x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.
  • Options
    Close




Samsung Omnia W Preview

0. phoneArena 13 Oct 2011, 08:48 posted on

Samsung Omnia W is part of the second batch of Windows Phones that are about to hit the market in time for the holidays, and judging by the “W” in the title, it is supposed to fit in the midrange spectrum of Samsung's WP portfolio. Its specs, however, place it in the upper mid-range category, plus the handset runs the latest version of Windows Phone and sports a brushed metallic back cover. Are these features enticing enough to jump on the Mango gravy train?...

This is a discussion for a review. To read the whole review, click here

posted on 13 Oct 2011, 08:59

1. Mube1 (Posts: 153; Member since: 22 Sep 2011)


Nice preview

posted on 13 Oct 2011, 09:43

2. fleanote (Posts: 50; Member since: 14 Jan 2011)


If anyone who works for MS reads this, just know I am a huge fan of WinMo, but I really don't like teh 10% loss in home screen space to put the ARROW movement in. Make a capacitive button, or a swiping gesture to get there, but dont give me a 3.5/4" screen and then rob me of 10% of the usable space when I look down at it. Its a major detractor in a new world of big bold screens from other makers.

posted on 13 Oct 2011, 10:24 1

3. Axial (unregistered)


You can swipe to get to apps already...

posted on 13 Oct 2011, 11:44 1

4. Shohid (unregistered)


Great phone for first dabble in wp7. Seems better specked than the htc radar

posted on 13 Oct 2011, 19:01

5. Hi (unregistered)


Am i the only person that dislike Windows Phone 'retro' style ?

posted on 13 Oct 2011, 21:32

6. gragonHDfones (unregistered)


RETRO STYLE??? wtf? i don't think so. samsung is the one that designed the phone

posted on 14 Oct 2011, 04:37

8. Eingild (Posts: 203; Member since: 19 Apr 2011)


You owned him. :))

posted on 14 Oct 2011, 04:36 1

7. Eingild (Posts: 203; Member since: 19 Apr 2011)


Retro? Maybe you mean "metro UI". Lol.

posted on 14 Oct 2011, 16:49

9. Zeroadhesion (unregistered)


Пич, от къде докопа телефона? :D Това Варна ли е?

posted on 14 Oct 2011, 23:12

10. rayjones09 (Posts: 149; Member since: 16 Dec 2010)


PhoneArena! I keep checking your website everyday for a HTC Titan review! Please review it soon, thanks!

posted on 15 Oct 2011, 20:28 1

11. Axial (unregistered)


I prefer the square-bodied, mostly aluminum with some polycarbonate construction on the Omnia 7. Very business-like. Honestly, I think sometimes they should save a little on R&D by just refreshing old phones. All they need to do is upgrade the SoC (for 1.4GHz and HSDPA 14.4+) and slap a front-facing camera on the Omnia 7 and I'd buy it again. Oh, and give me a 10% grey tile colour option.

In my unprofessional opinion, the Omnia 7 was in a league apart from the other first generation WP7 devices, and I've messed with them all before making my purchase. The closest phone to doing so was the HTC Trophy, because 3.8" to 4.0" is the perfect size for WP7, because it had a superbly sturdy build, because it wasn't overly huge (like the Surround), and because of the SRS sound enhancements. Camera was a let-down, however. You might call me an Omnia 7 fanboy, but I am for good reason. I want all of the WP7 devices to have the fit and finish of the Omnia 7. Nokia is looking like it will able to top it.

Oh, and the Omnia W is not tri-band like its predecessor. That means it is no-go for 3G in the USA on any network.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories