x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA
  • Options

PhoneArena is perfectly safe to browse

0. phoneArena posted on 15 Jan 2013, 13:23

Dear PhoneArena readers, it came to our attention that one of the advertisements on our site contained malware. We have immediately removed this advertisement from our pages, but unfortunately Google has already detected it, which is why some of you may be getting warning messages, upon loading the site. We want to assure you that all necessary measures have been taken to ensure that PhoneArena is absolutely safe to browse. We have submitted a report to Google to let them know about the situation, but it will probably take about a couple of hours until it gets processed, so it's possible for some of you to continue seeing the warning message for a while...

This is a discussion for a news. To read the whole news, click here

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 13:53

17. -SEUL8TR- (Posts: 113; Member since: 13 Jan 2013)

Try these websites, stock888cn 17ebook, gncrorg, yt118.com

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 14:27 1

19. sprockkets (Posts: 1611; Member since: 16 Jan 2012)

Per Google:

"What is the current listing status for phonearena.com?
Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.

Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 2 time(s) over the past 90 days.

What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 2624 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 28 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2013-01-15, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2013-01-15.
Malicious software is hosted on 1 domain(s), including adsbyisocket.com/.

This site was hosted on 3 network(s) including AS4436 (AS), AS22576 (LAYER3), AS15169 (Google Internet Backbone).

Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Over the past 90 days, phonearena.com did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.

Has this site hosted malware?
No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.

How did this happen?
In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message."

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 14:29

20. BadAssAbe (Posts: 464; Member since: 22 Apr 2011)

Keep those full page pop out off PA and I'll be happy.
Its my tablet weakness

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 14:42

21. Fallin (Posts: 70; Member since: 10 Oct 2011)

Looks like you got my email about it. Thanks for fixing it. Keep bringing my tech news. Thanks.

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 14:43

22. timtimity (Posts: 196; Member since: 13 Aug 2012)

Thanks for the update PA. I'm reading this on my iPad but was slightly taken back when Chrome flashed up with a warning message on my PC.

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 14:43

23. JGuinan007 (Posts: 692; Member since: 19 May 2011)

So is there a fix for the virus you gave me?

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 15:01

25. andro. (Posts: 1999; Member since: 16 Sep 2011)

Can't access on a laptop anymore :-(

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 15:34

28. Basharhd99 (Posts: 95; Member since: 05 Jul 2012)

uhhhhhh such a relief

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 16:08

29. nasznjoka (Posts: 413; Member since: 05 Oct 2012)

but i just received that warning right now and I had to choose "continue at your own risk" and I clicked yes

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 16:15

30. naptown2 (Posts: 70; Member since: 29 Dec 2012)


posted on 15 Jan 2013, 16:25

31. aco96 (Posts: 242; Member since: 12 Oct 2012)

I have no problems with PA website - Internet Explorer 10

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 17:07

36. Giggity (Posts: 147; Member since: 17 Nov 2011)

Shouldn't you be worried that your browser and search engine doesn't give you a warning for sites infected with malware?

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 17:46

37. rusticguy (Posts: 2828; Member since: 11 Aug 2012)

IE is adware/malaware friendly browser right from early days.

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 16:38

32. Not_Amused321 (Posts: 20; Member since: 06 Jan 2013)

My browser wouldn't let me go onto this site just recently. Said there where malware on the site and I had to continue to site "at my own risk".

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 17:04

33. shnibz (Posts: 387; Member since: 18 Sep 2011)

Thanks dudes

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 17:05

34. InspectorGadget80 (unregistered)

damn when i went on here it says UNSAFE on my FIRE FOX waited few hours same time. did u guys have like a MALWARE attack or something?

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 18:44

38. RohanM (Posts: 140; Member since: 15 Jan 2013)

lol lol lol,
I am following/reading PA for more than a year now, but never register.
today thought to register so i can comment...and bang my crome shows this site can harm, i had a big laugh.... finally issue resolved... good. :-)

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 19:28

39. MartyK (Posts: 934; Member since: 11 Apr 2012)

PA, really really needs to thank Google for finding PA issues!

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 19:37

40. Edmund (Posts: 656; Member since: 13 Jul 2012)

Adblock seems to be working fine ;)

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 19:48

41. 1ceTr0n (Posts: 549; Member since: 20 May 2012)

I wondering what in the hell happened when Firefox basically told me to abandon ship, every man for himself earlier today trying to get on

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 20:15 1

43. speckledapple (Posts: 892; Member since: 29 Sep 2011)

I love this site. Keep it safe.

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 20:55

44. yt6nin (Posts: 100; Member since: 16 Nov 2011)

So that's why Firefox and Chrome have both warned me that Phonearena was unsafe and tried to prevent me from accessing the website earlier. Thank you for removing that malware advertisement and the website being functional again!!! I absolutely love and need this site for any cellphone and other technology news! It's all (mostly) here, organized and together.

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 20:55

45. networkdood (Posts: 6330; Member since: 31 Mar 2010)

Well, just the same you have many cookies on here that try to attempt to spam my email:
Google Adsense Blocked here
Vibrant Ads Blocked here
BlueKai Blocked here
Google Analytics Blocked here
NetShelter Blocked here
Quantcast Blocked here
Doubleclick Blocked here
Turn Blocked here
Invite Media Blocked here
MediaMath Blocked here
AdNexus Blocked here
Media Innovation Group Blocked here
Collective Media Blocked here

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 22:27

46. vvelez5 (Posts: 623; Member since: 29 Jan 2011)

You should also make a mobile friendly site too. The annoying advertisement in the beginning is annoying

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 22:31 2

47. ray77 (Posts: 126; Member since: 17 Nov 2012)

finale l got my favorite site again thank u phone arena ^-^

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 22:34 2

48. reyenrique (Posts: 99; Member since: 07 Oct 2012)

uraaa back again thank you PA love ur site (((:

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 22:37 1

49. toyboyz (Posts: 207; Member since: 22 Jan 2010)

Dam Malware! Almost missed my daily dose of phonearena:)

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 22:40 4

50. wildcard (Posts: 65; Member since: 15 Jan 2013)

Wow back to business PA great to have u back love ur site better than Cnet :))

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 22:50 2

51. ramonleonjr62 (Posts: 48; Member since: 17 Oct 2012)

awesome great to see my favorite site back again great job pa love ur site and keep it safe, we need u guys ^-*

posted on 15 Jan 2013, 23:23

52. ilia1986 (unregistered)

The malware was probably all these apple articles.. oh wait - these are still here.

Anyway - gj for taking the steps timely to ensure that the site is up.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories