x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.
  • Options
    Close




Samsung OmniaPRO B7610 Review

0. phoneArena 10 Dec 2009, 09:01 posted on

Business-oriented handsets are not what they used to be. An increasing number of manufacturers are shifting their focus to more intuitive interface and appealing design. And the Samsung OmniaPRO B7610 is an attempt at the very same things – enjoyable overall look and improved usability...

This is a discussion for a review. To read the whole review, click here

posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. rtimi26 (Posts: 41; Member since: 16 Mar 2009)


Oh my goodness, now I know that you guys are being biased, but I may be wrong. Unfortunately pocketnow has their own opinion so what can I say but compare your opinions and take what i like out of it

posted on 10 Dec 2009, 17:06

2. eokorie (Posts: 7; Member since: 17 Sep 2008)


I am really disappointed at this review. After comparing the Omina Pro and HTC Touch Pro2, I would take the Omnia Pro anyday. You say both phones have poor in-call quality but you give the HTC an 8 and the Omnia Pro a 4.5. The Omnia Pro literally beats the HTC Touch Pro 2 in several key areas. Processor, AMOLED, Internal Storage amongst other things. Nevermind, I will be taking this review with a pinch of salt. The photos & video taken with this certainly do look a lot better than the Touch Pro 2 and Touch HD2.

posted on 14 Dec 2009, 00:44

3. darkyogi (Posts: 3; Member since: 10 Oct 2009)


BIASED is the word , especially the hard words used against this device...I had Touch Pro and Touch Diamond and have seen Touch Pro 2 in action. Yes Samsung Touch Wiz has some ground to cover to meet Touch Flo 3D, espcially in speed; but that apart this handset beats Pro2 Black and Blue on sheer value for money. I am in India where the retail price differs by almost by 35%(Pro2 being the costlier of course) . Just for example if you want to open the windows folder in my device, it takes at least 5-8 seconds for HTC devices with 528 MHz processors whereas B7610 opens it in less than a second. I am no certified expert but i know what works for me. Better Camera, better build in memory, better expandable memory, better CPU, better multimedia, better screen and yes better keyboard where you make less mistakes because of fewer keys. Anyways....just expressing my experience ...

posted on 14 Dec 2009, 09:21

4. Schmao (Posts: 302; Member since: 05 Jul 2009)


This phone deserves more than a 7. Atleast an 8, like its brother the Omnia 2.

posted on 14 Dec 2009, 20:04

5. Hytch (Posts: 2; Member since: 02 Nov 2009)


Look, I like Samsung as much as the next person, but all you guys are being such fanbois. I think when you take into account the outright awesomeness of the HD2, the Omniapro pales in comparison, let's be honest. I think it deserves maximum an 7.5.

posted on 18 Jan 2010, 06:02

6. AAS (Posts: 1; Member since: 18 Jan 2010)


It does not deserve a 8 and it doesn't deserve a 4.5. For me, it is a 5. I was a Omnia original user and love it for the large display, big storage, connectivity, slimness but except the stupid hanging stylus which I kept misplacing. When Omnia Pro B7610 was announced (as Omnia II Pro) and demonstrated at CommunicAsia tradeshow in Singapore in June 2009, I was so taken in by its AmoLED display, Windows Mobile 6.5 and most importantly the QWERTY keyboard and socketed stylus.I told myself I wouldn't go for other brand. Last 2 weeks, I landed my hand on it when it reaches Singapore and was also amazed by how easy and fast, I could with free Microsoft Myphone software transfer all my sms, contacts, etc from the original Omnia to the new Omnia B7610. My heart sank when after that the unit literally became retarded. The inttermittent hanging just render the unit unusable. A few hard reset and redoing the whole process yield the same result. A call to Samsung service center here shocked me. The customer service officer told me that it is "like that". If I am not happy about the performance, I can send to the service center. When I ask what else will they do differently, maybe a new firmware update, he said no, just check and maybe do a hard reset. That makes me fuming as the wait at the server center is easily 1 over hour. I decided to do my own troubleshooting. After disabling the sms transfer, the unit behave quite normally. Now, I need to always delete my sms to prevent it from getting too many. Is that how a business smartphone should be ? Another thing I found out was that it can read Chinese sms but unlike the original Omnia, I can no longer compose in Chinese. What a backward move for a business smartphone. It is "like that,normal", said the Samsung customer service center. The application like SMS sucks. Selecting a name to send to require more steps like the original Omnia. It will not search as I type the name. The scrolling to reach a name is frustrating. My conclusion is Samsung knew but it just doesn't care. Having said the above negative, I really love the AMOLED screen,the camera and the QWERTY keyboard. Is Samsung listening ?

posted on 20 Nov 2010, 09:20

7. rolandojtorres (unregistered)


JA JA JA The Omnia Pro literally beats the HTC Touch Pro 2 in several key areas. Processor, dedicated graphics accelerator, AMOLED, Internal Storage, Video 720x480x30 fps, Photos 5Mpx, image stabilization, panorama shot, Photo/video editor, additional microphone, amongst other things. HTC sponsor you?

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories