x We have placed cookies on your device to make your experience better. Find more info here.
x PhoneArena.com наема във Варна! Ако технологиите са в кръвта ти и имаш перфектен писмен английски,
ние ти даваме възможността да станеш част от екипа ни. - виж повече

Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Preview

Posted: , by PhoneArena Team

Tags:

Go to page

Our Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Review is now published - click here to read it.

Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Preview
This is a global GSM phone. It can be used with T-Mobile's 1700MHz 3G band, and with AT&T USA without 3G. The American version supports AT&T's 3G network.

Introduction:


The official announcement of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 was preceded by a long succession of unofficial snapshots and information leaks. The manufacturer, however, decided to finally unveil the new Xperia at the beginning of November. The massive interest the handset enjoys can be easily explained away. First off, it´s Sony Ericsson´s first Android-based cell phone. Second, it´s equipped with absolutely huge, 4-inch screen and all-powerful 1GHz Snapdragon chipset. Third, it sports a personalized Android interface aimed at seamless integration of popular social networks and services and apparently, the X10 has a lot to offer to eager fans of online socializing. Now, let´s take a closer (but still, preliminary) look at this Android.


Design:

We are pleasantly surprised at the overall size of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10. Despite its gigantic 4-inch display, the handset is not notably larger or bulkier than the iPhone. Typically of Sony Ericsson, the design is far from simple and clean. There are three buttons on the front side, respectively one for Android menu, one that takes you to the home screen and one to go back into menus. There are hidden LED indicators on either side of the Home button that lend color and shine to the overall look. The back is rounded and feels comfy in your hand, plus it sports a matt finish that is relatively good at what it´s supposed to do, i.e. prevent the phone from accidentally slip out of your hand.

The Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 is very elegant - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Preview
The Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 is very elegant - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Preview
The Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 is very elegant - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Preview

The Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 is very elegant


Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Preview

You can compare the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

As we mentioned, the display measures 4 inches and has native resolution of 480x854 pixels, just like the Motorola MILESTONE (DROID). The image quality is very good with really saturated colours. As becoming of a high-end device, the touch-sensitive screen utilizes capacitive technology and judging by our prototype, its sensitivity is perfect.

The screen, the top and the bottom of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Preview
The screen, the top and the bottom of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Preview
The screen, the top and the bottom of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Preview
The screen, the top and the bottom of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Preview

The screen, the top and the bottom of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10



All tech buffs will be happy to know that Sony Ericsson has decided in favour of standard 3.5mm jack and microUSB port. This must have been pretty hard a step for the manufacturer, but we are glad the company has made it.

Left side - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Preview
Right side - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Preview

Left side

Right side

Camera - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Preview
The SIM and the microSD slots - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Preview

Camera

The SIM and the microSD slots



As a whole, we can define the overall design of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 as elegant. Perhaps its specific shapes won´t appeal to everyone, but certainly, many people will fall in love with the concept of the future flagship device of the manufacturer.

Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 360 Degrees View:


11 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. fsjon (Posts: 119; Member since: 03 Sep 2009)


Really hope the retail unit will be fully optimized. Even with the 1Gz processor, it still seems very sluggish when switching between tabs...

posted on 04 Dec 2009, 11:14

2. keimonen (Posts: 1; Member since: 04 Dec 2009)


Seems that only Timescape and Mediascape are laggish. Rest of the OS and other apps seem to run very well. Hopefully theyll get the 'scapes optimised by launch.

posted on 12 Jan 2010, 09:50

10. pixlas (Posts: 2; Member since: 12 Jan 2010)


Yeah, seeing clips from the CES fair the 'scapes are working great. I want one noooooow!

posted on 04 Dec 2009, 12:55

3. Teknologic (unregistered)


Are there plans for a CDMA version of this phone?

posted on 04 Dec 2009, 13:41

4. SamTime (Posts: 253; Member since: 07 Nov 2009)


It's not likely that a global phone like this will come out in a CDMA version unless a company like Verizon or Sprint specifically asks for one and chooses to subsidize it. Otherwise if you're selling it unlocked, it's easier and makes more sense to make GSM phones. If you are with Verizon, I'd probably take the Droid over this right now based on a few factors. First, from what I've seen, the X10 software needs LOTS of optimization. It shouldn't be lagging like it is. Second, the Droid is a Google Experience phone and the first to run Android 2.0. The impression I've gotten from Xperia X1 users is that SE has neglected WM updates for them. I'd be afraid that SE will end up dumping this on the dev community as well (since it's running its custom UX, Rachel, the phone would need updates from SE and not Google). With the Droid, you'll recieve the latest updates straight from Google (Google Experience devices always get updates first). Third, and this is my personal preference, the Droid has a physical keyboard. I like having physical keyboards. I feel like I make less mistakes on them. Fourth, and we'll have to wait for a production unit X10 to come out first, with a fast processor and large, vibrant screen, how will the battery fare? We don't know yet how much of a drain the great hardware will be on the battery. Do you really want a phone that needs to be recharged by noon?

posted on 04 Dec 2009, 14:59

5. Teknologic (unregistered)


Word. I was just curious at this time because I am doing exactly what you assumed--looking at alternatives for the Droid. I originally planned to get the Droid the first day it came out, but unforseen circumstances are making me wait a few months before I can comfortably afford it. I figured, in the mean time, I'd look at the upcoming Android phones and see if anything fares well vs the Droid. I'm glad you let me know about the whole SE vs Google update scenario, as that is a huge turn-off enough to be a deal-breaker for me. I was mostly intrigued by the 8.1 MP camera available on the X10. I imagine the battery life would have problems simply because the screen is so huge and I'll probably be using my phone as my primary media device; music in the car in lieu of an iPod, GPS navigation in the car, and--of course--making phone calls. I'll keep an eye on the phone regardless to see if anything improves or if Sony Ericsson makes drastic changes to their plans. They already gave up the proprietary connections (3.5mm and microUSB!), so who knows, maybe they will open the software options up a bit as well? One can only hope. :) Thanks!

posted on 02 Feb 2010, 16:07

11. haley72 (Posts: 7; Member since: 16 Dec 2008)


Like an ijunk?

posted on 07 Dec 2009, 09:33

6. djmuzi (Posts: 18; Member since: 12 Oct 2009)


Too big, bigger than iPhone.. No thanks...

posted on 07 Dec 2009, 15:26

7. Literati (Posts: 17; Member since: 22 Oct 2009)


Eh, this phone just isn't going to sell well here in the States. Super phone enthusiasts with money to spend might pick it up, but this thing definitely isn't aimed at the average consumer, and as such, it won't be as big a hit as you guys are claiming.

posted on 14 Dec 2009, 19:26

8. Chromemember (Posts: 8; Member since: 08 Dec 2009)


This isn't an average phone so why would you assume it is aimed at the average consumer.

posted on 12 Jan 2010, 09:48

9. pixlas (Posts: 2; Member since: 12 Jan 2010)


The 8mpix is worth so much more than the thickness and weight of adding a qwerty. I'd say X10 beats Droid any day but has challenge against Nexus. Being a SE fan I hope they'll make it soon enough. I am dying to get an Android phone. The 'scapes seems to be improved too if you look at the youtube movies or the official blog blogs.sonyericsson.com/products At the Barcelona fair they will probably show off a finished software. Looking forward to that

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Sony Ericsson Xperia X10

Sony Ericsson Xperia X10

OS: Android 2.3.3 2.1 1.6
view full specs
Display4.0 inches, 480 x 854 pixels (245 ppi) TFT
Camera8.1 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S1 QSD8250, Single core, 1000 MHz, Scorpion processor
256 MB RAM
Size4.69 x 2.48 x 0.51 inches
(119 x 63 x 13 mm)
4.76 oz  (135 g)
Battery1500 mAh, 10 hours talk time

Latest stories