x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Omnia II i920 review

Posted: , by PhoneArena Team

Tags:

Go to page
Samsung Omnia II i920 review
Samsung Omnia II i920 Release Date - December 02, 2009

Samsung Omnia II i920 review
Samsung Omnia II i920 review
Introduction:

When we reviewed the GSM Samsung Omnia II I8000 this summer, we were impressed by its features and have been eager to see if its CDMA cousin would be equally equipped. Now the time has come as the Samsung Omnia II i920 for Verizon Wireless has been released. Though a bit later than many had hoped, but it makes up for the delay as it comes with Windows Mobile 6.5 Professional already installed, making it the 2nd Verizon smartphone to offer it after the HTC Imagio. We are glad to see that the Omnia II for Verizon retains the impressive AMOLED display, TouchWiz 2.0 interface and 5MP camera that we saw on the GSM Omnia II, but with other smartphone rivals on the loose, such as the Motorola DROID and HTC Imagio, does the Omnia II have what it takes to get people excited, or has the smartphone ship already sailed, leaving it alone on the dock?
The retail package includes the Omnia II i920 smartphone with stylus, 1500mAh battery, detachable wall charger/microUSB cable, mic adapter with built-in FM antenna, software CDs and user manual.




Design:

The Samsung Omnia II i920 fits well in the hand and is comfortable to hold - Samsung Omnia II i920 review
The Samsung Omnia II i920 fits well in the hand and is comfortable to hold - Samsung Omnia II i920 review
The Samsung Omnia II i920 fits well in the hand and is comfortable to hold - Samsung Omnia II i920 review

The Samsung Omnia II i920 fits well in the hand and is comfortable to hold


Samsung Omnia II i920 review

You can compare the Samsung Omnia II i920 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

It will come as no surprise that the overall design of the Samsung Omnia II i920 is based on the Omnia II I8000 and Jet S8000, though there are some differences, as the front Main Menu key is no longer cube shaped and the dark-maroon colored back cover has a geometric pattern that almost looks 3D. The device is relatively large and is almost as thick as the Motorola DROID, though it lacks the physical keyboard, but comes in at about 1oz less since it is constructed out of plastic instead of metal. The Omnia II fits well in the hand and is comfortable to hold, thanks to the round corners, but it is slippery as it lacks any soft-touch coating. Overall, the device is quite attractive and professional looking as it stands out from other all-black smartphones.

Left to right - Motorola DROID, Samsung Omnia II i920, HTC Imagio - Samsung Omnia II i920 review
Left to right - Motorola DROID, Samsung Omnia II i920, HTC Imagio - Samsung Omnia II i920 review

Left to right - Motorola DROID, Samsung Omnia II i920, HTC Imagio



Just like its GSM counterpart, the Omnia II for Verizon comes with a large 3.7-inch AMOLED display capable of 480x800 WVGA resolution, but now supports up to 16 million colors. What does this mean? Images and text look amazing on it, though the TFT display on the Motorola DROID isn’t terrible looking, as it is also WVGA and supports 16M colors. It’s just that with AMOLED, images have more “pop” as they have better contrast and colors are truer-to-life; making us whish that it was used on more phones. Unfortunately, the Omnia II still uses resistive-based touchscreen technology, which means that you’ll have to press a bit harder on the screen to get a response than you would with a capacitive screen, such as on the Motorola DROID and HTC DROID ERIS, though it doesn’t require as much pressure as the original Omnia i910, but a stylus is still included. Above the display is the earpiece, light sensor (to automatically adjust the display’s brightness), and proximity sensor (to turn the display off when it’s next to your face), and below it are the send, end, and main menu keys. Along the left side is the volume rocker, ok/back button, and 3.5mm headset jack; while on the right side is the camera button, lock button, and microUSB port, and the  5MP autofocus camera with LED flash and stereo speakers are on the back. You have to remove the battery cover to access the microSDHC memory card slot, which supports cards up to 16GB.



Samsung Omnia II i920 review
Samsung Omnia II i920 review
Samsung Omnia II i920 review
Samsung Omnia II i920 review


Left side - Samsung Omnia II i920 review
Right side - Samsung Omnia II i920 review
Back - Samsung Omnia II i920 review
Samsung Omnia II i920 review

Left side

Right side

Back

 


Samsung Omnia II i920 360 Degrees View:


16 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. barmalei (Posts: 20; Member since: 08 Dec 2009)


The overall design is pretty good, but I am getting really tired of the cheap shiny plastics used extensively by Samsung - and it really does feel cheap in your hand. I am glad HTC is moving away from this trend. I can say pretty much the same thing about TouchWiz - it s simply not nearly as attractive as HTC's TouchFlo (Sense) interface. The software does feel sluggish, and even though the screen looks nice, it feels like Samsung is not taking full advantage of it. All in all, rather disappointing.

posted on 08 Dec 2009, 10:14

2. shgam2 (Posts: 42; Member since: 08 Sep 2009)


I am just sick of TouchWiz. It's just so sluggish, makes the phone look like a toy, and user UNfriendly. They really need to work on a new UI because I don't think they can go anywhere with TouchWiz. I will never get a Samsung with TouchWiz....

posted on 08 Dec 2009, 13:09

3. jwl3429 (Posts: 36; Member since: 28 Sep 2009)


Well i ordered the phone last night before the review came out, i think the biggest problem is the interface not the hardware. i will most likely be adding spb mobile shell and the phone should be much improved.

posted on 08 Dec 2009, 16:31

4. SentryAgent (Posts: 4; Member since: 05 Nov 2009)


I got this phone Saturday. By Sunday morning I had installed SPB Mobile Shell 3.5. It makes - IMO - a huge difference. One of my biggest complaints so far is the browser. I don't think Opera is very good at all. Still not sure if I love this phone or not. I was really on the fence in deciding between this and an Android phone. I really wanted to see the HTC Passion(no Bravo), but didn't want to wait any longer. This is my first WinMo phone - coming from Palm -- so there is a learning curve too.

posted on 08 Dec 2009, 21:21

5. coupe68gt390 (Posts: 8; Member since: 16 Nov 2009)


I've had both an XV6800 and just recently the Imagio with no major issues, but when the Moto Droid was announced and after playing around with a co-workers MyTouch, I fell in love with the Android OS. All I can say is do yourself a favor and send the O2 back and get an Droid. It has everything the O2 has and then some! I waited and waited for the O2 and it's been left in the weeds since Android has taken off. If you use Office 2007 or an exchange server heavily stick with what you got. Just keep in mind Android 2.0+ supports all of them, though CURRENTLY not as well. Developers of Android are fast approaching functionality and stability as good or better than that of WinMo! In the less than one month I've had the Droid the apps, both quality and quantity, have improved faster than in two years of owning my WinMo devices. At this point the only thing I'm willing to dump my Droid for is an HD2 with Android on it! Bring it on HTC!!

posted on 09 Dec 2009, 19:49

9. tedkord (Posts: 5252; Member since: 17 Jun 2009)


Droid doesn't have SlingPlayer...and that is a must for me. Sigh...Sticking with WinMo for now.

posted on 08 Dec 2009, 21:38

6. cjz78 (Posts: 7; Member since: 27 Oct 2009)


I don't see why this phone got an 8 with it's shortcommings. I'm a fan of the Omnia line, don't get me wrong, and the hardware is very very nice. But Samsung completely nerfed the interface with that horrible TouchWiz. The browser performance was nowhere near the Driod(when I tried it in store). Not even to mention the sluggishness.

posted on 09 Dec 2009, 19:53

10. tedkord (Posts: 5252; Member since: 17 Jun 2009)


I played with this phone in-store. TouchWiz is absolutely awful. Sluggish. Unintuitive. But, I disabled it, and enabled Titanium. Titanium ran cleanly with no lag whatsoever. On my Omnia 1, Titanium is slightly sluggish, but SPB Mobile Shell 3.5 is butter smooth. So I'm thinking it will absolutely be greased lightning on the O2. Plus, it is intuitive and looks great. I'm still a month or two from deciding for sure to upgrade to the OmniaII. My in-store test made it more likely. (And, man is that AMOLED screen a beauty!)

posted on 09 Dec 2009, 21:54

11. SentryAgent (Posts: 4; Member since: 05 Nov 2009)


Okay, I have this phone, but what is Titanium? I downloaded SPB Mobile already. It is way better than TouchWiz.

posted on 09 Dec 2009, 07:10

7. rtimi26 (Posts: 41; Member since: 16 Mar 2009)


I played with this phone for more that 45mins and I have to tell you. It is an overhauled phone. Granted there are certain things not needed on the phone that were introduced e.g the cube. Let me help people put things in perspective. The Droid is faster to touch due to capacitive touchscreen, and wm6.5 is still not made for that. another thing one has to remember is you can't blame samsung for putting opera, since its either that or internet explorer which we all know sucks. Touch flo or sense UI is very lightly skinned over WM6.5 as to Touchwiz. If anyone compare the Samsung Jet to the Omnia 2 which are have the same touchwiz interface, you will see that the Jet is faster due to the fact that Touchwiz is actually the OS on that phone and not a skin. The droid is the OS and not the skin, if you compare the droid to the up coming xperia x10 you will see that due to the skin on the android OS that it is slower than the droid. I say we don't put much blame on Samsung because they tried to make WM6.5 more user friendly which I think they did well but wait to see what WM7 will do for us. Actually wait for the firmware update for WM6.5.3 which is faster and smoother than the wm6.5 on current phones out. I am using a cooked rom on my omnia1 with some samsung omnialite software and it's great. I can't wait for that on a better phone with more ram and horsepower. Besides the omnia 2 will still outsell the droid in the long run, worldwide that is because US customers are just a name brand buyer and not what you can actually get out of a product.

posted on 09 Dec 2009, 13:28

8. Literati (Posts: 17; Member since: 22 Oct 2009)


The Droid isn't faster than the Omnia 2 because of the UI. The Omnia 2 is using an arm 11 based processor, which is mistake number 1. No offense Microsoft, but Windows is tough on those processors. Had they put in an Snapdragon or the Samsung OMAP3430 (the one in the iPhone) we'd see a much better phone. The Droid is much faster than the Omnia 2 due to its good processor. However, no processor in the world can help the UI's awful interface, and what's worse - I can't say "Just use stock Android and it's fine" like I can with the Behold 2. SPB MS 3.5 is really the only way to go until someone cracks open the Omnia 2 and people start flashing roms for it. Sure, TouchFlo 3D was a shallow attempt at re-skinning WinMo, but Sense has completely re-hauled what TouchFlo was before. The reason the HD2 can get away with such a graphic oriented UI is, again, because of the processor. We know Samsung can make good chipsets, why they don't put them in their own phones I'll never know. And finally, the Omnia 2 will not outsell the Droid. Let's put aside the point that it doesn't really matter how the phone sells (good sales do not magically make the phone good). The reason it won't outsell the Droid here in America is because they are both on Verizon, WinMo is not user-friendly to the average consumer, 6.5 is a dead OS, Omnia 2 is out-marketed severely, Droid is a better phone, and Android. Oh, and of course Verizon already has the Touch Pro2 and the Imagio. Both of which are arguably better phones with better community support for them (XDA Devs). Someone would be out of their mind to choose the Omnia 2 over the Droid and even the Eris save for these two exceptions: they have to have a WinMo phone for work, they are just so caught up in Windows that they'd never drift off to another OS - which is fine. To these people you have to ask "Why the Omnia 2 over the Touch Pro2 or the Imagio?" Aesthetically the Omnia 2 looks pretty good, not as good as the Euro version, but good. However, everything Samsung tried to do with this phone and WinMo HTC did better with both the Imagio and the Touch Pro2. To someone outside of the US I pose these same questions. You can't assume the Omnia 2 will outsell the Droid by default based on the fact that its a world phone and the Droid isn't because the Milestone is the Droid. The only reason I refrain from saying the Droid/Milestone won't beat it in the European market is because Android isn't so popular over there yet. However, with all the other completely awesome phones Europe has that we don't, why would anyone choose the Omnia 2 over any others? There honestly isn't a logical reason other than plain personal preference.

posted on 10 Dec 2009, 15:44

12. Mastertwiz (Posts: 15; Member since: 10 Dec 2009)


I have a couple questions about this review and the specification breakdown posted by PhoneArena. Can someone provide some insight...? 1) PhoneArena specs call-out 65k colors - Samsung specs, per all i920 literature call-out 12 million... what gives? 2) PhoneArena reviewed the video recording...720x480 (18fps) - Samsung claims in all i920 literature that video recording is capable of 720x480 (30 fps)... what gives? It looks like specs for the i920 review were copied and pasted from the GT-i8000 literature. Can we get some clarification on the specs and capabilities/potentials of the i920 hardware? Thanks

posted on 10 Dec 2009, 17:14

13. T DAWGv12 (Posts: 13; Member since: 09 Dec 2009)


Add your comment: To answer your questions which are answered in the review itself: 1) Verizon's CDMA Omnia II does in fact have a 16 million color display this is an upgrade from the GSM version of the Omnia II that only supported 65k colors. I have read/watched a dozen reviews +/- of the CDMA omnia II and I think phone arena is the first to point out the upgraded color quality (something I was greatly interested in). The specs sheet must not have been updated yet. There is also a video on samsung's website that specifically touts verizon's Omnia II as having a 16 million color AMOLED display. 2) Supposedly the Omnia II can record 720x480 at 30fps but according to this review they were only able to achieve a max of 18fps at that resolution I have not read any other reviews that addressed video recording in depth or mentioned any specific issues so I can't tell you if any other reviewers have had the same problem. Hope this helps.

posted on 28 Dec 2009, 01:53

14. darkyogi (Posts: 3; Member since: 10 Oct 2009)


Totally agree with UI issue.. I have a B7610 Omnia Pro which may be called as an OmniaII with a keyboard. After watching the UI for a few days I got SPB mobile shell followed by the HTC sense cab available at xda-developers. Juiced it up by applying the lovely Black theme of Samsung as the wallpaper too and now I have a phone not only looking fantastic but outperforming my Touch Pro and Diamond like anything. However disagree with the negative views on the Opera browser. Here, that is in India, they have supplied the device with WinMo 6.1 Pro and the Opera 9.5 in MUCH better than on my previous HTC devices...it even plays EMBEDDED VIDEOS on most of the sites effortlessly. To make quick browsing and to avoid automatic rotation I also use Opera Mobile 10 Beta. Works beautifully and there is always Skyfire for variety. So...great hardware...lousy interface especially the home screens + programme screens

posted on 14 Jan 2010, 01:03

15. andromniac (Posts: 1; Member since: 14 Jan 2010)


The omnia II is a well built hardware with a solid feel and beautiful screen and its highly customizable thru windows spb shell or even some of the today screen choices the phone if you dont like Opera use SKYFIRE everyone knows its simply the best browser out there for Winmo fast with great flash video support silverlight, The OMNIA II also has 3d acceleration samsung something the first omnia didnt have since winmo has limited support no one has been able to see it working as the samsung touch wiz really doesnt use it either the Omnia II camera is way more advanced and higher quality than the Droid and photo quality doesnt even compare to Omnia i have tried both and can tell you Omnia II hands down has the best camera in the verizon lineup yea windows is quirky but the mutimedia features of this phone plus the typing swype interface add to an amazing hardware picture video sound winmo sync a breeze to use 8gig flash bulit in and u can add 16gig amoled display superior multimedia phone dont forget TV out to see that Xvid or DIVX video, and pictures on an hd TV via cable plug The droid feels cheap and flimsy crappy slider mechanism and flat keys theres no comparison droid is too limited to just fast page sliding and icons but doesnt reflect real world apps and video playback and sound its just all the hype behind droid and verizon sprung the bill for the tv spots not HTC with the fancy robot cgi and jets dropping them off samsung was never shown equal love by verizon power of tv media paid by Verizon is what launched Droids big sales if they showed off the Omina II screen and video playback people would have went gaga over it

posted on 20 Feb 2010, 12:04

16. rpotterfl (Posts: 1; Member since: 20 Feb 2010)


Came from WinMo 6.0 on a Motorola Q9m. I guess my expectations were too high. Here are my complaints: 1) I click to go to a new text and it sends me to the oldest text, not the newest text 2) Lag, lag, lag 3) Battery status disappeared and I couldn't get it back on the home screen 4) I have to unlock the phone to dismiss the morning alarm. WTF?!? 5) When I am on Bluetooth and I call into voicemail, the phone automatically locks, and I have to unlock the phone to put in my voice mail passcode 6) There are two different lock screens, one with a code and one without. They look totally different. The lock button activates the screen without the code. Useless. 7) Couldn't figure out how to scroll through emails to delete them without opening the email first. 8) Some emails were unviewable on the phone. Even my Q9m could view all non-HTML emails. 9) Phone autoresponded to an incoming call with a text response while in my pocket. And it was locked. 10) Phone voice dialed by itself from my pocket when locked. 11) Lock button on screen only works half the time. 12) Manual is woefully inadequate 13) Typing for me was twice as slow as on the Q9m. Swype was cool but still not as fast. 14) Can't use a screen protector on a resistive screen without losing significant responsiveness. 15) Incredibly small onscreen buttons REQUIRE the use of the stylus and two-handed operation 16) phone froze when I tried to send a photo by MMS. Had to take the battery out to unfreeze. 17) never could get a lock on the GPS. And you have to pay extra for VZ Navigator. 18) prompts you to pay for City ID. Have to pay extra for visual voice mail. 19) can't listen to ITunes podcasts or sync with ITunes. I know its not an IPhone, but that is the reality. 20) too often a program will open up while I am just trying to scroll through pages 21) didn't try SPB MobileShell, but why should I have to? 22) Hard to see the screen outdoors 23) Not the phone's fault, but Facebook app is weak. The pros: good camera with flash, good battery life, FM Radio, good display indoors, wi-fi, skype app I tried to like this phone for three weeks, but went back to my Q9m. It is an ancient phone, but at least it works. The Omnia II felt like a pre-Beta version to me. Maybe some of these issues could be reprogrammed but the manuals suck, and I couldn't figure out how to make the adjustments. Plus, the phone is simply slow. This would have been incredible technology five years ago, but I don't think it is competitive in this market. If you depend on your phone for business, I would not buy this phone, especially since I couldn't read a significant percentage of my emails. I prefer to stay with WinMo for the excellent Exchange sync, which includes Task syncing, so I guess I will live with my Q9m until I figure out what phone will actually be better for work.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Samsung Omnia II CDMA

Samsung Omnia II CDMA

OS: Windows Mobile Professional 6.5
view full specs
Display3.7 inches, 480 x 800 pixels (252 ppi) AMOLED
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
800 MHz
208 MB RAM
Size4.75 x 2.38 x 0.53 inches
(121 x 60 x 13 mm)
5.08 oz  (144 g)
Battery1500 mAh, 6 hours talk time

Latest stories