it that way and yes your correct. However when you use an adapter on a NON Bluetooth phone you loose all the features of Bluetooth but the wireless talk. So you cannot answer or hang up your phone make calls thru it and no direct connect. The adapter just makes the Bluetooth an extremly over priced earpiece and nothing more. I feel Nextel should recall this phone before to many gets out and they need to make at least those 2 changes.

Is this review helpful?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.