x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Touchscreen phone comparison Q3 - U.S. carriers

Posted: , by PhoneArena Team

Tags:

Pages
Touchscreen phone comparison Q3 - U.S. carriers
This article has been updated, expanded with more details per readers’ request. Thank you for your feedback.

Introduction:

There’s no denying it, touchscreens are the latest trend in the mobile world and with the iPhone on the forefront of technology and fashion they show no sign of going away anytime soon. The iPhone was not the first phone to feature a touchscreen- they have been around since last century in fact- and it wasn’t even the first fashion phone to ditch the keyboard; that distinction goes to the LG PRADA. The iPhone did, however, bring it into the collective conscious of the world, and since its launch a year ago manufacturers have scrambled to put out that ever-elusive iPhone-killer. There have been countless attempts, but there are a few that stick out in particular. Today we’ll take a look at three phones- the Dare and Vu from LG, as well as the Samsung Instinct- and see how they stack up to the new iPhone 3G. We will compare each phone in several categories, and give them a score of 1-5 with the top performer in each category being the standard.

If you are interested in GSM phones, check out the Touchscreen phone comparison Q3 - GSM phones



Apple iPhone 3G - Touchscreen phone comparison Q3 - U.S. carriers
Samsung Instinct - Touchscreen phone comparison Q3 - U.S. carriers

Apple iPhone 3G

Samsung Instinct

LG Dare - Touchscreen phone comparison Q3 - U.S. carriers
LG Vu - Touchscreen phone comparison Q3 - U.S. carriers

LG Dare

LG Vu


174 Comments
  • Options
    Close






posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. (unregistered)


whoever wrote this review is an idiot and an apple fan boy how can a phone get a perfect 5 in almost everycatagorey, no phone is perfect especially not the Iphone. WOW can i get an unbiased review please. this is just rediculus cell phone reporting/reviewing.

posted on 23 Jul 2008, 17:18

2. (unregistered)


i have been reading reviews from alot of different sites n everybody has rated the iphone as the best phone out of all touch phones....there is even like 5 youtbe videos that has all the phones ( iphone...instinct...vu...dare...) n all of them says that the iphone is the best...there are only 1 or 2 things that the iphne doesnt have n the things that it does have tops the other phones.....just stop hating and face it...the iphone is the best n no phone can beat it when its hacked

posted on 23 Jul 2008, 18:14

3. (unregistered)


i don like iphone and i don use iphone and i'm a big verizon samsung i760 fan.. but there's one thing i agree.. the iphone is the best touch screen phone out there.. so don be mad at this article #1..

posted on 24 Jul 2008, 00:27

18. (unregistered)


they are not saying it is perfect. they said the top phone in each category would be the standard. that means the top phone got 5 by default. it may have barely beat another phone in a category but it still beat it and got the boost to a 5.

posted on 25 Jul 2008, 13:09

41. (unregistered)


DARE is so much better than the other ones! No questions asked.

posted on 25 Jul 2008, 16:00

54. (unregistered)


i'm not going to get into a fanboy pissing match about the I-phone ruling the world and everything else sucking.... But what i noticed during this review, is when reviewed by itself the Dare was highly reviewed and 95% of the"issues" mentioned in this review were never brought up in the other one I'm not saying the Dare is the best phone in the universe or that the I-phone sucks, it just seems more than a little biased that the Dare is trashed in this review in order to make the I-phone and even the instinct look like much more superior products This lowers my opinion of this site's reviews considerably

posted on 27 Jul 2008, 21:01

95. (unregistered)


and im not saying that the iphone is the best in the world becuase there are some features i world take from the dare the vu n the instinct to make my perfect....to b honest there is no prefect phone it is all in who ownes it.....

posted on 28 Jul 2008, 11:12

103. (unregistered)


I dont think u all read the last page of the review. On a average score rate basis, the instict is the best of the four. Dumbasses learn to read before you start making judgements and all the iphone freaks are stoooopid.lol

posted on 28 Jul 2008, 13:31

107. lessthanzach1 (unregistered)


This review is a wonderful way to market the cruddy INSTINCT. We have the verizon GLYDE by samsung and if that screen is anything like the INSTINCT's then it is indeed no comparison to the lg or iphone touchscreens. This review sucks.

posted on 28 Jul 2008, 21:37

117. (unregistered)


the glyde and instinct use completely different screen technologies. glad you based your opinion of the review off of your ignorance.

posted on 07 Aug 2008, 22:33

151. (unregistered)


Ok, because VZW has a crappy phone from Samsung, then this review sucks. Makes a lot of sense. How about you at least check the Instinct out before you spout idiotic comments. If you did, you would see there's no comparison between the two.

posted on 17 Dec 2008, 15:36

173. soundofclocks (Posts: 1; Member since: 17 Dec 2008)


Actually, the person who wrote this article is an idiot b/c the Dare is the ONLY one of the 4 phones that uses a resistive screen. The iPhone, Instinct, and Vu ALL use capacitive screens. Try using a stylus on any of the phones but a Dare and see if it works.

posted on 24 Dec 2008, 15:29

174. SellPhones82 (Posts: 569; Member since: 11 Dec 2008)


The Instinct comes with a stylus and it works on it...only the iPhone has a capacitive touchscreen of the four phones.

posted on 23 Jul 2008, 18:23

4. (unregistered)


this review is hilarious. this same site gives the iPhone 3G a rating of 8 and the LG Dare a rating of 9 in their individual phone reviews. Yet, when they compare the two, the Dare scores below a 3 out of 5 in most categories??? That doesn't make any sense.

posted on 25 Jul 2008, 08:53

27. (unregistered)


indeed. my thoughts exactly...

posted on 25 Jul 2008, 10:58

36. (unregistered)


Cause the dare sucks

posted on 25 Jul 2008, 13:10

42. (unregistered)


iphone sucks! DARE kicks everyones A@@ BEST PHONE hands down :-)

posted on 26 Jul 2008, 20:57

75. a1016neo (unregistered)


BYE BYE TROLL! STOP POSTING THIS GARBAGE ALL AROUND PHONE ARENA! I will look into a Dare once it gets a proper browser & E-mail, multimedia, 3rd party apps, and exchange support....

posted on 28 Jul 2008, 03:52

98. LessthanZach (Posts: 106; Member since: 29 Apr 2008)


its not a pda you moron, so I suppose you wont be looking into it...

posted on 30 Jul 2008, 04:47

132. (unregistered)


they gave it a 9 out of 10 in their review. That's usually a good score

posted on 23 Jul 2008, 18:52

5. (unregistered)


Why did the iPhone always comes out on top in these sites? It's because all these so called news blogs are AMERICAN websites. They will hype up American junk more than Asian excellence. These stupid Americans lost out in the auto industry with their sub par build quality so now the only thing they have is the iPhone. Apple is the one American company they think will save them from their reputation of mediocrity. It's so sad really.

posted on 23 Jul 2008, 19:29

6. (unregistered)


The iphone was built in California... but manufactured in "el Asian Excellence of China", where nearly all the cheap crap in America comes from. YAY!!!! This site is full of Verizon Wireless fanbois' and Verizon Wireless Employees, iPhone Reigns supreme.

posted on 23 Jul 2008, 20:47

7. (unregistered)


So you are saying that Americans are so inept that they can't even make their own junk? They have to use slave labor? Where do you Americans get your money to buy your horrible Iphones, Starbuck's, Big Macs and gas guzzling SUVs? Can't be from selling your houses. Oh that's right, the credit card companies.

posted on 23 Jul 2008, 20:51

9. (unregistered)


As Jeremy Clarkson said, "California, the land of fake teeth, plastic breasts and plastic houses" "Built in California...but manufactured in..China"

posted on 23 Jul 2008, 20:52

10. (unregistered)


Just another example of American education.

posted on 23 Jul 2008, 22:30

14. motoman117 (Posts: 15; Member since: 22 Jun 2008)


you guys are so pathetic. get over yourselves. the first comment is just a moron. You see, if you were SMART, and you did RESEARCH you would see that American cars actually DONT have sub par quality. but no, all you morons go out and buy your priuses....the hidious, expensive, japenese prius. When guess what, the saturn aura hybrid costs $10,000 less and gets same fuel economy. Saying that this review is biased is just crap. I hate the iphone, have posted it many times, but the fact is, its the best touchscreen phone on the market! Hey man, which would you have picked to win the comparison. Jeez, get real. I hate apple, and the phone is way overhyped, but is still good. Of course, you throw in a touch diamond and Xperia X1...hehe, forget it. What are you anyway, french?

posted on 23 Jul 2008, 23:20

16. (unregistered)


Hey #14 you need to do some research on cars. The prius base price is 3000 less than the aura hybrid, and the prius can get nearly 50mpg in the city, the aura will be lucky if it can get over 30 on the highway. lol always good to have your facts straight before you make a big post like that. Oh and btw im american and i have a japanese car so i must be a moron. Anyway, ill agree that the iphone is prolly still the best touchscreen phone, but that doesnt mean i like it :D

posted on 24 Jul 2008, 02:17

23. (unregistered)


#14 - about the cars ... american cars are way too huge on fuel consumption u cant ever compare it with a european car or a japaneese... america is the most poluting country in the world big cars, big engines, big fuel consumption, low performance i hate american cars... i dont have anything with american people but the cars.......... it makes no sense

posted on 25 Jul 2008, 10:05

31. (unregistered)


ya good luck getting your iphone 3 g to work.... i have 3g service everywhere i go east west north south you get here and there its sad really, i have an ipod touch that has everything an iphone has and it still runs better...

posted on 25 Jul 2008, 10:42

34. (unregistered)


ya number 23 america isnt the most polluted country its asia...i mean they have to shut down half the city over there when the olyimpics are goin so people with asthma can actually compete haha they def didnt do that over here

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories