x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Samsung Omnia II I8000 Review

Samsung Omnia II 8

Posted: , by

Tags:

Pages
Samsung Omnia II I8000 Review
If you are interested in purchasing this device, please check our partners from Negri Electronics.

This is a global GSM phone and it can also be used with AT&T's 1900MHz 3G and T-Mobile USA's 2G network.

Introduction:


Samsung Omnia II I8000 Review
Samsung Omnia II I8000 Review
HTC set a standard for Windows Mobile customization with TouchFLO, and last year Samsung made their entry into the market with the TouchWiz UI touting Omnia.  The Samsung Omnia II I8000 is now here, and a 2 has been added to the end of TouchWiz as well.  This new Omnia is bigger and badder, with just about everything getting a refresh.  The screen has gained half an inch- now up to 3.7” and the resolution has quadrupled to 480x800. AMOLED technology has replaced TFT for improved battery life and more vibrant images.  Video capture is now DVD quality, and connection standards such as 3G, Wi-Fi and GPS are all on board, along with 8GB of internal storage.  The 800MHz processor is one of the fastest currently on the market, and it has a healthy 256MB of RAM and 512MB ROM. TouchWiz now penetrates into the deepest caverns of Windows Mobile, but will it be enough to make up for the clunky UI’s shortcomings?

Included in the box you’ll find:


•    Li-Ion battery
•    AC Adapter
•    microUSB data cable
•    Stylus pen
•    Stereo headphones with microphone extension cord
•    1GB microSD card
•    NAVFone Plus navigation software
•    Carrying pouch


The Samsung Omnia II I8000 is an elegantly crafted device - Samsung Omnia II I8000 Review
The Samsung Omnia II I8000 is an elegantly crafted device - Samsung Omnia II I8000 Review
The Samsung Omnia II I8000 is an elegantly crafted device - Samsung Omnia II I8000 Review
The Samsung Omnia II I8000 is an elegantly crafted device - Samsung Omnia II I8000 Review

The Samsung Omnia II I8000 is an elegantly crafted device


Design:

The design of the Samsung Omnia II I8000 is simple and straightforward.  It closely resembles the Jet, but is bigger and loses the touch of red on the back.  The phone exists to show off the giant 3.7” display, and everything else is kept to a bare minimum.  The front of the phone has a tiny front-facing camera at the top next to the speaker.  On the bottom are the Send and End keys, as well as the Cube key.  The left side has a volume rocker, the right a lock, OK and camera key.  All of the keys have a good amount of travel and it’s clear when they have been activated.  The microUSB port and 3.5mm headset jack are on the top of the device.  The back simply houses the 5-megapixel camera and the Omnia II’s single speaker.

Front side camera - Samsung Omnia II I8000 Review
Cube key, Send and End keyson the bottom - Samsung Omnia II I8000 Review

Front side camera

Cube key, Send and End keys
on the bottom

Left side - Samsung Omnia II I8000 Review
Right side - Samsung Omnia II I8000 Review

Left side

Right side


Camera on the back - Samsung Omnia II I8000 Review
microSD slot - Samsung Omnia II I8000 Review
microUSB port and 3.5mm jack - Samsung Omnia II I8000 Review

Camera on the back

microSD slot

microUSB port and 3.5mm jack




Really though, it’s all about the display.  It dominates the phone in every way, which is a good thing.  The AMOLED screen is brilliant, producing crisp and vibrant images.  The haptic feedback is appreciated, though the phone does have the weird spring feeling when jostled, like the Instinct.  It is plenty bright, but the plastic covering gets fairly washed out in direct light.  The use of plastic is a shame; it is noticeable, produces unnecessary drag and gives the phone a cheaper feel than it deserves.  Another thing holding it back from being the best display we’ve ever used is the use of 65k colors, instead of the 16m found on the Pre, iPhone and N97.  We realize that as a Windows Mobile device it has to do this, but the possibility of an Android device with this screen at 16m colors is downright delicious.  We have to mention that it fingerprints easily, but what doesn’t these days?

The Samsung Omnia II I8000 is a big phone, but it manages to pull it off well.  It is very tall, 6mm more so than its predecessor, but it is narrow enough to fit comfortably into the hand and skinny enough (0.6mm less than the Omnia) to slide into your pocket mostly unnoticed.


From left to right and bottom to top - Samsung Jet S8000, Samsung Omnia, Samsung Omnia II I8000, Apple iPhone 3GS - Samsung Omnia II I8000 Review
From left to right and bottom to top - Samsung Jet S8000, Samsung Omnia, Samsung Omnia II I8000, Apple iPhone 3GS - Samsung Omnia II I8000 Review
From left to right and bottom to top - Samsung Jet S8000, Samsung Omnia, Samsung Omnia II I8000, Apple iPhone 3GS - Samsung Omnia II I8000 Review

From left to right and bottom to top - Samsung Jet S8000, Samsung Omnia, Samsung Omnia II I8000, Apple iPhone 3GS


You can compare the Samsung Omnia II I8000 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The design is so simple there isn’t much to say about it.  It is an elegantly crafted device, with gentle curves and top-notch build.  Our only gripe is the plastic housing on the display, higher-quality materials or even glass would have been a much better choice.  It’s still hard to find fault with this latest Omnia, it is a device we would definitely be comfortable carrying.

Samsung Omnia II I8000 360 Degrees View:



46 Comments
  • Options
    Close






posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. rtimi26 (Posts: 42; Member since: 16 Mar 2009)


Okay you got certain things down right about the phone being a little laggy, but don't you think its because you had to re-skin windows ontop of windows. I would think that would be enough to slow any phone down, and yet according to all reviews, that I have read it seems to be doing well, so please why the 8 and not 9.5 or at least a 9. Well that's your opinion but all in all great review.

posted on 04 Aug 2009, 10:25

2. filteroff (Posts: 34; Member since: 18 Feb 2009)


I wonder if you can disable the UI on this phone and use something like SPB Mobile Shell... SPB might just do the trick

posted on 04 Aug 2009, 11:04

4. hunter (Posts: 1; Member since: 04 Aug 2009)


Just got mine for a week, don't like the touchwiz. I disabled it and replace its with spbshell 3... And its perfect, no lag. Anyone knows how to get mapking working on this set?

posted on 04 Aug 2009, 11:04

5. tshow84 (Posts: 65; Member since: 11 Jun 2009)


where did they get 8 from? even if they're not basing it on the average (9.375)...if the everything else is so awesome, why not give it a 9.5, taking off .5 for one small flaw that im sure will be remedied in a future software release...or can they really not rate it higher than the iphone (the original iphone averaged rating: 3G: 8.5625, 3G s : 8.05625 - phonearena rating: 3G : 8.5, 3G s : 8.8)

posted on 04 Aug 2009, 15:00

8. drewsky (Posts: 147; Member since: 04 Jan 2009)


You got it they can't rate it better than the Iphone.

posted on 04 Aug 2009, 22:04

10. tedkord (Posts: 12304; Member since: 17 Jun 2009)


That's how my old employer used to do our annual employee ratings - you'd get above average or excellent on each individual section, then get average as your overall grade. When I asked about that, I was told it was because everyone is expected to excel, so excellence is average. Or, it's my job to do more than my job. I no longer work there, and they got NO notice when I quit.

posted on 15 Nov 2009, 13:38

36. Schmao (Posts: 362; Member since: 05 Jul 2009)


Saying they couldn't rate it better than the iphone, makes no sense whatsoever. Obviously you are lost. Go read up on your details before making a stupid comment. Look at all the phones that have higher rating than the iphone.

posted on 04 Aug 2009, 11:01

3. Pure Gold (Posts: 1; Member since: 04 Aug 2009)


Can someone help me out with PA ratings? I don't get them. The Omnia II gets great individual scores, but gets an 8 overall compared to say the Samsung Jet which gets pretty good individual scores but a 9 overall. What am I missing? Does the overall rating depend on something different?

posted on 15 Nov 2009, 13:39

37. Schmao (Posts: 362; Member since: 05 Jul 2009)


Go to the "HOW WE RATE" link and all your questions will be answered

posted on 04 Aug 2009, 12:38

6. Andrewtst (Posts: 643; Member since: 25 Jan 2009)


Phone arena always have overall rating issue. I have this phone, it is smooth, the only place need to tune is during new sms, landscape mode of touch player and photo browser. Beside this, it is cool. I also install SPB mobile shell, as it made the phone more coolest. ;-)

posted on 04 Aug 2009, 13:16

7. rtimi26 (Posts: 42; Member since: 16 Mar 2009)


well people you are right that is a little confusing when the jet got a 9 and O2 got an 8, lets just hope all read the full review. Like i said to a friend iphone should be a feature phone and not a smartphone while if you want full featured phone, lets see what 6.5 and 7 would look like.

posted on 04 Aug 2009, 21:54

9. tedkord (Posts: 12304; Member since: 17 Jun 2009)


Technically, resolution is quadrupled, not doubled. 384,000 pixels vs. 96,000. Or, of you're looking at ppi, it's about 252ppi vs. 146ppi., or about 1.73X more pixels per inch. I think the iPhone is something like 165 ppi, so this display should look NICE! But, I've been reading that the daylight visibility is poor. That's my number one complaint about my Omnia. It's a great phone which is virtually unuseable outdoors in daylight.

posted on 05 Aug 2009, 01:42

11. PhoneArena Team (Posts: 258; Member since: 27 Jun 2006)


Thanks for the note! We had it fixed immediately.

posted on 05 Aug 2009, 15:43

12. behold--me (Posts: 650; Member since: 22 Jun 2009)


like the jet better.....smaller and DOESNT have that p.o.s. winmo ui

posted on 06 Aug 2009, 00:05

13. mr. anderson (Posts: 92; Member since: 16 Apr 2009)


do you people not actually read the reviews? everyone always gets so caught up in the numbers, averaging this and that. first off, read their link right under the ratings. secondly, if you actually read the review (or hell, even the conclusion...hell, even the cons) you'd see that the lag killed the phone, and then youd understand why it only got an 8.

posted on 06 Aug 2009, 00:43

14. Andrewtst (Posts: 643; Member since: 25 Jan 2009)


It is not ready lag, I not sure why they mention cons as lag, lag, lag. I am using it now and I am happy with it.

posted on 06 Aug 2009, 10:00

15. rtimi26 (Posts: 42; Member since: 16 Mar 2009)


speak about lag, just for you to know, what multi-tasking phone today doesn't have lag. Any phone that has to keep the memory used due to runing apps will eventually lag. According to pocketnow.com you can increase cpu performance and not affect battery, which means to me that it can get faster. Maybe when 6.5 comes out it would be less laggy. I am currently runing cooked rom on the original omnia and doesn't seem to be as laggy as the 6.1. Lets I remind you again that ontop of the wm applications already installed, there is also samsungs applications running. Keep that in mind folks. Just wait for a featured phone from samsung like the jet with multitasking which doesn't slow down like windows. Its all about windows, which has been clarified that wm7 won't have this problem. Windows mobile 7 is said to have certain hardware requirements which manufacturers have to stick to so therre won't be many variations of it and therefore would be easy to make things uniform and fast.

posted on 02 Dec 2009, 08:45

38. destardi (Posts: 4; Member since: 24 Nov 2009)


My Droid is 5 weeks old..and doesn't lag between any screens at all.

posted on 07 Aug 2009, 14:49

16. ruggedruffian (Posts: 2; Member since: 14 Jul 2009)


Honestly Phone Arena, please be more detailed about your reviews. You spend half your conclusion complaining about the lag, but the lag is mentioned in at most 1 line during your whole review. Why don't you go more into detail. The cube is choppy, the email takes 5 seconds to pop up, etc etc. You use a lot of slick salesman talk grazing over a lot of features, but please go into more detail and give us a better idea of the UI.

posted on 11 Aug 2009, 09:04

17. aulton85 (Posts: 4; Member since: 11 Aug 2009)


I agree with most on this review. Its solid, to the point and shows all the greats about this new phone and the major fault it has that can be fixed with a firmware update or mobile shell. But the problem comes in the average score. Both the Hero and Iphone 3Gs received their average score. Well the Hero got rounded up, but the point is the average for the samsung, when all is added together and divided is a 9 at least. Why the 8 if you base your overall rating on average. Clarify your rating scheme please because you follow average for other devices EXCEPT this one.

posted on 12 Aug 2009, 23:54

18. Vandro (Posts: 17; Member since: 12 Aug 2009)


Hooray for firmware updates. TouchWiz is nice, and its full integration into WinMo rather than the 70% coverage of the latest TouchFlo is excellent, but I know I would have removed it and skinned SPb Shell 3.0 or ported pieces of TouchFlo3D, especially the tabbed today screen portions. HTC's apps just have better support across the board, push internet is awesome, and performance is silky smooth with a distinctively professional UI. The 800MHz processor and AMOLED screen really do it for me, even if the camera needs a little work - but, what new phone doesn't need a few tweaks. Seriously killer battery life, one of the few readily available AMOLED screens, speedy performance, a solid base interface with full inter-operability and compatibility with the whole matured range of WinMo mods: what is there not to love? This phone shouldn't be a sequel, but more like a really killer Omnia v1.5, with the WinMo 7 variant gaining the true status - the monster that it will probably be.

posted on 13 Aug 2009, 16:51

19. aulton85 (Posts: 4; Member since: 11 Aug 2009)


Damn now I really want the phone if you put it like that. I was already planning on getting it, but I was going to wait to see how everyone else felt about it. Reading your comment just fully reinforces my desire to have this phone.

posted on 13 Aug 2009, 18:55

20. kjack628 (Posts: 49; Member since: 19 Jul 2009)


I don't like touchwiz all that much so I might put spb shell 3.0 on there. Wm6.1 is the problem not the device this phone should of got a 9.5..wm6.5 is a tiny step but I bet wm7 will be really nice!!..I hope the o2 is upgradable to wm7

posted on 13 Aug 2009, 20:39

21. aulton85 (Posts: 4; Member since: 11 Aug 2009)


From what I hear from my friends in Singapore, it should be. We'll just have to wait and see on that one. I will most likely use shell on it as well, but I'll give the touchwiz a shot first.

posted on 14 Aug 2009, 17:09

23. dlo22 (Posts: 1; Member since: 14 Aug 2009)


From what I've read, the widgets plus is what causing most of the lag. I believe you can disable it without turning off the TouchWiz UI - which refers to the finger friendly menus and program launcher. In my opinion, I think the widgets are more flash than practical. Like what others have already said, it would be much better to install spb mobile shell or ultimate launcher for the home screen. Plus, you'll save some ram while doing it.

posted on 15 Aug 2009, 09:05

24. aulton85 (Posts: 4; Member since: 11 Aug 2009)


Yes you read right then, it is the widget plus that causes most of the lag and you can disable it under the settings option. But also remember that when they did this review they had phone running on automatic cpu power. On high power you barely lose any battery life and the widgets load a lot faster. There is still some lag though that can be fixed with a firmware update. But once again I have to agree that mobile shell is probably going to be the UI of choice for this phone.. Many did it for the original Omnia and it made the phone awesome..

posted on 24 Aug 2009, 15:02

26. Vandro (Posts: 17; Member since: 12 Aug 2009)


It would be nice if Samsung saved us all the hour or so we would need to get rid of their comical distraction of a UI and preload SPB or TouchFlo on the device as a second option. Hint, hint, Samsung. Leave the widgets to the people who buy your feature phones.

posted on 14 Aug 2009, 07:55

22. mmayer54 (Posts: 19; Member since: 15 Jun 2009)


Phone arena's grading system MAKES NO SENSE! The Touch Pro 2 had very low scores across the board (7.5 avg.) but then give it a 9 overall. They gave Samsung i8000 FOUR 10's w/ nothing lower than a single 8 score (avg. was 9.37).....But gave it an 8 OVERALL Where is the "credibility" here?

posted on 22 Aug 2009, 11:36

25. Maemo (Posts: 1; Member since: 22 Aug 2009)


Hey, does anyone know will WinMo 6.5 support 16M colours? If not the I'll forget the whole WinMo system.

posted on 25 Aug 2009, 10:35

27. ais250 (Posts: 5; Member since: 06 Mar 2009)


Inside source at Best Buy says phone to launch 09/06 per their ad-proofing this week.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Samsung Omnia II

Samsung Omnia II

OS: Windows Mobile Professional 6.5
view full specs
Display3.7 inches, 480 x 800 pixels (252 ppi) AMOLED
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
800 MHz
0.25 GB RAM
Size4.65 x 2.36 x 0.47 inches
(118 x 60 x 11.9 mm)
4.34 oz  (123 g)
Battery1500 mAh, 10 hours talk time

Latest stories