Google Maps not only shows you where you're going, but will now show you where you've been
The feature will work only if you've opted in to have your Google Maps Location History tracked. And keep in mind that only you will be able to see your specific timeline. If there's a part of a specific day where you'd rather not have a Google Maps route recorded for posterity, it can be edited or deleted entirely.
"Your Timeline" is available on both mobile and desktop versions of Google Maps. Since Google has already started rolling out the new feature, it might already appear on the Google Maps menu on your phone.