x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Smiley :) Review

Posted: , by Brian K.

Tags:

Go to page
Samsung Smiley :) Review
Introduction:

Let us present to you the phone with the worst name ever, the Samsung :).  The :)- which we will refer to as Smiley from here on out- thankfully isn’t as bad as its name.  This low-end portrait slider features a decidedly low-end set of specs, but what it does it does well.  It offers a full QWERTY keyboard, 1.3 megapixel camera and microSD expansion.

Samsung Smiley is a well-designed portrait slider - Samsung Smiley :) Review
Samsung Smiley is a well-designed portrait slider - Samsung Smiley :) Review

Samsung Smiley is a well-designed portrait slider



Design:

The Samsung Smiley is a radical design departure from the T349 it replaces, which was a bar phone with a SureType keyboard.  This time around the Smiley is a well-designed portrait slider with a full keyboard, similar to the Strive and Reclaim.  It is a good size and fits comfortably in the hand, and despite not having a soft-touch coating the back has some texture to it thanks to an embossed pattern.

Samsung Smiley :) Review

You can compare the Samsung Smiley :) with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The 2.6” QVGA display has 262K colors that give it a crisp appearance.  Below is a six-key navigation cluster with a 5-way d-pad in the middle.  There is dedicated messaging key that the user can customize for anything in the messaging submenu, be it your inbox, the Social Buzz app, IM or others.  The left side of the phone has the volume rocker near the top and microSD card slot.  On the right is the microUSB charging/data port and a dedicated camera key.  The camera resides on the back of the slide and is only usable when the phone is opened.

Samsung Smiley :) Review
Samsung Smiley :) Review
Samsung Smiley :) Review

Samsung Smiley :) Review
Samsung Smiley :) Review
Samsung Smiley :) Review



Also available when slid open is the QWERTY keyboard.  Samsung does portrait sliders well and the Smiley is no exception.  The keyboard has good feel and despite having small keys we didn’t have any problems typing accurately.  Samsung has used a black and blue color scheme, mixed up with some red accents that are nice and offer a bit of class to the phone.

The keyboard of Samsung Smiley has a good feel - Samsung Smiley :) Review
The keyboard of Samsung Smiley has a good feel - Samsung Smiley :) Review

The keyboard of Samsung Smiley has a good feel




Samsung Smiley :) 360 Degrees View:


11 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. ace1122 (Posts: 237; Member since: 23 Mar 2009)


I would refuse to get this phone just because of its name.

posted on 17 Sep 2011, 11:46

8. hellen_rox (Posts: 3; Member since: 17 Sep 2011)


ehh I wouldn't suggest it even if it had a sweet name like optimus prime. you can't do much on it unless you have internet on your plan because it's not wifi capable, so if you dont have internet on your plan, this phone can only be used for talk and text which eventually gets REALLY boring, I've had it for a year, and i already hate it, but im going to get the lg optimus t. looks like a really cool phone and its wifi capable so you can download apps and music! and the HUGE red button bothers the CRAP out of me.

posted on 20 Jul 2010, 20:36

2. AladdinSane (Posts: 12; Member since: 10 Jul 2010)


It appears that even AT&T's version of this, the Samsung Strive, is far better. If I had to choose between the two I'd definitely go for the Strive, even with all its shortcomings. The Smiley is perfect, though, for a child or tweener (IMHO). Peace!

posted on 17 Sep 2011, 11:48

9. hellen_rox (Posts: 3; Member since: 17 Sep 2011)


a tween might get bored with the phone like this. (i am 12 and i have this phone) I'm getting a smart phone so I can download games and music. The smiley is not wifi capable. there-fore if you don;t have internet on your plan, nothing good comes out of this phone.

posted on 23 Jul 2010, 02:21

3. RS9568 (Posts: 13; Member since: 22 Jun 2010)


Worst... name... ever...

posted on 14 Jun 2011, 20:25

4. travelmaster (Posts: 1; Member since: 14 Jun 2011)


i liked it companies had bad names - but good service

posted on 31 Jul 2011, 12:15

5. LaDanah (unregistered)


I just got this phone yesterday, and it's great for text messaging. The only thing I would suggest is an Internet plan. The right softkey (when the phone is closed) is a designated web2go button that cannot be reassigned, so if you don't have the internet, that button renders itself pretty useless. Good picture quality (a little grainy when blown up on Facebook and such). If you just need a phone for basic talk, text, and picture messaging, this is the phone for you. Don't expect a smart phone, because it's not by any means. It's basically your ordinary bar or flip phone in the form of a slider with some style!

posted on 26 Aug 2011, 09:09

6. rachit (unregistered)


i bought this phone a month before. I found so many problems. I an using Bsnl and reliance sims .reliance is offering 3g and Bsnl is only 2g. But i can 't set reliance as default network. Also i can 't attend the call so many times as answer key get hanged. At the time of starting phone it doesn't respond for a while. Also i can't download files using opera and uc browsers. Lot of faults. Pls nobody purchase this phone.

posted on 02 Sep 2011, 14:55 1

7. Taxfrog (unregistered)


You people are dorks. It's a cheap phone that makes phone calls and texts. Plus it can capture crappy video and pictures. Wah wah wah, my network. Shut up. Get a freaking blackberry or something. This is a PHONE.

posted on 17 Sep 2011, 11:50

10. hellen_rox (Posts: 3; Member since: 17 Sep 2011)


this phone is boring and over-priced. i can get a phone that does more for cheaper.

posted on 17 Sep 2011, 14:49

11. Larva (unregistered)


Pros of the phone:
- long battery life
- small
- light

Cons:
- taking pictures is difficult especially if you want to take more than one
- requires special headphones to listen to music
- requires special adapter to transfer music to device

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display240 x 320 pixels TFT
Camera1.3 megapixels
Hardware
184 MHz
Size3.92 x 2.34 x 0.59 inches
(100 x 59 x 15 mm)
3.98 oz  (113 g)
Battery1000 mAh, 5.5 hours talk time

Latest stories